Home > Kayaking > Hobie Accessories > Hobie Mirage Sail Kit
Hobie Mirage Sail Kit
$376.00
 
Hobie Mirage Sail Kit
$376.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The Hobie Kayak sail is an awesome way to give the arms and legs a rest. Sailing your hobie kayak is just plain fun and we recommend this for all of the Hobie users.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Harold L.
Rating:
4
Date:
7/27/2015
Review:
Used the sail on my hobie revolution 11 with sidekick outriggers and worked great in strong winds. Only draw back is the noise the sail makes when unfurled and slack...
Reviewer:
Michael Harris
Rating:
5
Date:
5/13/2015
Review:
The sail is awesome. It performs very well, even for non sailors.
Reviewer:
James H.
Rating:
5
Date:
1/24/2015
Review:
Customer service was outstanding and it was shipped fast. Haven't had a chance to try it out yet.
Reviewer:
BuzzMiDa
Rating:
5
Date:
5/19/2014
Review:
This setup is really fun. Got the big rudder and sidekicks before going out the first time. No wind! Peddled around all morning. On third "sail," wind kicked up quite a bit after in the water and I was really glad I had the "training wheels" on. My power boat takes about $100 in gas each time, but with my kayak/sail boat I can enjoy the water without fuel. I don't think I'll do much fishing with the sail up, though, but it is great fun riding the wind.
Reviewer:
ksawyer
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2013
Review:
Added oversized rudder and turbo fins, and found noticeable improvement in kayak handling while under sail.
Reviewer:
K Sawyer
Rating:
4
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
Easy to use and works as advertised. Hardly turns the kayak into a sailboat, but lots of fun. Highly recommend AMA sidekick be utilized to prevent capsizing in stiff breezes.
Reviewer:
Mr. Satisfied !
Rating:
5
Date:
9/27/2012
Review:
Quick & very reasonable shipping. Sail is a fun addition.
Reviewer:
South fl
Rating:
5
Date:
8/20/2012
Review:
This makes a hobie kayak even more perfect. A must have. This place has the newest edition. They must sell alot and have new stock.
Reviewer:
frank-lawler@ouhsc.edu
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2012
Review:
As a sailor new to kayaking and rather lazy to boot, the sail has been a lot of fun. I would advise people not to use it in winds over 10 mph. I have been playing with the foot pedals while sailing; there is a lot of leeway with the pedals split and the fins up. There is a bit of weather helm it wants to come up into the wind, which is probably a good thing. Overall it is a lot of fun and appears to have a lot of thought put into it.
Reviewer:
Stephen
Rating:
5
Date:
7/30/2012
Review:
A great introduction to the fun of sailing. Easy to use for a novice and lots of fun. Couldnt be happier with this purchase made from Austin Canoe and Kayak.
Reviewer:
Captain Jim
Rating:
4
Date:
4/29/2012
Review:
I use the sail on a Mirage Sport - works great. I made a furler for it, using some PVC and line; with that, I can furl the sail when the wind kicks up. The furled sail does make for some windage, though. Adding a caribeaner to the aft padeye makes the line move easier. I havent been able to rig the sail on the water maybe a function of old age and being less nimble, so the furler helps. The pedals in the mid position act like a daggerboard. Not a speedster, but it works.
Reviewer:
Conrad
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2012
Review:
The sail is easy to set up and is a great alternative out on the lake. I do suggest changing out to a longer rudder when using the sail.
<<  <  1         >>
Live chat by BoldChat