Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Hobie Accessories > Hobie Mirage Sail Kit
Hobie Mirage Sail Kit
$376.00
 
Hobie Mirage Sail Kit
$376.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The Hobie Kayak sail is an awesome way to give the arms and legs a rest. Sailing your hobie kayak is just plain fun and we recommend this for all of the Hobie users.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
BuzzMiDa
Rating:
5
Date:
5/19/2014
Review:
This setup is really fun. Got the big rudder and sidekicks before going out the first time. No wind! Peddled around all morning. On third "sail," wind kicked up quite a bit after in the water and I was really glad I had the "training wheels" on. My power boat takes about $100 in gas each time, but with my kayak/sail boat I can enjoy the water without fuel. I don't think I'll do much fishing with the sail up, though, but it is great fun riding the wind.
Reviewer:
ksawyer
Rating:
5
Date:
8/11/2013
Review:
Added oversized rudder and turbo fins, and found noticeable improvement in kayak handling while under sail.
Reviewer:
K Sawyer
Rating:
4
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
Easy to use and works as advertised. Hardly turns the kayak into a sailboat, but lots of fun. Highly recommend AMA sidekick be utilized to prevent capsizing in stiff breezes.
Reviewer:
Mr. Satisfied !
Rating:
5
Date:
9/27/2012
Review:
Quick & very reasonable shipping. Sail is a fun addition.
Reviewer:
South fl
Rating:
5
Date:
8/20/2012
Review:
This makes a hobie kayak even more perfect. A must have. This place has the newest edition. They must sell alot and have new stock.
Reviewer:
frank-lawler@ouhsc.edu
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2012
Review:
As a sailor new to kayaking and rather lazy to boot, the sail has been a lot of fun. I would advise people not to use it in winds over 10 mph. I have been playing with the foot pedals while sailing; there is a lot of leeway with the pedals split and the fins up. There is a bit of weather helm it wants to come up into the wind, which is probably a good thing. Overall it is a lot of fun and appears to have a lot of thought put into it.
Reviewer:
Stephen
Rating:
5
Date:
7/30/2012
Review:
A great introduction to the fun of sailing. Easy to use for a novice and lots of fun. Couldnt be happier with this purchase made from Austin Canoe and Kayak.
Reviewer:
Captain Jim
Rating:
4
Date:
4/29/2012
Review:
I use the sail on a Mirage Sport - works great. I made a furler for it, using some PVC and line; with that, I can furl the sail when the wind kicks up. The furled sail does make for some windage, though. Adding a caribeaner to the aft padeye makes the line move easier. I havent been able to rig the sail on the water maybe a function of old age and being less nimble, so the furler helps. The pedals in the mid position act like a daggerboard. Not a speedster, but it works.
Reviewer:
Conrad
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2012
Review:
The sail is easy to set up and is a great alternative out on the lake. I do suggest changing out to a longer rudder when using the sail.
Reviewer:
JT
Rating:
5
Date:
11/26/2011
Review:
The sail performs better than expected. Wish it were 30 sq.ft. vs 20.5 sq.ft. Sail has been used in 20+ mph winds with excellent handling. No complaints.
Reviewer:
Gordon
Rating:
3
Date:
8/22/2011
Review:
The sail works pretty well. I was expecting that it would only be useful downwind, but it works surprisingly well to windward (I didn't imagine that I could keep a kayak from capsizing while going to windward). The mirage drive works well as a centerboard. I am working on figuring out how to rig the sheet so it works satisfactorily.
Reviewer:
old lady kayaker
Rating:
5
Date:
8/10/2011
Review:
works better than I thought it would. Lots of fun. Rigged a self furler for it so it can stay stepped even if not in use or easy to furl if wind is too strong.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.235.29.110 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat