Hobie Mirage Sail Kit - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Mirage Sail Kit Product Details.
$369.00
Size/Color*:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Beach Lover
Rating:
5
Date:
12/2/2009
Review:
I love this sail! It fits well with my Hobie Kayak and on a beautiful day with a little breeze, it's awesome! Thanks ACK!!!
Reviewer:
tono
Rating:
5
Date:
11/19/2009
Review:
Hobie designers really know the dynamics of kayak sailing. No other company does it.With my revolution kayak...I added this sail package..and runs perfect.No need to add extra rudder.The ama kit does help to protect against capsize...!!
Reviewer:
Gerry P.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/6/2009
Review:
Extremely pleased wit my Hobie Mirage Sail Kit. Ecellent service and a great product. Total satisfaction.
Reviewer:
Microboater
Rating:
4
Date:
9/2/2009
Review:
Caveat: I'm no sailer. My experience with an Oasis tandem: Would be fun if you are sailing in an area with light, very steady winds. But there seems to be no practical way to furl the sail once the winds (and waves) get too high (don't even think about trying to take down the mast in windy conditions at sea), so you are left with a choice of either sailing way too fast for conditions and heeling too much and risking capsize, or letting go of the control line and having a wildly flapping sail. If I were to get serious about using this on the Oasis, I would get the amas (outriggers).
Reviewer:
Pete California
Rating:
5
Date:
8/24/2009
Review:
I used the sail kit on East Park Res. in Ca. I had light winds for several day and one afternoon I got 15mph winds. I had a lot of fun with waves coming up over the bow. I also added the outriggers. They're great. I adjusted them up to get some lean. They make the boat very stable.
Reviewer:
terasawa
Rating:
5
Date:
1/29/2009
Review:
Perfect!
Reviewer:
dmae
Rating:
4
Date:
9/30/2008
Review:
We just got back from St. Simon's Island and we used the sail on our tandem Mirage. It was fun, but we found out that you really need the larger sized rudder. So if you order the sail, order the rudder at the same time and you'll have more success with the sail. We can't wait to try out the new rudder! Have fun!
Reviewer:
Dan S
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2008
Review:
Easy to use, very fun to sail. Sets up quickly.
Reviewer:
N. Dakota Kayak
Rating:
4
Date:
6/27/2008
Review:
Another option to play with and it works well. North Dakota can get winding and caught me by surprise 4 times and I went over. I bought the Side-Kick to help me and have not went over since.
Reviewer:
Da Kaya King
Rating:
5
Date:
11/18/2007
Review:
$5.00 in pvc pipe and fittings to make a boom and $90.00 for the st turbo conversion and viola... a pocket sail boat worth braggin' about. I have an outfitter fish that sails quietly (thanks to my plumbing skills...the boom), is so beyond stable, and has storage to hold a 12 pack. lol. I love being Da Kaya king
Reviewer:
Sue KC MO
Rating:
5
Date:
9/20/2007
Review:
Surprised that it sails as well as it does. I use it in the more inaccessible areas of the lake where my larger sailboat will not sail. Stows easily when changing to pedaling or paddling.
Reviewer:
chaz s/v Sunseeker
Rating:
5
Date:
9/14/2007
Review:
I was anchored in Banks Channel, Wrightsville Beach, N.C. A couple on a Maine Cat had this sail on a kayak. They took turns cruising all over the bay all morning, going everywhere with a strong current. No gas burned. No norwegian steam(paddling) needed. Sweet. I have to have.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:23.21.23.126 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat