Home > Kayaking > Kayak Fishing Gear > Outriggers & Live Wells > Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$176.00
 
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$176.00
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Easy on and easy off the Hobie AMA outrigger it is perfect for the klutz in me. I love fly fishing but to really enjoy it I need to be able to stand up in my kayak. That didn't happen till now.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Benji663
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2009
Review:
I bought the outrigger kit for my wife's W.S. Pungo 120. The kit was easy to install. After a brief paddle on a local lake in Maryland, we took the kayaks on vacation to Kelley's Island in Lake Erie. The waters of Lake Erie are notorious for their unpredictability and can get rough in minutes. The outriggers gave my wife the stability she needed to feel comfortable even in the 1 to 2 ft. waves we encountered the first day. I'm sure they'll do just as well on the Maine coast in September. The only downside I found was that the support bars made me feel as though I had to be more careful when lifting the kayak onto the roof rack. I was always afraid of scratching the vehicle. I solved the problem by cutting holes in a couple of tennis balls and placing them on the ends of the outrigger support bar. I'd certainly recommend this product to anyone who wants or needs more stability, either for peace of mind or for fishing. Very nice.
Reviewer:
gary in staten island
Rating:
5
Date:
10/11/2008
Review:
I have a 15 ft. homemade tandem canoe that prior to installing the sidekick was pretty hairy on the bay,now is a completely stable. My son and I are enjoying this boat the way i imagined we would . The fishing is great! Cant wait to see how it handles when I put the sail on. Thumbs up to anyone who's thinking of purchasing this product. Thanks again, look forward to doing more business with you.
Reviewer:
cty
Rating:
5
Date:
8/25/2008
Review:
Works great when fishing at a bit rough sea. Only one suggestion: I used it on my Hobie Sport and I could not find a location behind the seat where the mount brackets would not hinder the joint holes if I installed it evenly in the center. So I had to install the center bar toward one of the sides. This problem can be resolved if Hobie can develop a length-adjustable center bar.
Reviewer:
Brad in Tampa, FL
Rating:
5
Date:
8/21/2008
Review:
These are great for fly fishing the flats. I can get a lot more distance on my cast now that I can stand up comfortably. I installed them on a non-Hobie kayak and I would imagine they would work on most others.
Reviewer:
N. Dakota Kayak
Rating:
5
Date:
7/16/2008
Review:
A must have if your sailing. It add balance, which is great when young kids want to play on your kayak.
Reviewer:
Leo in Phoenix, AZ
Rating:
5
Date:
1/6/2008
Review:
I love this store and the 2 sets of outriggers. Now I can stay on top/inside of my yaks. Hope to use often this Spring/Summer. They are lightweight, easy to inflate and assemble, meaning less bulk to transport. BUY, you will not be disappointed.
Reviewer:
Great Product
Rating:
5
Date:
7/13/2007
Review:
Works great under sail or when fishing. Can't let the big one get away and this helps you keep your balance when the ocean gets a little untamed!
Reviewer:
billy buckets
Rating:
5
Date:
6/24/2007
Review:
Recently modified a Romany Explorer with the sidekick and a downwind sail. Great results after easy installation.Rec'd the sidekick in three days...Nice doing business with you Austin Canoe and Kayak..
Reviewer:
Rob Johnson
Rating:
5
Date:
6/19/2007
Review:
Delivery to the UK was 7 days. Fitted it to my Islander kayak in 15 mins easily.I think it would fit to almost any kayak quite easily. Performance is exactly as advertised, and I would give good reports to anyone who wants to know about its performance and quality. Probably the biggest difference its made to my Islander is it will now "sail" with a Primax downwind sail, and I can stand up on the kayak to "fish".
Reviewer:
Tomboy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/15/2007
Review:
I love it. I am able to sight fish the flats with fly rod and not worry about falling out. I feel 100% safer and more comfortable now.
Reviewer:
Damien
Rating:
5
Date:
6/11/2007
Review:
These things are great! We installed them on a tandem and have loved them ever since. In the full down position the two of us can stand up and stretch our legs. Also if you have a sail kit these are a must. We maintained a speed of 4.5 mph thanks to these babies. If you are unsure, get them. Theya are so easy to put on and take off, even on the water, that there is no reason not to get them.
<<      4    >  >>
Live chat by BoldChat