Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140 Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140 Kayak Product Details.
Looking for a package deal? Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140 Kayak Package available at great savings !
$1,169.00
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.3 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
SteveM
Rating:
4
Date:
11/22/2013
Review:
I recently bought this kayak from Austin Kayak from their Austin store out of their rental fleet (I guess they swap out the boats yearly with newer models). I bought the boat at a nearly 50% discount, and other than a few scratches the boat is in great condition (and I got the factory warranty). I have added a rudder (installed by ACK for free because I bought the boat from them), I could not be happier with the money spent and how much value I am getting out of it. Now on to the review: Pros: 1. The boat is very fast and easy to handle. Even without the rudder, it tracks very very well, (compared to cheap "recreational" kayaks or my Ocean Kayak Torque/Trident 13). 2. The boat is quite well-made. This model is the polyethylene, lesser cost version (Wilderness makes the same boat out of composite materials at a greater cost/weight) version. Both the fore and aft compartments are large and watertight (tested by filling the cockpit with water). Everything is conveniently placed as with most sea kayaks with all the appropriate lines (for paddle float re- entry/safety) and deck bungees. 3. The seat is simply amazing! It is the "phase 3 pro air" made by Wilderness systems and is fully adjustable and positioned well to keep puddling water from soaking your posterior. The seat alone is probably worth what I paid for the boat. If you have the opportunity, sit in one of these in the showroom, and you will feel the difference. The seat also "breathes" to allow air flow under and behind so the experience is not a sticky, sweaty mess in warmer weather as is common with neoprene style seats. 4. This boat is a real touring sea kayak evidenced by the sealed compartments. Granted, it is on the lower end of the spectrum in terms of cost, but i would feel as comfortable in this kayak far from shore (ocean) as any kayak costing many time the price. 5. The boat is very light (about 40lbs) and easy to load ,especially compared with my angling kayak. 6. Stable. This kayak is difficult to turn over. This stability probably comes at a price in performance, but as this is my first seak kayak, this is a desirable thing. WIlderness makes two more expensive series (Focus and Zephyr) of sea kayaks that presumably have faster hull speeds, but are less stable. Cons (not big things, but worth noting): 1. The hatch seals can be difficult to close completely. They are press on, and care must be taken to fully seal all 360 degrees of the circular covers. Also, for cartop or trailer travel you will want these completely sealed. The hatch covers are leashed to the boat, but it seems possible that these could break loose in a strong wind (such as 70 mph driving down the road) if not properly sealed. 2. As noted above, this is not the fastest hull type, but I opted for stability vs speed.
Reviewer:
Roger
Rating:
5
Date:
10/5/2012
Review:
I just purchased a Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140. While I havent used it yet and probably wont until the spring, I am very impressed with the quality of the kayak. I also was very satisfied with Austin Canoe & Kayak..their sales people, the price, shipping cost and delivery time. My kayak arrived in perfect shape. I will definitely buy from them in the future
Reviewer:
Bob
Rating:
4
Date:
5/23/2012
Review:
We finally got the kayaks wet last weekend and they handled very well. We paddled for the better part of two hours on a calm lake and the boats were pretty darn fast and easy to steer. It took about 30 minutes of use before we had the seats trimmed correctly and after that they were very comfortable for each of us, despite a significant difference in posterior size. These are the first kayaks weve actually owned and Im looking forward to next weekend. Were actually thinking of buying two more for company to use. I almost gave a 5-Star Rating but I didnt have a lot of experience in other boats to compare to.
Reviewer:
Jeff
Rating:
4
Date:
2/7/2012
Review:
I bought this kayak for a 7 day 100+ mile trip down the Buffalo River Arkansas in January. I'm 6'3" and 220 lbs, and the kayak fit me perfectly. I didn't get the rudder, and was glad as it did a great job of tracking straight. There was plenty of space in the boat for me and my gear. The bow had enough room for a weeks worth of food, a spare paddle, and fishing gear. The rear hatch had my tent, sleeping bag, air matress, clothes, and kitchen items. I bought a deck bag for the camera gear and little stuff. The seat was amazingly comfortable. Due to winter, I wore a wetsuit, and was plenty warm. The boat handled great in the mild white water, and could get up to some pretty decent speeds with not too much effort. The staff at the Houston ACK was amazing. They spend a great deal of time with me making sure I had the right gear and that everything fit properly before the trip. The only reason for the 4/5 stars, is that the height adjustable seat broke on the second day. It didn't affect the trip, but that seems like a weak design. I'm going to take the boat in this weekend to get it fixed.
Reviewer:
Gromulus
Rating:
4
Date:
7/9/2010
Review:
Being relatively novice/intermediate kayakers, we were looking for 14 - 15 foot models that would provide a good balance of initial and secondary stability, comfort, and good cargo capacity for our frequent camping trips. We purchased the 140 for my wife and the 145 model for me. The cockpit of the 140 is a great fit for my wife, especially after installing the Harmony hip pads which provide a customized fit and offer better control.The Phase3 system is very adjustable and comfortable. I may even replace the high back seat with a backband for easier rescues and rolling scenarios. We also had the rudders installed by Austin and these have come in handy in rough conditions and helps keep my wife happy on longer paddles! A great choice for most of the paddling we do (rivers, inland lakes, and protected Great lakes areas). These models track very well (even without the rudder) and are reasonably manueverable. A great choice for the novice and intermediate paddler. We almost bought rec boats (Pungo 140, etc) but were glad we went with these light touring boats for their greater versatility and safety features (two bulkheads, perimeter lines, etc). Austin has the best price on these models and provides fast and low cost shipping. See Kate with any questions or issues and you cannot go wrong!
Reviewer:
Tyler
Rating:
3
Date:
5/5/2010
Review:
The Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140 Kayak is great. I'm 6'2 200# and it goes good I just wish I bought a longer one. I think this is going to be given to my girlfriend because I just bought a Hurricane Tracer 165.
Reviewer:
ordinaryguy
Rating:
5
Date:
1/14/2010
Review:
Oops, forgot to mention, I am 6'1", about 180 lbs, and this boat fits me perfectly - cockpit is roomy and fairly easy for an old guy to get in and out of, without needing a tent-sized spray skirt. I added a pair of hip pads to fit a little tighter for more control, but other than that it's a great fit for my size.
Reviewer:
ordinaryguy
Rating:
5
Date:
1/14/2010
Review:
I have had this Wilderness Systems Tsunami 140 Kayak out on Lake Travis on a holiday weekend, in the open water, with gigantic boat wakes and chop to contend with, and while it felt very lively, I never felt like I was going to roll. It moves nicely through the water, and the storage is fine for day trips - cooler, clothing, food, etc. I added the smart-trak rudder, as it tended to point into any significant wind without one. Love the smart-trak pedal system, by the way. Solid foot rests, and you steer with your toes, unlike the push-pull of the Wilderness rudder pedals. I added a Seal Line deck bag for essentials, and with a spray skirt there's no where I wouldn't paddle this boat. Even without the skirt, I've never taken in more water than my big sponge could handle. It's a little heavy to carry by myself, but I did get into this for some exercise. She glides well, and 14ft is a reasonable compromise for speed versus being too long to carry, store, etc. This is my favorite yak, out of the four that I own.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.196.206.80 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat