Hobie Mirage ST Fin (Each) - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Mirage ST Fin (Each) Product Details.
$28.99
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
damian
Rating:
5
Date:
5/26/2014
Review:
perfect......^^
Reviewer:
Jeremy
Rating:
3
Date:
8/23/2013
Review:
I bought these after using the longer Turbo ST fins for a while in my Hobie Adventure. I thought a higher cadence with less resistance might suit me better. But, when I tried these (non-turbo) ST fins, it did not seem nearly as efficient---definitely more work for me to cover the same distance. So, I'd strongly recommend that you go with the Turbo ST fins instead of these. It might take a while to get used to the turbo fins, but once you do, they far superior. You can go faster and farther, and you can always back off a bit and get a similar effect as with the shorter fins. Of course, the turbo fins cost more, but they're well worth it, IMHO.
Reviewer:
BKS
Rating:
4
Date:
9/12/2012
Review:
We bought two Revo 11s. Very pleased with boats. Did this upgrade to one boat and wife and I agreed it was worth doing the other as well. Since it clearly seems superior to standard fin,I would be interested in knowing why Hobie doesnt use this to start with. One minor issue-theres a notch on top of fin beneath the MD sprocket/chain. This notch was not centered beneath the chain and I had to cut a bit of material off the fin to clear the chain.
Reviewer:
DavidH
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2012
Review:
Just upgraded our second Hobie with these. Noticeably better performance.
Reviewer:
J&KATOBX
Rating:
5
Date:
8/3/2012
Review:
Finally got to use the new ST fins and must say they are worth the money but I would like to see Hobie make them their standard fin since they mount on the same mast and are the same length as the standard fin, why should you have to upgrade if you buy a new kayak they should be standard equipment. Im glad I got the ST instead of the turbo ST because I wouldnt want the extra length of the Turbo fin in some of the shallow water we were in at the OBX NC the ST fins just made it without hitting bottom.
Reviewer:
Bob
Rating:
4
Date:
6/21/2012
Review:
You gain some speed without a lot of additional effort. If you have any concerns about pedaling effort, go with the ST versus the Turbo. Both my girlfriend and I have knee problems and we do not have issues with the ST, but the Turbo fins can be a challenge.
Reviewer:
charlie
Rating:
5
Date:
9/24/2011
Review:
I replaced the standard fins with these. I like these a lot. If you are going to fight strong currents, the turbos would be a better choice.
Reviewer:
Jozepp - Miami
Rating:
5
Date:
3/11/2011
Review:
Recently bought a used Hobie tandem mirage which came with 2 sets of peddles, a new ST TURBO Upgrade kit for one and the second set had ST fins but one was missing. Needed the one ST replacement fin. Ack shipped fast. Fin was a perfect fit- easy to install and works great. The ST and ST Turbos are a big improvement over the standard mirage fins. I use the ST TURBO set to peddle my Hobie Tandem solo in the bay with a passenger. The kayak flies through the water.
Reviewer:
Rob Stone
Rating:
5
Date:
1/4/2011
Review:
This is a much better fin then the standard fin. It's for those of us who fish the flats and can't use the Turbo fins due to shallow waters, but want the performance of the Turbo Fin.
Reviewer:
Rick T
Rating:
4
Date:
11/25/2010
Review:
These fins do give you more speed and have an adjustment screw in the back of fin. No instructions were included to tell you which way to adjust. Installing them was easy enough and worth the money.Adjustment instructions would add a star.
Reviewer:
monty
Rating:
5
Date:
9/3/2010
Review:
worth every penny.works well in current holding in one spot,right on top of the fish.slow steady stoke keeps ya right in place.
Reviewer:
Illinois Floater
Rating:
3
Date:
9/28/2009
Review:
The fins do add a little bit of speed or resistance, depending on how you look at it, but there are some flaws. Primarily, the metal rod doesn't go all the way down to the bottom of the ST fins like they do on the standard fins. So the bottom inch or so of fin doesn't have any backbone. First time out I went through some shallow water and rubbed the fins on the bottom, which caused the fin to tear and the rod to poke through the fin. They are also kind of a pain to switch out. The original fins just have a hole in them were a pin goes through. The STs have a screw-type mechanism that is a lot more tedious to deal with. Bottom line, STs are great for deep water where you don't have to worry about rubbing bottom. Standard fins are better for river floating.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:50.19.199.154 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat