Hobie Mirage Outback Kayak - 2014 - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Mirage Outback Kayak - 2014 Product Details.
$1,999.00
Size/Color*:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In-stock: Due to the holiday your order will ship on Tuesday 9/2/2014.
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Jake Ethier
Rating:
5
Date:
7/14/2011
Review:
This is an amazing fishing machine! It has literally changed kayak fishing for me. Extremely stable, fast(upgraded to turbo fins), agile(upgraded to sailing rudder/steering knob) and perfect for my specific on- water organization. Did all the common upgrades...fishfinder/gps, scotty rod holder, extra pad eyes, ect. I also took advantage of the large 8" hatch right in front of the seat and modified it so there is a permanent soft 48" fish bag inside to allow me to easily store my catch when I'm offshore a few miles. This is a must buy for all serious kayak fishers. I can never go back to a paddle kayak after this. Thank you Austin Kayak for the great service and quick delivery.
Reviewer:
Steve Snodgrass
Rating:
5
Date:
6/10/2011
Review:
I took my Outback to Panama City Beach for a week the last week of May and had an awesome time. I recommend this fishing kayak to everyone. There are no negatives about it!
Reviewer:
bradh
Rating:
5
Date:
5/11/2011
Review:
age 54 -just got it- had outback in water 2X- very stable - scooting around immediately - mirage system like an elliptical(very smooth) not like a paddle boat. pedal easy or use it for a work out.using original fins(was going to upgrade but ack phone person said may not need to) so far fins are great - much quicker(can go a long distance even into the wind) and better turning than i expected. bass boat that pulled up to me had been skunked('wasted trip')-inquired about the kayak-told him i had yet to cast. i then caught 3 bass within an hour - plastic bait. off dock can get in dry and stay dry-off shore ankles get wet. would rather take the kayak to fish than my boat.i expect to buy the sail kit - feel like i'm at summer camp. a 2 person carry- the cart is a must. love to show it off. if the cost isn't an issue - this is a no brainer- immediate gratification.
Reviewer:
Ian
Rating:
5
Date:
11/7/2010
Review:
I am a Hobie convert, this kayak works as advertised, the small design items Hobie pays attention to make a huge difference in the ease and enjoyment . We will be ordering another Hobie shortly , quality ride, quality company , from a quality supplier !
Reviewer:
sritchey
Rating:
5
Date:
10/14/2010
Review:
If you want to fish from a kayak, especially fly fish (which I do), then having your hands free is fantastic. I'm 67 with a history of torn rotator cuffs in both shoulders so being able to pedal is just a delight for me. My Outback is fast...4-41/2 mph cruise and I can go all day. It's stable in the rough Tampa Bay waters and light enough to easily load in the bed of my pick-up. I may have to get one for my wife since she gets tired paddling and I generally have to tow her back to the launch.
Reviewer:
doug
Rating:
5
Date:
9/26/2010
Review:
I have owned a paddle only kayak for years and tried to fish out of it with poor results. My new outback is perfect for fishing. Hands free and going places where the fish are. I am over 60, and find the kayak easy to propel. Now, I am getting out much more, having more fun, and catching fish. Its all good. My wife claims I am more excited about this Outback than anything she has seen in a while,and I think she is right.(She usually is :-)
Reviewer:
Lake Mom
Rating:
5
Date:
8/26/2010
Review:
High quality, I love it! Austin saved me $$$ from local dealer. Shop the rest buy from Austin!
Reviewer:
Taylor E
Rating:
4
Date:
8/9/2010
Review:
I bought two of these. First let me say I don't know where they get the 60ish lbs from, it took good effort from me and my brother to haul them to the beach. We tried to launch them into the surf at Emerald Isle NC, and yes we are green horns. I totally wiped out and the ocean wave broke the rudder sheer pin on first try, lost some meat on my toes also :). My brother couldn't get in his boat. Hence broke before started, they should supply two or three of these. Anyway I fixed it permanently with a 3.25" 1/4 20 SS pan head screw and a lock washer. Works like a champ now. Should have been made that way in first place:) Next we went to the sound side and they worked fine, caght some fish on first outing. The mirage drive and stirring and functionality is excellent and all that it is made up to be. The boat is plenty stable and seaworthy. Amazing you can easily and effortlessly pedal against the outgoing tidal current with no problem. There were a lot of envious and curious folks. I still though have not been successful in the surf and that is really what I bought them for. They are heavy you better be strong, and we are farm boys used to lifting things. But overall I would buy again and highly recommend, great fun.I would have rated it a 5 if they had of shipped a couple of extra plastic shear pins.
Reviewer:
Craig James
Rating:
5
Date:
5/12/2010
Review:
Excellent! I am enjoying exercising and fishing. At age 67 I have no problems pedaling or boarding and I have two titanium hips.
Reviewer:
gabedill
Rating:
5
Date:
3/27/2010
Review:
Have not taken my Yak out for a test drive yet because of the cold weather so I have nothing to say about it yet. I just had to review and brag on the guys at ACK! VERY pleasant and easy to do business with! I have ordered from them twice now and both times the on-line transaction was smooth and the shipping almost unbelievably fast. Ordered my kayak on Monday morning and it was on my front porch Wednesday afternoon! I live in the middle of nowhere and the freight company they use had no problem finding me at all. My second order was shipped via FedEx (free of charge by the way) and it also arrived at my doorstep only two days after I ordered it. WOW! Search the net and you will find that there prices are best on-line. With the free shipping and the extensive product selection they offer, they are hard to beat.
Reviewer:
JerseyDevil1
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2009
Review:
My first Yak and I'm totally impressed! Did my homework and made a wise choice . This boat is stable and fairly fast with my 6'5" 296 lb frame. Jeff and Corey at the shop were awesome to deal with , very friendly and knowledgeable . My friend came with me and ended up getting the Sport version too ! Two rudders up !!
Reviewer:
AZ woodsman
Rating:
5
Date:
4/5/2009
Review:
Third Hobie our family has ordered through Austin Kayak. Their customer service department team are some of the best folks we have had the pleasure of dealing with. We are loving exploring and fishing at some of the most beautiful lakes in the southwest from our fleet of Hobie Outbacks.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:50.16.169.220 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat