FREE Shipping on ALL Orders + 15% Accessories w/Kayak* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Carts & Carriers > Seattle Sports Fat Boy Kayak Canoe Cart
Seattle Sports Fat Boy Kayak Canoe Cart
MSRP:  $149.95
$139.00
 
Seattle Sports Fat Boy Kayak Canoe Cart
MSRP:  $149.95
$139.00 You Save: $10.95(7%)
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Now I know it sounds like this is a way to get your chubby buddy from point A to point B but it's not. This Fat Boy Kayak/Canoe cart adjusts and straps on to your vessel in seconds and folds down pretty flat.
Customer Rating: 4.2 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Todd
Rating:
2
Date:
9/22/2012
Review:
Good in theory, but poor craftsmanship. I just used this cart to portage my Ocean Kayak Prowler 13T into the Boundary Waters in MN. The trip only required two portages on the way in and the same on the way out. The trails were like gravel roads. The bar with the foam that holds the weight of the boat failed on the second portage on the way in. It bent so much that I had to carry my boat about a quarter of a mile. Not fun! I was able to repair the cart by bending the bar back into place It snapped because it had been kinked, and then attaching a piece of a birch tree limb that was about 1.5 in diameter with duct tape and paracord to reinforce that bar. I figure there was about 100 pounds on the cart when it failed. The birch tree repair allowed me to get out of the woods without further incident. I also had to drill out one of the cotter pin holes for the wheels to get the cart assembled. The hole was just slightly in the wrong location, so the larger hole let me get the cotter pin installed. Oh, and there is something wrong with one of the inner tubes. The valve stem is pressed tightly against the wheel, so I have to use something to pry it away from the wheel before I can add air. Ive tried letting out air and repositioning the tube, but that didnt work.
Reviewer:
flyyakker_1150
Rating:
2
Date:
9/21/2012
Review:
Dissappointing! The product is costly. It does not stay centered when attached to the kayak, a WS Tarpon 120. I may have to modify it to add bungy to both sides instead of the single line in the middle. At that price, I should NOT have to do this.
Reviewer:
Linda
Rating:
3
Date:
12/18/2011
Review:
The fat boy cart is great when it has an axle that fits the tire and the tires are inflated. The first cart I received had the axle defect and the second had a flat tire with a defective tube. Austin kayak was great with replacing the defective parts. The replacement of the tube is very difficult. I have yet to get it fixed.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
4
Date:
7/10/2011
Review:
I am not a fat boy by any stretch of the imagination, but I am getting a wee bit older and this is sure nice for moving my kayak to and from the water.
Reviewer:
Ayornamut
Rating:
5
Date:
7/6/2011
Review:
I recently had a chance to try out a lot of kayak carts on a group paddle trip, including a couple of center and end carry styles. One thing became clear… whatever the particular model, I had to get one! They are indispensable for a long carry to the launch, and avoid multiple trips if you want to load your gear first. While all the models had their respective merits and drawbacks, I chose to get a Paddleboy Fat Boy because it met my needs for a variety of larger boats (Dagger Legend 16, Eddyline Nighthawk 175 and Tarpon 160), and most importantly was on sale, with an additional 15% discount coupon and free shipping! I am quite pleased with the Fat Boy. It is remarkably easy to set up and use, accommodates wider/larger boats well, is robust remaining in place over rough terrain (*if* you follow the directions to adjust the height for your boat and pull it up until it contacts the boat gunwales so there is no side-to- side motion/trapezoidal collapsing!), minicel foam on the bottom provides secure support, it is quick to disassemble, collapse and stow. One thing I liked over the center designs is that when collapsed you can wrap the bungee cord around the frame holding it closed and roll it like a wheeled walking stick rather than having to pick it up and carry it. I inflated the tires to 5# under max pressure; they are still holding well after a month. They roll easily whether over hard, uneven terrain or soft sand. Yes, they smell when new; they all do. It will go away. Washing them off helps. Stems were easy to access and attach a fill fitting (I used an emergency car tire inflator that plugs into the lighter, took 30 seconds). If the fittings have receded slightly when deflated just pull them up with your fingers or hold them with a pair of needle nose pliers while attaching the fitting. No problems when partially inflated. Regarding trapezoidal collapsing with narrow boats: I added a short section of thin 1" blown foam split pipe insulation to the upper support arms. Voila, problem solved! They may interfere with collapsing the carrier as designed, but are easily removed or moved. Stowing it aboard is a not as easy as I would like it to be, but in reality all carts of any pneumatic tire design take up a lot of room because of the tires. This one is no exception. Not an option I would use often, but I'm not sure any competitive pnuematic tire model would be better.
Reviewer:
Barrows
Rating:
4
Date:
1/8/2011
Review:
As advertised
Reviewer:
Leo
Rating:
5
Date:
11/6/2010
Review:
This cart is great!. I used to have to wait for my wife to go kayaking with her and pull both of our kayaks... with this cart, I can go by myself !!! I LOVE IT!
Reviewer:
TC
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2010
Review:
easy to use Light weight
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
4/8/2010
Review:
The Fat Boy Kayak Canoe Cart works great on my Manta 14. Stays secured on very rugged terrain and is easily broken down to fit in the yak. Thanks
Reviewer:
dean q.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/23/2009
Review:
The Fat Boy Kayak Canoe Cart is invaluable. It does exactly what it needs to do.
Reviewer:
Geoff
Rating:
4
Date:
7/21/2009
Review:
This is the easiest cart I've used on my Ocean Kayak Prowler and well worth the price. I get kudos from other kayakers when they see the ease of use. My only criticism is if it was wider, you could slide the cart further towards the center-of-gravity to take some of the weight off the front handle.
Reviewer:
Tom L.
Rating:
4
Date:
10/5/2008
Review:
I originally purchased the LARGE KAYAK CANOE CART for my OLD TOWN TANDEN PLUS. This kayak is 15.5' long and weighs 80 lbs.The LARGE CART was just a little small. ACK sent me the "Fat Boy" that works like having an extra person helping you. Dealing with ACK from the purchase of my kayak and all of the accessories has been a nice experience.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.211.219.68 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat