Yakima Rack and Roll 66 Trailer - Product Reviews
Return to Yakima Rack and Roll 66 Trailer Product Details.
$2,149.00
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Rob
Rating:
5
Date:
8/28/2013
Review:
Love It. Took a while to find the Manufacturers Statement of Origin so we could license it. But it is well designed and fun.
Reviewer:
Rich R
Rating:
5
Date:
4/30/2013
Review:
Bought this lightweight trailer to haul behind a motorcycle and it has performed beautifully. Off the bat it was a good thing, but after I took 3 feet off the tongue, it was perfect. (Yakima has a 3 foot extension in case I need it back) I have a standard cargo box on it for camping, and it trails beautifully. (The pin on the ‘kickstand’ accessory got screwed up after a few months, but is still very useful when the wheels are choked.) Love this bit of kit.
Reviewer:
Allen
Rating:
5
Date:
7/22/2012
Review:
ACK is a great place to buy a Yakima trailer! They were extremely helpful, and the trailer arrived rapidly! I've already used ACK for another purchase. Highly recommended.
Reviewer:
kayakboy
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2012
Review:
Why did we wait?! We have kayaked from ME to FL for the best part of 15 years, and lifting our kayaks, 48# and 52#, up onto the top of our Honda CR-V got to be a PITA. As much as we love to kayak, we grew to detest the chore of loading and unloading. WOW! Its now an absolute pleasure. Easy, easy, easy with our 2 BowDown racks mounted on the outsides of the trailer 2 bike racks in the middle. And I really dont know the trailer is behind us while driving unless I look in the mirror. We had to work out a kink or two with ACK before delivery we are long distance customers, but everything worked out and I recommend them to anybody. Go for it!
Reviewer:
Ranger Rod
Rating:
5
Date:
7/15/2012
Review:
I have lusted after one of these trailers for years and the fact that they finally went on sale prompted me to make this major purchase. I was very impressed by the quality and workmanship of the trailer and the comprehensive instructions. The assembly went very smoothly and everything fit well. Even though a couple of the boxes had been breached, all of the parts were there. I broke a couple of the locks provided and a quick call to Yakima had them at the house in a few days. The manual kept saying to only use 2 balls and my coupler was a 1 7/8. I sent Yakima an email mentioning that they might want to correct that. They said the trailer now has a 2 coupler and they sent me one free of charge. I have used Yakima products for over 25 years and have always been satisfied with them and their constant improvement of products. The trailer itself is convenient with its ability to fold or be placed upright to save space its so attractive I dont want to leave it out in the weather. Im super satisfied and ACKs service was excellent as usual. Sorry this is so long.
Reviewer:
kayakboy
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2012
Review:
I have used the trailer 2 times so far and it has been wonderful. I am into ease of operation and this trailer fits the bill for me. With the Bowdown carriers, putting our kayaks into the water has never been so easy, and after paddling, replacing the boats back in their racks is a piece of cake. Assembly of the product was fun and simple. The directions were straight forward. The wiring was perfect. Why did we wait so long to make this purchase?!
Reviewer:
Rob Greathouse
Rating:
5
Date:
7/4/2012
Review:
Wow....This thing rocks. Assembly made easy by high quality materials, welding and machining, all hardware was there and good quality- We recently moved from Boulder Co. to Santa Fe Nm. Fishing opportunities are all atleast a couple of hours drive for me, and we go to Colorado atleast once a month. I put this trailer behind my 04 VW Passat TDI and burn down the interstate at 82 mph no problem. On the trailer I mounted my Packasport roof-top box for all the gear and carry my kayak. Also not having to lift my Native 14.5 ultimate on top of my Land Cruiser saves my already compromised shoulders. Ive read about guys having tire issues right off the bat with this rig- I would say this is one component that could have been a bit better from the start but- Our Colorado weekends put about a thousand miles on the trailer, the tires are holding up but will be replaced at the beginning of next year regardless. I also got the kickstand, spare and heave duty shocks. All function as one would expect. Yes a bit pricey but over the long run Very well worth it- saves fuel and aging bodies, also cushions gear well.
Reviewer:
Gerry
Rating:
5
Date:
6/29/2012
Review:
Austin Kayak will be the first place Ill go for online shopping for equipment. Great service, friendly, helpful staff. Had a few problems getting the title and bill of sale for New York DMV requirements but ACK took care of it quickly. Now onto the trailer. Love it, love it, love it. Having gotten rid of the Subaru roof racks included we had no way to transport our kayaks unless we purchased a new roof rack for the new car. Kayaks are getting heavier so lifting them onto a roof was not one of our priorities. So we bit the bullet and splurged on the Rack and Roll. Only used it once so far and cant wait for our next kayak outing. It was fairly easy to put together. I just took my time and it all came together well. One note. DO NOT LEAVE THE KEYS IN THE LOCKS DURING ASSEMBLY!!! I left the key in the lock that locks the trailer tongue into the trailer frame and while inserting the tongue in the frame, the key somehow got wedged and broke off in the lock in the unlocked position. A trip to a locksmith took care of that. Yakima sent me two new keys at no charge even due to my stupidity. No broken bolts or problems with socket sizes as I have a decent tool set. I recommend this trailer highly.
Reviewer:
Chris
Rating:
3
Date:
6/16/2012
Review:
First off, I have to say I have no problem with ACK. They have the best customer service and prices anywhere. Yakiama...not so much. This is an expensive trailer, even at ACKs sale prices. For the price, I expected top of the line materials and finish. The basic structure is first rate and exactly as described. The parts, however, are a cheap grade. They arent marked so its hard to say what grade they are but tightening one of the axel bolts to torque spec stripped the bolt and gouged the castle nut. A call to Yakima got a replacement axel sent overnight but wouldn't have happened if these were grade 5 or 6. Likewise, installing the tongue lock resulted in a broken lock core. Its made of pot metal and a replacement is being sent by Yakima, so well see if it actually works. Lastly, the bolts and nuts arent exactly metric sizes; I found the crossmember bolts were really 5/8 not a 17mm. So...the engineering is what I paid for but Yakima really needs to upgrade the components. Assembly is straight forward and the instructions are very well done. Overall, I'll get over the poor quality fasteners and this trailer looks to be lighter and more nicely made than the competition. Lastly, none of this was ACKs fault and Ill certainly do business with them again.
Reviewer:
DeAunJ
Rating:
5
Date:
10/5/2010
Review:
We love this trailer!!! It is easy to handle and pulls like a dream. The step by step instructions were clear. Materials are of great quality. With the 72" width we carried 2 kayaks and a cargo box. We think we can also add 2 bikes. We would recommend the kickstand for off-vehicle storage. We leave it loaded, ready to hookup quickly. A spare tire is also a must. We are really glad we won't be lifting those boats to the roof of the car. Now we are truly ready to "Rack n Roll"!!
Reviewer:
DM in KY
Rating:
5
Date:
9/30/2010
Review:
Excellent product. Have had it several months and used it over 700 miles so far. Light and smooth to pull and saves a ton of time and effort. Makes getting to/from the water very easy, saves our backs and shoulders for paddling, and doesn't bounce or shake the boats at all. Customer service from ACK was fantastic, as usual.
Reviewer:
Jim in Arizona
Rating:
5
Date:
3/21/2010
Review:
The Yakima Rack and Roll Trailer is an excellent kayak trailer and a delight to haul.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:67.202.4.225 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat