Home > Kayaking > Hobie Accessories > Hobie Mirage Kayak Sail Kit

Hobie Mirage Kayak Sail Kit

$379.00
 
Hobie Mirage Kayak Sail Kit
$379.00

In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!

ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The Hobie Kayak sail is an awesome way to give the arms and legs a rest. Sailing your hobie kayak is just plain fun and we recommend this for all of the Hobie users.
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Stephen
Rating:
5
Date:
7/30/2012
Review:
A great introduction to the fun of sailing. Easy to use for a novice and lots of fun. Couldnt be happier with this purchase made from Austin Canoe and Kayak.
Reviewer:
Captain Jim
Rating:
4
Date:
4/29/2012
Review:
I use the sail on a Mirage Sport - works great. I made a furler for it, using some PVC and line; with that, I can furl the sail when the wind kicks up. The furled sail does make for some windage, though. Adding a caribeaner to the aft padeye makes the line move easier. I havent been able to rig the sail on the water maybe a function of old age and being less nimble, so the furler helps. The pedals in the mid position act like a daggerboard. Not a speedster, but it works.
Reviewer:
Conrad
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2012
Review:
The sail is easy to set up and is a great alternative out on the lake. I do suggest changing out to a longer rudder when using the sail.
Reviewer:
JT
Rating:
5
Date:
11/26/2011
Review:
The sail performs better than expected. Wish it were 30 sq.ft. vs 20.5 sq.ft. Sail has been used in 20+ mph winds with excellent handling. No complaints.
Reviewer:
Gordon
Rating:
3
Date:
8/22/2011
Review:
The sail works pretty well. I was expecting that it would only be useful downwind, but it works surprisingly well to windward (I didn't imagine that I could keep a kayak from capsizing while going to windward). The mirage drive works well as a centerboard. I am working on figuring out how to rig the sheet so it works satisfactorily.
Reviewer:
old lady kayaker
Rating:
5
Date:
8/10/2011
Review:
works better than I thought it would. Lots of fun. Rigged a self furler for it so it can stay stepped even if not in use or easy to furl if wind is too strong.
Reviewer:
RobertD
Rating:
3
Date:
7/13/2011
Review:
The sail is great, but there's not enought hardware to use it. I had to buy a cleat at a hardware store. ACK is great with service and shipping.
Reviewer:
pcb
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2011
Review:
Great addition to Hobie Revolution. A lot of fun.
Reviewer:
william hutto
Rating:
5
Date:
12/1/2010
Review:
The sail kit was complete and worked like it was supposed to. I sailed 9 miles thanksgiving day.
Reviewer:
Rick T
Rating:
5
Date:
11/25/2010
Review:
After reading the reviews I ordered the sail kit and it has been nothing but fun. So glad I got it. I found the stock rudder not able to steer the Outback in certain windy conditions so ordered the larger one and it solved the steering problems. Highly recommend both.
Reviewer:
Elisa cuevas
Rating:
5
Date:
10/7/2010
Review:
bucket of fun
Reviewer:
kllrbluz
Rating:
5
Date:
7/30/2010
Review:
The Hobie Mirage Sail Kit is awesome; as per usual, Hobie thinks of everything! It's easy to set up, take down, and doesn't require much of a breeze to maneuver. ACK is exceptional in its service. My order was processed faster than I think I have ever experienced before by any merchant. I placed my order Tuesday and was sailing in Virginia on Saturday. Thank you ACK!
Live Chat