FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Thule Stacker 830 Kayak Rack - Product Reviews
Return to Thule Stacker 830 Kayak Rack Product Details.
$159.95
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Melissa
Rating:
3
Date:
6/6/2013
Review:
This seemed like a more economical investment than the traditional U racks, but they aren't ideal. After a few trials and tribulations, we made them work, but would recommend the additional cradles for the racks for better stability which, unfortunately, will add to the cost.
Reviewer:
Great lower priced altern
Rating:
4
Date:
3/14/2012
Review:
Lets face it, Kayak racks are expensive. The stacker seems to have the most value though. Other more expensive models can usually only hold one kayak. This past weekend I had four up on my roof thanks to this. Its simple, looks good, folds, and is tough. Also comes with a fantastic set of tie down straps that blow other generic ones away, as well as ratcheting bow/stern ropes. The ratcheting part makes everything so much easier. 4 out of 5 stars only because you need two tie downs for each kayak you are mounting, no option to lock the stacker to your bars with a key/lock system, and you have to have some sort of foam/pad on the racks if you don't want the sides of the kayaks scuffed. All and all I'm pretty happy with it seeing as I was originally going to spend over $250 on rack/mounts.
Reviewer:
Dick
Rating:
5
Date:
11/16/2011
Review:
The Thule Stacker is one of the most versitile kayak carriers available today and a great value when compared to other products on the market. This carrier can be installed on virtually any size crossbar up to 3 1/2 inches wide, even if the crossbar is homemade. If the #6 metric carriage bolts supplied with the product are not long enough to fit your aftermarket or homemade crossbar, longer metric bolts up to 4 inches can be purchased at most hardware stores, or 1/4 inch bolts and wingnuts of the appropriate length can be substituted. I use two sets of The Stacker on my pickup truck to haul 3 kayaks in the bed. The boats rest on 2 inch wide metal crossbars and are mounted on their side. Works great. Love the product!!!
Reviewer:
Pampered
Rating:
3
Date:
7/31/2011
Review:
this product works great, however there are some things that we do not like about it. First off, it does not come with the foam blocks to help protect the vehichle and kayak. Also, it only comes with enough straps to tie down ONE kayak, when i called about what type of rack system was the best to purchase for multiple kayaks, the sales person i spoke with recommended this one but did not SUGGESTIVE SALE the additional straps or the pads...if he would have we probably would have purchased them as well. this is a system that is designed for mulitple kayaks however will only transport ONE if ordered as liested and shipped. Now we have had to purchase another set of straps and tie downs.
Reviewer:
BIG AL
Rating:
5
Date:
10/27/2010
Review:
I bought the Stacker to haul my Tarpon 120 and my wife's Redfish SOT kayaks. It was super easy to install on my Honda Pilot. After the 4 hour trip in high winds the yaks didn't move at all and the ride was great. I used my own ratchet straps along with the two that came with the rack for a peace of mind. Just don't over tighten!
Reviewer:
salt warrior
Rating:
5
Date:
10/15/2010
Review:
I damaged the hull of my first kayak with ratchet straps. The good folks at Bass Pro let me return it and I didn't want to damage my new one. It was Wednesday and I had a fishing trip that weekend. Austin Kayak shipped free ground from Austin and I got it in two days. The rack works great. The only hard part is lifting my yak after fishing all day. It saves me gas being more aerodynamic. It works great.
Reviewer:
Ljaxn
Rating:
5
Date:
9/29/2010
Review:
Great roof rack, very sturdy and holds my two Ocean Frenzy kayaks safely in place for the ride to the lake. The best part is they're a snap to take on and off so they don't get stolen while you're out enjoying the day on the water. I put a couple of strips of duct tape on the load bars on either side of the uprights so it's easy to place them correctly each time I put them on...saves time!
Reviewer:
Rick
Rating:
5
Date:
8/9/2010
Review:
Excellent service and product. Took two kayaks to Quetico Park Canada from Kentucky and they never moved from where I put them. Looking forward to next years trip!!!
Reviewer:
Wayne
Rating:
4
Date:
6/3/2010
Review:
Kayaks stacked very well and were stable in winds on highway. I have two SOT yaks and wind resistance was my big problem. The design calls for the top of the yak to face outwards for stability. SI yaks would have lower wind resistance.
Reviewer:
fgoetz
Rating:
5
Date:
5/30/2010
Review:
ACK provided great service; communicated a potential delay (voice and email) for one of the ordered racks (also offering to delay, allow me to cancel, etc.). Delay was less than 2 days; arrived promptly. The Thule Stacker is easy to install and works great (used them yesterday)! ACK is wonderful to deal with.
Reviewer:
David Castle
Rating:
5
Date:
5/15/2010
Review:
This is an excellent rack that worked just as advertised. It attached perfectly to my factory rack on my 2004 Ford Expedition.
Reviewer:
April Hanna
Rating:
5
Date:
8/28/2009
Review:
The Thule Stacker is a wonderful carrier. My husband and I have taken 3 trips with the kayaks and have had safe and secure traveling. Wonderful for two kayaks and even holds my husbands fishing poles. Worth the money.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:23.20.50.20 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat