FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Hobie Mirage Inflatable Single Kayak i12s - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Mirage Inflatable Single Kayak i12s Product Details.
$1,899.00
Size/Color*:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
† Colors/Sizes marked with '†' may not be available, please call prior to ordering.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
brad b jaquette
Rating:
4
Date:
6/24/2014
Review:
Good Kayak a little heavy if you have to pull it to the water very far (100' or so). Inflates quickly and defates quickly. It is awkward at first to put it back into its bag. Handles well and rides nicely.
Reviewer:
Ali in Long Island, NY.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/25/2012
Review:
Excellent service from ACK. Customer Service answered questions about the kayak beforehand via phone. Shipping was prompt and super fast. I bought the Hobie i12s Sundance Yellow for the express purpose of taking my Wheaten Terrier out on the water with me. The dog loves to swim and gets in and out of the boat throughout the duration of our run. Needless to say its a soaking wet experience but thats to be expected. The dog ALWAYS has a vest on him, the kind that has a handle up top, which allows me to lift him out of water. This brings me to two important features of the boat: Stability: At the time of this writing I weigh 215 pounds and the dog is 43 pounds - the boat is stable as can be during this get-doggie- back-on-board maneuver. It would take concerted effort to destabilize this vessel. Rubber construction: The dog isnt lifted straight up in the air as much as he slides up the rounded, inflated sides. I cannot imagine doing this on a hard shell. As a rule I bring him up from the left side since the paddle is stowed at the right. Here are some other observations: *PROS*: Takes about 3 to 4 mins to inflate with the provided pump. About a minute each for three sections. Deflates by the time I am done putting away the accessories. Mirage drive works like a charm, even when going against the tide on standard fins. Excellent stability. I feel confident that the boat would do just fine in choppy water. Rubber material is tough enough where scratches from a Wheaten Terriers paws are a non-issue. The boat has built- in sockets for Hobie Kayak cart and it literally takes 10 secs to plug it in. *CONS*: Trying to pack this thing up in the included bag is not easy. I simply transport the folded but unpacked boat in the back of my dog mobile, aka subaru station wagon. One minor thing: Making the blades a brighter color on the otherwise all black paddle would help increase boat visibility for others. Its a well designed, well engineered and attention grabbing boat. Pleasure to own, would recommend in a heartbeat.
Reviewer:
LBA42
Rating:
4
Date:
12/29/2011
Review:
We have had a 12ft hard body Mirage for several years. I bought the inflatable as a second kayak so my husband and I can go out together. WE have both tried it now and agreee that it is much more stable than the hard body but not as fast. The we carry the hard body and our inflatable dingy fully inflated on the aft deck of our lobster boat. We live in southern California and travel to Catalina Island frequently. We did not have room for another hard-body so the inflatable was the answer. It is very easy to inflate and set up. Our only complaint is that it is really very difficult to fold and pack into the carry bag making storage a bit of a problem. I am very satisfied with the kayak itself but disagree with the suggestion the it is easy to transport. At 53 lbs without the peddles and other asserories included transportation is a challenge. We would like to be able to stoe it on the boat but it takes up a lot of room.
Reviewer:
rtymer
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2010
Review:
My wife and I have a 9 and 12 inflatable and are absolutely awesome. The engineering is incredible in the construction of the hull, mirage drive and rudder system is terrific. I use the 12' Hobie and upgraded to the Turbo Fins, larger Rudder and sail kit. The only advancement I would like to see Hobie include is a cleat for the main sheet. It gets tiring if sailing for over 2 hours. Everyone that has seen us pedal or sail is blown away at the technology of the mirage drive. I have adjusted the Turbo Fins to "tight for sailing and loose for pedaling. As earlier stated if you use the pedals while sailing is is awesome, plus you get a great workout. I never give reviews but in this case I was compelled. This is a kayak you will never sell. A+ for engineering, construction, durability and just plain fun. Enjoy!!!
Reviewer:
Kim in Howell, NJ
Rating:
5
Date:
6/1/2009
Review:
Awesome !! Everyone stops to ask about it. Very fast and easy to inflate and deflate. Fold up not bad at all. Need the wheel attachment, makes life easier. Great storage compartment. Love the steering. My 10 year old can sit right behind me. I need another one !!!!
Reviewer:
RobertB
Rating:
5
Date:
4/7/2009
Review:
I've had a 9' Hobie Mirage Sport hard shell kayak for 2 years and wanted an inflatable so I could bring two kayaks camping in our SUV and carry a kayak in the back of my Prius for spur of the moment outings. The Hobie i12S is quick to inflate and handles very much like the hard shell version. The rudder control feels a little tentative compared to the hard shell, but that is the only issue I've noticed. Packing up is easy once you get the hang of it. I purchased strap-on wheels instead of the Hobie wheels since I have to traverse rough ground. Very pleased with the i12S. It's more expensive than a hard shell because of all the additional manufacturing steps, but it seems durable and well made.
Reviewer:
Bill in Boston
Rating:
4
Date:
1/14/2009
Review:
Rating the Hobie i12s at 4 to flag the single issue I found with it - completely un-sailable with 2 adults. Otherwise it is excellent - an 11 rating !! Sailing problem occurred with 190lb man and 130lb women - regardless of who sits where the boat just spins in a circle. With one person it sails awesome - you just can't beat the combo of pedal and sail. I use it every night in Charles River sailing basin and it's a huge hit with "real" sailors from Harvard, MIT and public sailing center. It is unbelievably stable and safe - girlfriend and I actually switched seats mid river without going into the drink. Please note it pedals or paddles great with either 1 or 2 adults. Again - other than "2 adult - sailing" issue I love it. I expect I'll buy the another new i9st in the spring. If two adults want to sail I'd recommend buying two 9 footers instead of the 12' or 14' boat.
Reviewer:
Doug in KY
Rating:
5
Date:
10/13/2008
Review:
I did not know what I was missing, buying a second one to keep the peace. Love the ability to put it in the trunk and take it anywhere.
Reviewer:
Ken in Indy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2008
Review:
I purchased one back in Feb. and it is very easy to transport and very stable. I also purchased the sail and it sails very well.I can peddle this for hours and still not get fatigued. Ranks very high on the fun meter. Ken ken
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.83.236.56 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat