Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Bruce-Style Claw Anchor
$13.00
 
Bruce-Style Claw Anchor
$13.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Great anchor and crowd favorite at ACK for sandy bottom anchoring. We love this anchor when down at the Texas coast. On a recent trip we decided to test the "insignificant" failure rates at setting the anchor. We were 10-for-10 on setting the anchor versus 7-for-10 setting our river anchor. Both anchors are a must have for the fisherman.
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Jesse Booth
Rating:
4
Date:
9/11/2014
Review:
I haven't used it yet, but I like the weight of it, and the grabbing power it seems to have. Can't wait to try it. Fits nicely in the build a crate rod holder from ACK.
Reviewer:
Native Ulitmate 12
Rating:
5
Date:
6/19/2014
Review:
If you want to stay in one place, purchase a Bruce Claw anchor from AC&K, reason, it will Stick you exactly where you place the anchor! and yes, and if it's a 4.2lb Bruce claw, good luck trying to pull it out of a solid stick, aint' happening, Bruce claw is the finest design to stay put, period.
Reviewer:
smitty
Rating:
3
Date:
6/10/2014
Review:
be careful using this anchor in moving water with large rocks on the bottom. Mine got wedged between rocks, it was very hard and a little dangerous to retrieve it
Reviewer:
exofishio
Rating:
5
Date:
10/17/2013
Review:
priced right, quick delivery, rig to at least 50' of small line with a small shackle and wire ties and you are as good as anchored in sand or mud. Does not hold well in shell or rocks.
Reviewer:
Jim S
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
Have only used in sand and mud, but it holds extremely in those condtions. It is a bit bulkier but somewhat lighter and, for me, way more reliable than the standard folding anchor.
Reviewer:
KayakFisher
Rating:
4
Date:
5/27/2013
Review:
Holds pretty well for being so small and light. I have had some issues with it holding when there's some chop, but I think it wouldn't have been a problem if I had been using a trolley and had the anchor going off the stern.
Reviewer:
Eric Esper
Rating:
5
Date:
4/14/2013
Review:
Best Kayak anchor for general use great grabbing power for its weight.
Reviewer:
Joe H
Rating:
5
Date:
3/6/2013
Review:
Works great simple.
Reviewer:
Phil L. NE Florida Jax
Rating:
4
Date:
2/14/2013
Review:
I paddle a Cobra FND; and fish in many creeks that have extra strong tides and current. The compact fold out anchors were simply not doing the job of keeping me anchored down in one spot, so I'm able stake out the back and keep myself squared up to the oyster beds that I want to cast in front of. After talking to Clark, a local kayak fishing friend here in Jax, he said the Bruce style claw anchors are the best style and design which stick and stay the minute they hit the bottom of the creek, I took my 2 Bruce claw anchors that I ordered from Laura, with help from Kyle; as the larger Bruce anchor had to be a special order, it took quite awhile, but it was well worth the weight. I fished last Monday night, under a full moon, in Simpsons south Creek, and around 3:30am, at dead low tide, with the very first sign of the current and the first of the incoming tide off of the ocean, Bingo, I head a huge amount of splashing in the water behind me in the grass, stood up, took out my bino's flashed my MagLite; sure enough, the most beautiful sight a kayak fishing person could hope for, a huge school of redfish tailing in the grass, feeding off the exposed oyster bed, which supplies the red's with clams and oyster, there favoirte thing to feed on. I had the most crazy and non stop 45 minutes of casting and getting slammed with over sized red's. My largest measured bull red came in at just over 45", total caught in less then 1 hour; 7, ended up keeping the limit of 2 legal slot size (18"-27"), whith a 26" & a 24" reds, fished the bottom for 30 minutes with large mud minnows, landed 2 nice sized black drums, (15"-20"; one keeper over 20") one drum was 20" and the big boy was 25". trolled soft plastics on the long 7 mile paddle back to the truck, snagged a big gator speckled trout measuring 22". The Bruce style claw anchors truly are the best anchor allowing you to stay in One Spot, for good, have not been pulled off a spot since I switched to the Bruce style anchor. ACK and there staff are why I continue to purchase my kayak gear from them, along witih excellent quality, they always have the best price point for the items that I want to purchase.
Reviewer:
mike
Rating:
4
Date:
11/7/2012
Review:
This has been a great anchor. I have used it in the river and I have used it in the surf. In the surf I had it attached to my tarpon 120 and a Hobie 14 ft tandem it held both of us on my anchor trolley. It broke the anchor trolley line and was still holding in the sand IN SURF. the only reason I will not give it a five star, the size is a bit big. All in all I would buy again if I ever lose this one.
Reviewer:
alfredo
Rating:
5
Date:
9/20/2012
Review:
This anchor is extremely strong. Last time I was on my kayak fishing in the ocean in a strong current and even the large boats could not stay in one place. I was there for about two hours and you could see how the other boats were being pulled by the current while I stayed in the same place.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
9/20/2012
Review:
Wonderful anchor. Used mine successfully in lakes and ponds with mud, clay, gravel, or even rocky bottoms. Recently took it on a canoe trip to Ontario. Not a good idea. Once the claw grabs onto a down tree on the bottom you either cut the rope or go swimming. I cut the rope; but I will be purchasing another claw anchor.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.87.88.52 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat