Home > Racks & Trailers > Trailers & Trailer Accessories > Malone MicroSport XT Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460XT

Malone MicroSport XT Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460XT

MSRP:  $1,599.00
$1,439.10
 
 
Malone MicroSport XT Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460XT
MSRP:  $1,599.00
$1,439.10 You Save: $159.90(10%)

In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today! - Expedited Shipping Not Available

ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today! - Expedited Shipping Not Available
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Michael M.
Rating:
5
Date:
5/31/2017
Review:
I am extremely happy with my purchase. ACK was very easy to work with. Two issues mentioned in other reviews were not a problem with my purchase: 1. ACK sent required documents for license within a few days of my order being delivered. 2. The Malone trailer assembly documents were very easy to follow and incorporated the retractable tongue installation with the main assembly document.
Reviewer:
William S.
Rating:
5
Date:
5/20/2017
Review:
Recently purchased the Malone MicroSport XT Kayak Trailer Kit MPG460XT and took it on a road trip with 2 kayaks (about 85 lbs each). It is a well made trailer and pulled beautifully on my 600 mile journey. Several questions have been asked about pulling speeds on TX highways. While I am not recommending exceeding the mfr. recommended speed of 65 mph, I drove about 70 mph most of the way and it tracked true and straight. Never had a wobble. At one point I was accidentally pulling at the 75 mph speed limit and again it tracked perfectly straight. Again, not recommending this speed but it worked well for me.
Reviewer:
Robert B.
Rating:
5
Date:
5/18/2017
Review:
Great trailer. Instructions are very clear and detailed with lots of pictures. A black and white printout is included with the trailer kit and a color version available online. Note that the trailer kit comes in 5 boxes and some of the components are interchangeable with the standard Malone Microsport trailer - you will probably wind up with a few extra parts that dont apply to the Microsport XT. As noted in other reviews, the wiring system is too exposed. I enclosed the wiring with wire loom and inexpensive lengths of garden hose and installed rubber grommets wherever a wire passed through a metal frame member, which would appear to be the first point of failure from the sharp edges. One bone to pick: The largest box (trailer frame pieces) was originally constructed with staples. Somehwere along the way, the staples came loose and the box was repaired with regular clear plastic tape. By the time it got to me, the tape (not made for heavyweight shipments) was falling apart where it was taped. A piece of packgin material must have fallen out and frame members started rubbing against each other, ripping the Malone label on one side. Fortunately, no pieces were missing and Malone is replacing the label, but a box like this should be repaired with strapping tape, new staples or heavy duty fiber tape. Boxes had to go from Malone in Maine to Austin in TX, then to me in NC, so somewhere in transshipment, someone did the wrong thing. Last note: Trailer tows like a dream, but if you're not an expert, practice backing up before you take it to the boat launch. Small movements of the steering wheel make for bigger movements on a shorter trailer.
Reviewer:
Rick p.
Rating:
5
Date:
5/8/2017
Review:
After rigging my predator was getting a little heavy for the truck rack. Bought this trailer to resolve that issue. Quality product and nice looking. The telescoping tongue saves a lot of space in the garage and you can it up on end easily if needed. Assembly was not difficult though photos in the direction didn't always match the model. I spent around four hours to put together by myself. No missing or damaged parts. Pulls well. I would recommend any one in need a a small trailer to haul a couple of kayaks or canoes. Would purchase again from ACK.
Reviewer:
Kenneth P.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/9/2017
Review:
If ACK will assemble it in Austin for your pickup there, go for it. It took probably ten hours, half of that with two people to get it done. The printed instructions are good, but the color instructions will eliminate questions about wiring. The retractable tongue came damaged and a replacement came quickly. The trailer weight over springs seemed to handle highway speeds well.
Reviewer:
Mike Mooney
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2016
Review:
This is a good little trailer kit for light canoes and kayaks. it assembles very quickly and the instructions were easily followed and logical to me. The materials used in the fabrication process are more that adequate. I bought this trailer for Predator 13. I have pulled the trailer up to 70 MPH and had no tracking issues. The axle mounts far to the rear of the trailer so tracking problems are eliminated. I was missing one of the fender mounting brackets which was sent to me from Malone after I contacted ACK. I made a temporary bracket patterned after the ones I received and used it until I received the missing part. As usual ACK was exceptional in sales and support.
Reviewer:
Shane Mather
Rating:
5
Date:
10/30/2015
Review:
I am very happy with the trailer. It tracks well and works well. I got it because can be tipped up against a wall for storage. The assembly instructions were poor, but once put together, it was great.
Reviewer:
Robert O.
Rating:
5
Date:
10/24/2015
Review:
Great trailer! Good looking, functional, well built (including my part! & durable. It took a few hours to build but good instructions, no missing parts so no problems. Took my Malone rooftop carriers off SUV & put them on trailer making loading much easier. Won't have to carry our step ladder on trips anymore.
Reviewer:
Edward F.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/26/2015
Review:
I did a lot of research before setting my mind on the Malone trailer. Very good quality, easy assembly. I went with the aluminum wheels and fenders and the retractable tongue. The wrong box of wheels were shipped, but ACK figured it all out and sent the correct ones. Overall i am very happy with this purchase. As always ACK provides the best prices and service.
Reviewer:
J Williams
Rating:
5
Date:
4/14/2015
Review:
Have yet to use on the road but assembly was relatively easy. Instructions are good for the most part but more direction on where, specifically, washers were to be placed would be helpful. Wiring needs to be better protected from the elements (maybe by adding a length of clear plastic tubing to the kit) and I did need to add a few cable ties to ensure wires stayed in position. I substituted my longer Thule bars to hold two 38" wide touring canoes. I gave consideration in my buying decision to the fact that all my Thule fittings worked on the stock Malone bar, it just was not long enough to hold the two wider canoes. Still working on fitting these length-wise (both are 17 ft long) and I may need to move the front bar forward along the tongue to minimize rear overhang. I will be checking with Malone to obtain their suggestions. Overall, a very nice trailer at a competitive price.
Reviewer:
Fred D.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/10/2014
Review:
Malone sport trailer. Have used this for the past 3 or 4 months. Very good running especially on freeway. I go down I-40 and I-30 a lot and it trailers good. Today I used it on a very bumpy dirt road and it handled real good. No complaints. Well worth the money. Getting up in years and really don't like picking a 100 lb. kayak over my head.
Reviewer:
Fred
Rating:
5
Date:
9/30/2014
Review:
Great little trailer, good instructions, easy assembly, all parts fit very well. First trip with 2 kayaks around 700 miles, I noticed grease flecks all over the inside of the right side wheel. Immediately called ACK. I was told to send a picture and they would submit it to Malone and if they determined that it was a warranty issue, I would be sent the appropriate part. I found a good, local trailer repair shop and had the seal replaced and had the other side checked. I know not to drive with an axle seal leaking, causes either seizing of the bearing or a grease fire. Needless to say, I am a little disappointed with this supposed warranty, I could not drive home 700 miles to await a part without incurring further damage. This does not affect my rating of the trailer, I know that parts can fail. I highly recommend this trailer, just make sure you're at home if you have a warranty issue.
ACK's Response:
Please contact us and we will see about compensating you for the cost of repair in lieu of being able to send you a new part.
<<  <  1       >>
Live Chat