Happy Holidays FREE Shipping on ALL Orders* (details)‚Äč
Home > Kayaking > Hobie Accessories > Hobie Mirage Drive Seal
Hobie Mirage Drive Seal
$11.99
 
Hobie Mirage Drive Seal
$11.99
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This was a great addition from the Hobie folks. These mirage drive seals will keep excessive water out of your cockpit.
Customer Rating: 4.0 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Isaac
Rating:
4
Date:
4/1/2014
Review:
Good idea, fits tightly and keeps the rush of water out on acceleration. I did need to use a longer zip tie in the back than the one that shipped with it because it was too short. That may be due to the newer design of the drive. The picture on the product page is the older version of the drive. So if your buying this for a new yak, you may need a longer zip tie if Hobie hasn't fixed this yet.
Reviewer:
DHW
Rating:
4
Date:
9/12/2013
Review:
Seems to decrease how much water comes in when underway. Cannot say improves speed any. Worth the cost I believe.
Reviewer:
Sean
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2013
Review:
Very easy to install. A bit of a snug fit for the plastic fasteners and I'm worried that they may get worn down by the moving fins of the drive. Really makes a difference in the drag that takes place on the back end of the drive well without removing its ability to remove excess water that enters the kayak by other means. Well worth the investment.
Reviewer:
Rex
Rating:
3
Date:
10/25/2012
Review:
Helps a little but water will come in the mirage openings anyway.
Reviewer:
Eaton
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2012
Review:
Purchased this to replace the old one that finally dried out. Simple to replace.
Reviewer:
CPHedges
Rating:
2
Date:
8/6/2011
Review:
Not sure how much good it does since the area fore of the pedals remains open. Simple enough to install.
Reviewer:
Herbert Glover
Rating:
5
Date:
3/4/2010
Review:
Very cool, simple invention that does the job.
Reviewer:
Eddie
Rating:
5
Date:
12/19/2008
Review:
Another sign of Hobie Support! New Mirage drives get this already installed, but mine is older and it actually does keep the drive bay a little drier. The problem was water getting sloshed up into your seat area... you still get wet, but I did notice a difference.
Reviewer:
Stingray427
Rating:
3
Date:
11/20/2008
Review:
You can either install this with straps or screw it in place. I chose to screw it into place. It seems to be a cleaner look and all the Hobie demos I saw did the same. I've read somewhere that readers state the seal increases speed? I haven't noticed anything significant.
Reviewer:
TaosWheat
Rating:
5
Date:
5/7/2008
Review:
I bought a drive seal with my new Outback, but did not need it because my Mirage drive came with one already installed. I guess the factory decided they were important enough to be included wit a new drive. If you don't have one, then get one.
Reviewer:
Brent
Rating:
3
Date:
4/10/2008
Review:
eh... easy to install. Not sure it does all that much, really. The drive well is still wet, but hey - that's a Hobie Mirage! Not sure its really worth the $10, but if you have some weird condition where water is spurting up at you, this will probably help. I installed in on an '07 Outfitter (Tandem)
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map | Terms of Service
ip:54.145.243.51 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat