FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Inflatable Kayaks > Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame Convertible Tandem Inflatable Kayak
Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame Convertible Tandem Inflatable Kayak
MSRP:  $749.99
$649.00
 
Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame Convertible Tandem Inflatable Kayak
MSRP:  $749.99
$649.00 You Save: $100.99(13%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: With 6 chambers and 3 layers of protection the Convertible leaves no worries. Tracks well thanks to reinforced bow and stern guides as well as a small skeg aft. Folds up into a bag that will fit in even the smallest trunks.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
David C.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/22/2015
Review:
Quality inflatable kayak, fairly easy set up, stable, pure fun!
Reviewer:
Mauvis L.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2015
Review:
Note that I purchased this product on Austin Kayak as it was not only the cheapest online but had a sale for 15% off all accessories with the Kayak. I highly recommend getting a pair of kayak PFD's. On top of free shipping, there is no sales tax if you are out of state - triple win. In the days where Amazon is king, its cool to see these guys as a big contender in the kayak world. The downside is that ACK uses FedEx and 2 our of 3 shipments from them have been late (No issue on ACK's part who have stellar customer service but how outright terrible Fedex is.) First thing I wanted to talk about is how beautiful this kayak is when inflated. It doesn't look like a cheap inflatable but a real product engineered for serious kayaking. I love it's intense orange color and how everything (but the kayak bag) seems so well thought-out and designed. I definitely feel that I am enjoying a product that took years to refine to its current iteration. I just completed my first 1.5 hour trip with this tandem kayak on a fairly still, large lake with a couple of other kayaks, sailboats, and the occasional speedboat. It was overall a pretty stellar, problem- free experience. Kayak setup was straight forward as I’ve set it up and took it down the previous day in my garage. I bought a double-action pump with a gauge and essentially just eyeballed the pressure of every part (I followed the PSI pressure guide the first time in my garage so understand generally how "stiff" all the parts should be.) I had no issues with buoyancy or tracking in the water. Attached are some pics from the trip! I am a beginner kayaker (only been a few times a few years ago) but plan on working my way up to doing some protected ocean- side trips. I purchased the backbone component but decided not to use it my first time just to see what its like without it. I would say if you are just going recreationally on calm lakes and calm waters, you will not miss out a lot by not having the backbone — you go plenty fast and track and turn decently enough, though I'm sure with backbone support it would be even better (will update). The backbone does come with a lot of scary warnings to be more gentle with landings into sharp rocks or hard surfaces that the kayak without the backbone can do no problem. My girlfriend was initially afraid of getting in an "inflatable kayak" but we found the kayak so stable loading, paddling, and unloading, that even she quickly trusted the dependability of it. Our speed was surprisingly fast on the lake, not as fast as the expensive 20-ft single-person kayaks we saw but way faster than my brother's inflatable boat with three-paddlers (pictured. Then again this product costs 4x more than his inflatable). I found I could even make decent speed with my partner on the front, not paddling. Recommendations: - Any bad reviews I ever see of this product on Amazon or ACK seem to due to lack of proper air pressure. You cannot use an electric pump to get you all the way, it just can't output as much PSI as you need. The Advanced Elements Double Action Inflatable Kayak Pump (or any other similar double action pump) will get you there quickly and easily. 10-15 mins setup as others have stated is about right. - As others say, the first time you pull this kayak out of the case remember how its folded. You want to fold it exactly the same way for problem-free pack up. Essentially you fold it in half length-wise (making the kayak thinner) then you fold each end a 3rd in, followed by a third more folding to fold it all the way. - The first time I put this kayak in its bag, like others, I had a hard time making it fit. Packing the kayak away the second time on the other hand was super problem free and I even had room to fit tons of accessories. The trick is to not only release the air out of all the inlets but 1) Use your pump to ensure ALL the air is out before packing up (most important) 2) Close the valves once the air is out to ensure none gets back (less important but still useful, I am still experimenting with this) - The bag as everyone says, is totally useable and useful but using the same material could have been constructed into a back pack or something else easier to carry. If you have to carry this kayak down the road to reach a launch point it may be useful to get a foldaway cart for the bag as you will need to make a trip back to your car anyways to put the pump and other stuff away. Now that I have one successful trip on this kayak I plan on getting the "Advanced Elements Rapid Up Sail" and eventually an "Advanced Elements Double Deck Conversion" for protected bay / ocean paddling. Will update this review with more trip experiences! Overall, I couldn't ask for a better portable kayak, another happy customer. Thanks Advanced Frame. Thanks ACK!
Reviewer:
Mark M.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/25/2015
Review:
We bought this kayak for our vacation at Lake Tahoe. I was impressed with it's size while in the storage bag. We were able to easily fit it in our skybox for the trip. It was very easy to pump up and get into the water, I do suggest a good double action pump. Everyone in the family used it over the week and had a great time. My wife and I took it on a 2 hr paddle out in deep water and it tracked well and was stable. I was really impressed with ACK and their customer service! We did not think we were going to get it on time for our trip and ACK worked to get it to us! The communication was great with calls every couple of days to let us know status.
