FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Old Town Skid Plate Kit - Product Reviews
Return to Old Town Skid Plate Kit Product Details.
MSRP:  $189.99
$169.00 You Save: $20.99(11%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
Ships in 1-2 Weeks - Expedited Shipping Not Available
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Bill B
Rating:
5
Date:
7/7/2012
Review:
I installed the skid plates and have taken the canoe out a couple times already. The river I canoe on is shallow and I cannot take the trip without a dragging bottom a few times each trip. These skid plates are tough!
Reviewer:
CAMor
Rating:
5
Date:
4/15/2012
Review:
Installation process is farily easy. This product will definitely extend the life of your canoe. The fabric strips are actually yellow, not beige like the ones shown in the photo. Overall a great product that I do recommend.
Reviewer:
Sally Johnson
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2011
Review:
Your service was great, your price was great and it turns out the product was great. So thanks for the nice experience! Please, however, no more e-mails. If we need another product from you, we will definitely look you up. Thanks. Sally Johnson
Reviewer:
West
Rating:
5
Date:
7/22/2010
Review:
Excellent service and product!!!!
Reviewer:
Bill Ng
Rating:
3
Date:
6/17/2010
Review:
The price for the skid plates was reasonable. The instructions were simple enough. I agree with RiverJunkie about the color issue. So I purchase a green dye for the resin, still not dark enough, but at least not yellow on my green canoe. I was only able to use one skid plate because I destroyed the first one because the resin harden to fast. I would not pour the entire can of hardener into the resin, this way you can control the thickness and hardening of the product. This may take a little longer to dry. Even though the instruction warn you about working this product in certain temperatures. It was a perfect day and the correct temperature and still the resin harden to quickly to the point you couldn't spread it on the kevlar. I was disappointed in the first process but the second time around yielded better results.
Reviewer:
RiverJunkie
Rating:
4
Date:
12/9/2009
Review:
I was very impressed with the price of this Old Town Skid Plate Kit. It had great detailed instructions that were easy to follow. I have installed the front and rear Keel Guards, but it is a bit too chilly right now for me to try them out. I will cation anyone using these to make sure you line up the bottom of the guards better than I did. I have one just a bit off center. The only negative that I can come up with is the inability to tint the resin. The material is Yellow and my canoe is Green. This may seem picky, but I really wish there were more information/options on tinting the resin or different colored material. The finished product feels like it will be very sturdy. Thanks.
Reviewer:
Mitchell Lowery
Rating:
5
Date:
4/11/2009
Review:
Perfect to protect or restore your canoe. I suggest this for every canoe. Easy to install and works great.
Reviewer:
John Robertson
Rating:
4
Date:
10/13/2007
Review:
The instructions were simple and easy to follow. The kevlar sucked up all the resin, and swelled thick. I placed cling wrap over all the skidplate as it dried, to have a smoother surface. Works and looks great.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.225.18.187 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat