Folding Anchor 3 lb.
MSRP:  $17.99
$13.99
 
Folding Anchor 3 lb.
MSRP:  $17.99
$13.99 You Save: $4.00(22%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The best river anchor we have found for the money. You can't beat a good grappling hook anchor in the rivers, whether you are anchoring to a tree on the bottom or directly to the bottom, this anchor will hold. However, if you are spending a lot of time in lakes or at the coast, you may want to consider the claw anchor instead, it has better holding power and sets everytime.
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Justin
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2012
Review:
I finally used my anchors the weekend before hurricane Isaac came through the Tampa Bay area in FL. Even with the strong currents and a bit of extra wind, the anchors worked nicely.
Reviewer:
pontoonOR
Rating:
5
Date:
6/30/2012
Review:
Works great with our pontoons for flyfishing. The folding feature is nice for making the anchor more compact.
Reviewer:
Duck Soup
Rating:
2
Date:
6/18/2012
Review:
Nice anchors BUT was Very disappointed in how sloppy the locking cap or collar fits the shaft diameter and in the lock position. DOES NOT LOCK TINES IN OPEN position or fit shaft well? Ive seen similer anchors at my local West Michigan area marine stores and were the same in all respects other than the poor fit of the locking cap/collar. Others locked positive...I will have to make it work some way other than pay the shipping to return them.
ACK's Response:
Duck Soup - we have refunded your purchase, sorry that the anchor missed your expectations!
Reviewer:
VAyaker
Rating:
4
Date:
5/16/2012
Review:
Good quality at a reasonable price. Should work well.
Reviewer:
Justin
Rating:
4
Date:
2/21/2012
Review:
It's a nice little anchor. Add a 3ft chain and you can hold in pretty good current. This is my second one because my first is on the bottom of the Columbia river.
Reviewer:
Dunking Lures
Rating:
5
Date:
10/3/2011
Review:
I rigged a small chain to the top of the anchor and attached a rope to the chain. This allows the claws to dig in and really anchor my Kayak. Since doing that this anchor has worked every time, even in a good wind.
Reviewer:
Andy Bailey
Rating:
4
Date:
9/1/2011
Review:
There's a method for rigging these anchors that makes them reversible (i.e., you can dislodge them if they get hung without capsizing yourself), that entails installing an anchor shackle on the Crown end (the bottom, that's why the hole is there), attaching the anchor line there, and then using a thin zip-tie to attach the line to the anchor's Eye. In this fashion, if the anchor hangs, you yank the line hard enough to break the zip tie, the anchor flips over, and away you go. A heavy split ring or a carabiner will work instead of an anchor shackle, but I found that 1/4" dia. carabiners wouldn't pass through the crown eyelet. I don't see any anchor shackles in the ACK catalog, would be a handy thing to add! My only complaint about the anchor itself is that it might be nice to include a sheet with information about rigging it, like how to tie an anchor knot and how to do the reversible rigging.
Reviewer:
retiredsailor
Rating:
4
Date:
8/8/2011
Review:
Works great for light duty anchoring. I stow it in a zipper mesh bag and it keeps it tidy when not in use.
Reviewer:
the rod father
Rating:
2
Date:
5/18/2011
Review:
i guess you get what you pay for. i have used this type anchor before and was satisfied but this version seems loose and not a positive lock on the arms by the lock ring, the arms will also fall out in the upright position.
Reviewer:
Richard A. Vertz
Rating:
5
Date:
4/18/2011
Review:
Superb product, works great, and should last me a long time. (Anchor grapnel and line)
Reviewer:
Rob Knoles
Rating:
5
Date:
2/14/2011
Review:
Holds my kayak just fine in pretty good currents.
Reviewer:
PC_Midus
Rating:
5
Date:
2/7/2011
Review:
Awesome. Neatly folds and contained.
Live chat by BoldChat