Reviewer:
Sanjaykumar G.
Rating:
4
Date:
5/28/2015
Review:
Excellent, get ready in 5 mins.
Reviewer:
dukenesini
Rating:
5
Date:
11/29/2014
Review:
We have had great fun with our AE kayaks. They solve the transportation and storage problems. They are durable. Contrary to the negative reviewer, the backs are quite comfortable; just adjust the straps correctly.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
1
Date:
3/15/2013
Review:
I made the mistake of purchasing one of the Advanced Elements AdvancedFrame convertible kayaks last year. My wife and I are experienced hard shell kayakers, typically doing 25-30 miles a weekend during the spring, summer and fall. Honestly, the Advanced Element kayak is one of the worst purchases I have ever made. I've had it out 3 times now and literally have not made it over 500 feet from the shoreline without turning back. The seat provides absolutely no back support, even though I have invested in the firmer, stiffer seat with the inflatable lumbar support. I find myself nearly laying backwards while trying to row. It's like constantly doing a situp in the kayak and it's the most uncomfortable and awkward activity. In my opinion, this is such a terrible piece of gear and so frustrating that I'm honestly not sure whether I want to dump it cheap on Craigslist or enjoy the satisfaction of slicing it to shreds with a box cutter. I am glad that I didn't start kayaking with an Advanced Elements inflatable or I would have never known how enjoyable this sport can be.
Reviewer:
Mark
Rating:
5
Date:
10/17/2012
Review:
Bought this kayak for my wife and I, and we love it! Took us about 30 minutes to set everything up the first time including double deck and backbone, but after a couple more trips, weve got this done to 20 minutes, and I expect we will get quicker. Extremely stable boat, tracks really well and find it quite comfortable Im 63 and 220lb. Took a brief paddle soloing from the rear seat as well, and found it very easy to control. The double deck conversion does a great job reducing the amount of water in the boat.
Reviewer:
duncan
Rating:
5
Date:
9/3/2012
Review:
I purchased the Advanced Element after extensive research I live in a Hotel my job my partner lives in a condo, the kayak lives in the trunk of her car with the paddles life jackets pump etc. We get in the car drive to a lake or a river and in 20 minutes we are on the water, the stress is all gone, last week we saw 4 bald eagles flying over Cowan lake Cincinnati, then an Osprey. OK is it like a hard shell, No its an inflatable!, but its great for what i want I paddle it goes in that direction, tracking is good speed also, but it suits my purpose to a tee. We beach it and 15 minutes later its back in the trunk and we are off , usually to a restaurant to eat, being outdoors sure makes me hungry. OK I know dry it out but at the moment we Kayak twice a week, and so far its not been a problem. I did get the deck, saves getting wet it makes it a bit tight getting in and out but everything comes at a cost. Pumping it to the right pressure is a learning curve, but I am happy with my purchase, trouble is I am going to end up pimping it out I know lol. The rail system , waterproof video camera, high backed lumber seats, backbone, oh dont forget the cargo deck bag, foot brace, kayak cart then the spray skirt for the winter. I wouldnt change it for the world, OK a different colour would be nice its a bit like a kayak from a jail!!
Reviewer:
ornetta@verizon.net
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2012
Review:
Top Shelf
Reviewer:
Kayaking THIS since Summe
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2012
Review:
I have had this Kayak since summer 2009 and i love it. Its tough, i have hit plenty of rocks and rubbbed up against plenty of rough/sharp surfaces and this kayak could care less. Inflating take about 10-15 mins if you space off like i do. I use a double pump to pump it up, gives my shoulders a nice warm up. Its heavy, weighing in around 56 pounds i believe. It is comfortable to ride around for hours in this thing, it can be converted easily into a single user, but here is where a small problem starts. Its easier to kayak with your feet braced against something, and if you are sitting in the back you got something to brace your feet against, no problems; but if you sit in the front or convert this into a single seat kayak, you will have problems because you will have nothing to brace your feet against. You will need to buy the separate footbrace available on this site for $59, trust me, I have had this Kayak for 4 summers now. I am 6 foot. The seats are fine, but at times i wish they were more comfortable. I hope i have been able to provide what other reviews are missing. I didnt want to repeat others, so this is an alternative. Bottom line, I love this Kayak.
Reviewer:
Steven Gomez
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2011
Review:
Great kayak for beginners.. Very good for those who want the convenience of packing it up in a case and putting into car to take on trips and not having to worry about tying down hard shell kayak. Easy to pump up, deflate and fold up. Highly reccomend
Reviewer:
Conrad
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2010
Review:
Love this kayak! Since purchasing it a month ago, my son and I have taken it out to the lake every weekend and even gone fishing from it. It is definitely worth getting the optional backbone...tracking is noticeably better. The complaints are few. It could use a footrest in the front (but got around that by putting a dry bag there instead) and water does accumulate on rough days in the bow and stern holders where the aluminum ribs are (which requires drying it out with a towel to avoid mold problems and probably not too big a problem if you have the optional deck/skirt)....but you can't beat the portability factor as others have mentioned.
<<  <  1       >>
Live chat by BoldChat