Home > Kayaking > Canoe Accessories > Old Town Skid Plate Kit
Old Town Skid Plate Kit
MSRP:  $189.99
$169.00
 
Old Town Skid Plate Kit
MSRP:  $189.99
$169.00 You Save: $20.99(11%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Expedited Shipping Not Available
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

Have you just purchased a new canoe or is your older canoe starting to show the wear and tear of countless memorable trips? You may want to think about putting on a Kevlar Skid Plate. Our Skid Plate kit protects your new canoe or helps restore the worn out ends of your older canoe, protecting against rocks and other debris you may come across on your paddling voyages.

• The Skid Plate kit contains 2 skid plates, one for each end
• Includes two—part resin, Kevlar® felt, sand paper and stir sticks
• Includes instructions
• Expedited shipping not available due to size or HazMat
Item #: 808
Part Number UPC
01.1331.0640 0759239109069
Back to Top
 Product Documents
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Old Town Skid Plate Kit please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: If your taking river trips weekly then your canoe is probably showing major signs of wear and tear. The Old town skid plates is made out of tough Kevlar and will extend the life of your canoe.
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
John Dunphy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/2/2014
Review:
I was rather pleased with how easy the process is. My recommendation is to pour the mixture over the felt, while on cardboard, to let it soak in. Curing time is fairly quick. All in all extremely durable. I feel like i can drag my canoe with out any reprocussions anymore.
Reviewer:
Bill B
Rating:
5
Date:
7/7/2012
Review:
I installed the skid plates and have taken the canoe out a couple times already. The river I canoe on is shallow and I cannot take the trip without a dragging bottom a few times each trip. These skid plates are tough!
Reviewer:
CAMor
Rating:
5
Date:
4/15/2012
Review:
Installation process is farily easy. This product will definitely extend the life of your canoe. The fabric strips are actually yellow, not beige like the ones shown in the photo. Overall a great product that I do recommend.
Reviewer:
Sally Johnson
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2011
Review:
Your service was great, your price was great and it turns out the product was great. So thanks for the nice experience! Please, however, no more e-mails. If we need another product from you, we will definitely look you up. Thanks. Sally Johnson
Reviewer:
West
Rating:
5
Date:
7/22/2010
Review:
Excellent service and product!!!!
Reviewer:
Bill Ng
Rating:
3
Date:
6/17/2010
Review:
The price for the skid plates was reasonable. The instructions were simple enough. I agree with RiverJunkie about the color issue. So I purchase a green dye for the resin, still not dark enough, but at least not yellow on my green canoe. I was only able to use one skid plate because I destroyed the first one because the resin harden to fast. I would not pour the entire can of hardener into the resin, this way you can control the thickness and hardening of the product. This may take a little longer to dry. Even though the instruction warn you about working this product in certain temperatures. It was a perfect day and the correct temperature and still the resin harden to quickly to the point you couldn't spread it on the kevlar. I was disappointed in the first process but the second time around yielded better results.
Reviewer:
RiverJunkie
Rating:
4
Date:
12/9/2009
Review:
I was very impressed with the price of this Old Town Skid Plate Kit. It had great detailed instructions that were easy to follow. I have installed the front and rear Keel Guards, but it is a bit too chilly right now for me to try them out. I will cation anyone using these to make sure you line up the bottom of the guards better than I did. I have one just a bit off center. The only negative that I can come up with is the inability to tint the resin. The material is Yellow and my canoe is Green. This may seem picky, but I really wish there were more information/options on tinting the resin or different colored material. The finished product feels like it will be very sturdy. Thanks.
Reviewer:
Mitchell Lowery
Rating:
5
Date:
4/11/2009
Review:
Perfect to protect or restore your canoe. I suggest this for every canoe. Easy to install and works great.
Reviewer:
John Robertson
Rating:
4
Date:
10/13/2007
Review:
The instructions were simple and easy to follow. The kevlar sucked up all the resin, and swelled thick. I placed cling wrap over all the skidplate as it dried, to have a smoother surface. Works and looks great.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.234.59.94 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat