Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Inflatable Kayaks > Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame Convertible Tandem Inflatable Kayak
Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame Convertible Tandem Inflatable Kayak
MSRP:  $749.99
$649.00
 
Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame Convertible Tandem Inflatable Kayak
MSRP:  $749.99
$649.00 You Save: $100.99(13%)
  In-stock: Due to the holiday your order will ship on Tuesday 9/8/2015.
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: With 6 chambers and 3 layers of protection the Convertible leaves no worries. Tracks well thanks to reinforced bow and stern guides as well as a small skeg aft. Folds up into a bag that will fit in even the smallest trunks.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Tony E
Rating:
5
Date:
8/17/2010
Review:
We bought this boat last July and have enjoyed it since. I am 6' 230# my wife is 5'0" and we have plenty of room. Inflation is always under 20:00 with a 4-d battery Coleman and 2-way floor pump(I forget the brand). The later tightens up the creases and gives almost a hard shell feel to the craft. Easy to carry to lake shores from campsites and launches steadily. Feels very stable and tracks surprisingly well. A pair of two-piece Aqua-Bound paddles, about $150.00 each and decent PFD's and we're on the water. Excellent intro to the sport of kayaking for a more than reasonable price. I see no reason whay this gear would loose its value as a re-sale if I decided to go with a hard-shell. I bought my boat from a sporting goods store in Spokane Washington. The durability, quality and afordability of this tandem makes it a great choice for us novices. Highly recommended!
Reviewer:
Slorigami7
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2010
Review:
This is a great alternative to a traditional hard shell kayak. Easy to set up, and takes up little space in the trunk, so you end up taking it more places. Very comfortable to paddle around in, and pretty efficient on the water. We have been on some pretty long trips in it and while it's not as sleek as a hard shell sea kayak, it' well worth it's price if you don't want to have to hassle with the roof rack and worry about some miscreant stealing your boat sitting on the roof. We liked it so much, we bought a second kayak and haven't taken out the hard shells in a year. Very tough construction and well built. We added the backbone and the decks which adds some efficiency at the cost of a little extra weight, but all in all, we would buy them again. Austin Kayak gave us a great deal and got us on the water fast.
Reviewer:
Tim from the UK
Rating:
5
Date:
6/16/2010
Review:
I have to tell you how delighted I've been with the service I received from Austin Kayak - and with the AE Convertible. I contacted the kayak manufacturers and they put me on to the people at A K who answered every query I had and shipped my order when I wanted it shipping to coincide with me being over in the US. I have only tried out this model as a single-seater (and with the backbone) but it handled really well, was extremely stable and cut through the water with ease. I had an initial hitch with the tracking but this was down to my not getting the backbone centred and as soon as I did things were fine. I'd been concerned that due to my height and size I might find the seating a bit uncomfortable but I spent several hours paddling up and down the coast and didn't have any trouble at all. The AE 1007 performed every bit as well as I hoped it would - and I have to say that everything I read about it in other reviews rang true. So, five stars for the Advanced Elements company and five stars for Austin Kayak.
Reviewer:
Matt Barker
Rating:
5
Date:
6/22/2009
Review:
Absolutely love these kayaks. We bought 2 of them to use during our time living in Crete. Have had them out a couple of times so far and have absolutely no complaints. I had originally wanted a hard-shell boat, but a little more difficult and lots more $$ to ship overseas. I did a bit of research and decided on these kayaks from AdvancedFrame. I am very glad I did. They track well and are easy to get in and out of when snorkeling. Fantastic boats!
Reviewer:
Dominican Republic
Rating:
5
Date:
3/31/2009
Review:
We own two of the AF Convertible kayaks and two AF 10.5's. We love them all. We kayak along the coastline of the Caribbean Sea of the Dominican Republic. I have the optional backbone for both of our Convertibles and have not paddled them without the backbone. This kayak is comfortable for two people and tracks extremely well. I also paddle it solo. I have paddled solo with a total of about 500 pounds weight in the kayak, and didn't have any trouble. It will handle large swells well, and tracks fairly straight in windy conditions. I highly recommend this kayak for durability and versatility. I have two things for you to consider about this kayak. One, it is heavy and difficult to move around without the help of someone else. Two, I don't like the stock seat. It just doesn't give my large frame the support I want. I had to purchase a high back seat for myself. All in all, a great kayak though.
Reviewer:
mike l
Rating:
5
Date:
7/26/2008
Review:
We just love our kayak we live in the mountains in Colorado not far from the Colorado River.We are still learning how to kayak but this is as much fun we have had (along w/skiing).
Reviewer:
Milton
Rating:
5
Date:
6/27/2008
Review:
Purchased the AE Convertible from Austin Kayak. First Austin Kayak is a great company, I called several times asking questions about the AE and other products and they were always very willing to give me informative answers without pushing me to buy anything or any certain kayak. I live around Houston area so shipping isn't far but 3 separate orders I have placed have all been processed and shipped the same day and delivered the next day. I am looking forward to visiting there store on my next trip to Austin. The AE is a very impressive Kayak. I was a little worried about buying an inflatable but didn't have much choice because of transporting and storage. I am so happy I didn't have a choice. My wife and I love the AE. We have been able to paddle it with ease and get good speed out of it. It tracks great as long as you have the floor centered. This isn't hard to do if you take a couple extra min. setting it up. I am 5'11" 200lb she is 5'1" 110. I was first worried that she would have trouble paddling over the sides because she is short waisted. She has no problem. We have plenty of room and it paddles really well with both of us. I have taken it out once as a single to do a little fishing. I was able to get 2 fishing poles, 2 tackle boxes, small ice chest, a bag of bait, small water cooler, pump and several other items and had plenty of room for everything but also able to reach each item easily. Tracking and paddling was great with one person. I have only been in calm waters but look forward to taking on some surf and white water in the near future. Kayak is easy to get into and out of. It does not tilt or rock when stepping in or out. It is pretty heavy at 57 pounds but I have had no trouble getting it back in the bag. On fishing trip after making 3 trips to get the kayak and gear to the boat dock. I inflated, loaded and launched in than 15 min. Deflate and put in bag in less than 10. I do take it home to clean and dry it out. I would rate both Austin Kayak and the AE Convertible 5 out of 5. I like the AE so much my next purchase will the the AE 10.5 single person kayak that looks like the convertible. It is lighter and shorter so would be easy to take on camping trips where we have to hike to campsite. Thanks Austin Kayak
<<    2    >  >>
Live chat by BoldChat