Bruce-Style Claw Anchor
MSRP:  $16.99
$12.99
 
Bruce-Style Claw Anchor
MSRP:  $16.99
$12.99 You Save: $4.00(24%)

In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!

ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Great anchor and crowd favorite at ACK for sandy bottom anchoring. We love this anchor when down at the Texas coast. On a recent trip we decided to test the "insignificant" failure rates at setting the anchor. We were 10-for-10 on setting the anchor versus 7-for-10 setting our river anchor. Both anchors are a must have for the fisherman.
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2016
Review:
Very good for mud or sand bottom. Extremely reliable, light weight and easy to use. I think it is much superior to the folding anchors. Using chain links, as noted elsewhere is a good idea but not needed in shallow and slow moving water. I use the ties used in closing bags of bread to hold the anchor line/chain to the upper end of the anchor and firmly secure the line/chain to the lower end of the anchor. This will let you pull the anchor free if it become stuck somehow.
Reviewer:
Pedro C.
Rating:
5
Date:
1/6/2016
Review:
I never thought I should need an anchor to the kayak. Thanks God, a friend of mine expert in the fishing kayak, recommended me to use this specific anchor for a kayak. I followed his instructions and I bought it and installed it in my kayak. It works perfectly. Then I knew that if I didn't use this anchor, I should be in the middle of the ocean. I recommend this product for your safety.
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
10/13/2015
Review:
Slightly awkward to store on board due to shape but is very light weight and much more reliable than the folding Grapnel type anchors. Has worked well for me on local sandy /soft mud bottom in strong tidal currents without any added weight, but on different bottom (say a bit "harder" mud), or in deeper water, perhaps a length chain will be needed.
Reviewer:
Johnny V.
Rating:
5
Date:
12/18/2014
Review:
I added 2' of chain with a shackle connection and use a plastic zip tie for releasing anchor when snagged. I use 75' of rope that I wrap around a extension cord holder I bought at the dollar store. I have an anchor float attach and a harmony quick release cam cleat. I have installed an anchor trolley on my Hobie pro angler 14'. This anchor holds in soft bottoms no problem. I am learning to use anchor trolley to position myself so I can cast with the wind. This anchor fits perfect in my right rear rod holder. Paddle clip on left side prevents me from using that rod holder but I don't mind the sacrifice for using paddle clip. As I have upgraded my rod holders using the scotty rail mounts and gear head extensions (awesome).
Reviewer:
Jesse Booth
Rating:
4
Date:
9/11/2014
Review:
I haven't used it yet, but I like the weight of it, and the grabbing power it seems to have. Can't wait to try it. Fits nicely in the build a crate rod holder from ACK.
Reviewer:
Native Ulitmate 12
Rating:
5
Date:
6/19/2014
Review:
If you want to stay in one place, purchase a Bruce Claw anchor from AC&K, reason, it will Stick you exactly where you place the anchor! and yes, and if it's a 4.2lb Bruce claw, good luck trying to pull it out of a solid stick, aint' happening, Bruce claw is the finest design to stay put, period.
Reviewer:
smitty
Rating:
3
Date:
6/10/2014
Review:
be careful using this anchor in moving water with large rocks on the bottom. Mine got wedged between rocks, it was very hard and a little dangerous to retrieve it
Reviewer:
exofishio
Rating:
5
Date:
10/17/2013
Review:
priced right, quick delivery, rig to at least 50' of small line with a small shackle and wire ties and you are as good as anchored in sand or mud. Does not hold well in shell or rocks.
Reviewer:
Jim S
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
Have only used in sand and mud, but it holds extremely in those condtions. It is a bit bulkier but somewhat lighter and, for me, way more reliable than the standard folding anchor.
Reviewer:
KayakFisher
Rating:
4
Date:
5/27/2013
Review:
Holds pretty well for being so small and light. I have had some issues with it holding when there's some chop, but I think it wouldn't have been a problem if I had been using a trolley and had the anchor going off the stern.
Reviewer:
Eric Esper
Rating:
5
Date:
4/14/2013
Review:
Best Kayak anchor for general use great grabbing power for its weight.
Reviewer:
Joe H
Rating:
5
Date:
3/6/2013
Review:
Works great simple.
<<  <  1         >>
Live Chat