FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Hobie Mirage Outback Kayak - 2014 - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Mirage Outback Kayak - 2014 Product Details.
$1,999.00
Size/Color*:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Tucker
Rating:
5
Date:
4/11/2014
Review:
I have a 2012 Outback and absolutely love it. As Jack mentioned below the only place I felt it was lack was the seat. Just recently I came across this forum topic about a folding hunting seat that fits in the kayak perfectly. I tried it out and couldn't be happier. The kayak is still very stable and standing up is much easier. http://www.texaskayakfisherm an.com/forum/viewtopic.php? f=53&t=207305
Reviewer:
Jack
Rating:
5
Date:
3/30/2014
Review:
I recently bought the Hobie Outback and have used it in a few KATS tournaments. It is an awesome boat. It is fully capable to do anything you want to do with it. I chose the Outback over the Pro Angler basically off the practicality of the size. The Outback's size is a lot more manageable than the Pro Angler especially on the off the beating path launches. You can paddle this kayak a lot easier than the Pro Angler. I definitely recommend getting the turbo fins. The kayak works well without the rudder upgrade and is very maneuverable. I would recommend the rudder upgrade if you plan on fishing in rough water or current though. Also, It is totally possible to stand while fishing in this kayak. I do it all the time in calm water. It can be a little shaky at first though you can get used to it. I am 6' 188 pounds. But really standing is overrated because you cannot control your rudder or the drifting of the kayak. You will not go wrong with this kayak. It can handle almost any type of water. I did a lot of research prior to this purchase and I am fully satisfied. The only down side is the seat is not quite as comfortable as the pro angler. Hobie need to please design a Pro Angler type seat for the Outback it would be the perfect fishing vessel then. Hope this helps.
Reviewer:
Ron
Rating:
5
Date:
10/27/2013
Review:
Better then expected..Been used by family members from ages 5 to 67.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
5
Date:
9/12/2013
Review:
You pay a higher price, but you get new technology, and more flexability with the Hobie Kayaks. I would recomend it to anyone who can budget a higher price, because it's worth it.
Reviewer:
Patrick Mathias
Rating:
5
Date:
6/7/2013
Review:
All that I was expecting! Great for inshore or offshore fishing!
Reviewer:
R Davis
Rating:
5
Date:
12/15/2012
Review:
I did not buy my Outback from ACK. I bought mine locally to save on shipping. This is a really stable vessel and easy to fish from. Anyone considering purchasing this boat from ACK do not hesitate. ACK has provided me with great customer service for all the accessories I have purchased for my yak. Shipping is always fast.
Reviewer:
Doug W
Rating:
5
Date:
6/24/2012
Review:
Very stable & able to fish the big water. Im 61 & 285 lbs and the Outback has performed remarkable on Lake Michigan while trolling for salmon. Although I could purchase kayaks & accessories from anywhere in the world with a phone call, ACK has earned my business through incredible customer service with timely deliveries.
Reviewer:
Trey H
Rating:
5
Date:
6/17/2012
Review:
Love this kayak. I got into kayak fishing a few years ago and just bought an entry level fishing kayak. Ever since I saw the Mirage Outback I have wanted one and finally got one a month ago. First trip out we went down to the gulf and I cant say enough about the stability and speed of this yak. I was cruising circles around my friends thanks to the performance package that I installed before our trip. I would recommend the Outback to anybody.
Reviewer:
WJDave
Rating:
5
Date:
12/7/2011
Review:
Got the Outback as my primary fishing kayak. First fishing trip out there were winds of 20mph. In my old kayak it would have been very hard to fish in the wind. With the Outback it didn't drift and stayed on track. The Mirage drive meant I could still troll and keep hands free for fishing. I carried 4 rods and the holders were in a great position for me. I have used it several times and have just enjoyed every trip. I did have to adjust my car top carrier and this barely fits. The width is what makes it so stable and comfortable for a day on the water. I was very impressed with the design thought and quality of this kayak.
Reviewer:
Bill
Rating:
5
Date:
9/22/2011
Review:
Here is the truth. The Outback will handle a big guy like me. It is stable and does not feel tippy like some kayaks that I tested. Listen up bass fishermen, the Mirage Drive will keep a fishing rod in your hands instead of a paddle. It is heavy and bulky out of the water. Especially if you keep the Outback upside down as recommended. ACK was super on the phone and Internet. In store, I had to share time with other customers, computer, and phone. Just order on-line, thats the way they want it and it is fast.
Reviewer:
Jeff G.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/19/2011
Review:
I love this yak. It does everything well and has plenty of storage. It is however, somewhat heavy and hard to handle when loading and unloading. I bought my wife the Mirage Sport and although they are similar in weight (according to listing), the Sport is much easier to load. Aside from that one minor point, there are no disappointments. Lots of curious onlookers every time we're out. Austin Kayak was a joy to work with.
Reviewer:
PhillyJoe
Rating:
5
Date:
9/15/2011
Review:
I originally owned a SOT paddle kayak. I had a friend take me out fishing and had a Hobie Outback. I quickly learned alot from that trip and immediately purchased a Hobie Outback. This is a fishing machine with a top notch company like Hobie backing their product you can't go wrong. If your main objective is fishing you will be glad you spent the money on a Hobie. Basically hands free fishing ( I hardly ever use my paddle), better boat control and I never get tired. Well, my butt gets a little sore because I fish alot longer in this thing. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.205.179.23 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat