Home > Kayaking > Carts & Carriers > Sea to Summit Sit-on-Top Kayak Scupper Cart
Sea to Summit Sit-on-Top Kayak Scupper Cart
 
Sea to Summit Sit-on-Top Kayak Scupper Cart

Out of Stock

customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.3 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Charlie G.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/14/2015
Review:
Works very well, very easy to adjust and use. Makes moving our yaks a lot less of a hassle, when the launchpoint is a good distance away. I use this with two Tarpon 120s, stacked together. Highly recommended!
Reviewer:
Jeff S.
Rating:
1
Date:
7/7/2015
Review:
Zero stars for the Sea to Summit Sit On Top Kayak Scupper Cart due to poor manufacturing tolerances for wheel hub width and design of linch pin. One of two wheel hubs was 1/16 inch wider than the other.The linch pin (also called round locking cotter pin) when inserted through the shaft to hold the wheel onto the shaft bound against the wheel hub and wheel ribs preventing the wheel from turning. I swapped wheels & linch pins on each end but same problem. The pivot style linch pin, while suitable for some applications, was not the right fit for this design; the pivot head of the pin is too large and rubbed against the wheel hub and wheel ribs. Small tolerances may not seem important to some manufacturers (made in China) but at least verify free running fit before marketing products then perform QC in factory to ensure dimensions are within manufacturing tolerances. I searched for alternate manufacturer linch pins with smaller pivot heads or alternate configurations but no luck. I swapped both linch pins for 10-24 x 2" machine screws and double nut'd each screw (a flush head clinch pin & nut would also work); however, this defeats the easy break down portability of the cart. Still looking for quick disconnect hardware that allows easy breakdown.
Reviewer:
Amy
Rating:
4
Date:
7/4/2015
Review:
Love the way this works. So much easier than the one we used to have. The adjustability means we can easily use the same one for several different boats. The only complaint is that the tires have a horrible odor. We have to store it outside to avoid stinking up the whole garage. We've only had it for about a month. I'm hoping the smell fades eventually. If it does, we will probably buy another one so we have one for each kayak.
Reviewer:
Oscar C.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/23/2015
Review:
Excellent product, solid and high quality, when disassemble it fit perfect inside my Tarpon 14, The rubber smell terrible for a while, do not forget to set it with the tire valve to inside or it will break.
Reviewer:
John H.
Rating:
5
Date:
5/17/2015
Review:
Works well for Tarpon 100. Goes up and down steep levee trails easily and comfortable to use on pavement too.
Reviewer:
Joseph N.
Rating:
5
Date:
5/14/2015
Review:
This cart was exactly what I needed for my Old Town Predator XL. It's adjustable and rolls smoothly over all terrain. Highly recommended for the bigger sit-on-top kayaks!
Reviewer:
Ebon C.
Rating:
4
Date:
3/8/2015
Review:
Best cart i ever had, wotks on multiple kayaks!!!
Reviewer:
William L. Griffin
Rating:
5
Date:
2/5/2015
Review:
High quality cart. Easy to adjust. One tire had leak at valve stem/tube connection. One call to Solution Gear and they sent me a new tube at no charge. Good customer service.
Reviewer:
Wayne
Rating:
3
Date:
9/23/2014
Review:
I ordered this cart for my Slayer13, I had to add some Foam tubes to the uprights.( The kind use on one water pipes ) and added some duct tape . Works great now.
Reviewer:
Brad Montgomery
Rating:
3
Date:
7/14/2014
Review:
I love that this product can be fitted to different kayaks and that it can be taken apart and stored in the front bow storage of my feelfree kayak!!! It does however tend to bind up and twist when trying to make a turn or change direction with the kayak and I have tried to tighten it down to fix the issue and even tried make wider turns with it but it still gets twisted. I would still recommend this product for the yaker that has to transport a kayak any distance over land because while moving in one direction this is an AWESOME PRODUCT!!! They just need to find a solution to the twisting while turning or changing direction
Reviewer:
RB
Rating:
3
Date:
5/25/2014
Review:
Very well built unit, but if you load your kayak on to your cart by yourself and do not want to had to flip your kayak over to get the cart on and off, then you may want to consider a non-scupper style cart.
Reviewer:
Deepblu505
Rating:
4
Date:
3/31/2014
Review:
I bought this after building several out of PVC that just couldn't hold up to the terrain I travel. I have a Perception 13.5ft Search , that weights upwards of 70-80 lbs when loaded. I am getting to old to lug that around unassisted.This performed exceptionally well . I love it, it is very easy to pull, and makes loading into my pickup bed a cinch. i have heard that some dinged the cart because it is hard to get off the Yak , due to the posts sticking in the scupper holes. I don't' find this a problem, in fact i count it as a plus. I like that it is a tight fit, makes getting it strapped on the yak easy.Yes it does take a bit to disengage it but nothing that a good swift kick won't fix...lol I also would like to commend the shop . My wife called to get me a kayak cart and received expert advice from a very friendly and knowledgeable staff member. So thank you , I have always received great service whether from the web site , customer service , or in person at the shop( San Marcus is the shop I have been too).
<<  <  1         >>
Live chat by BoldChat