Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit Product Details.
$173.00
Size/Color*:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
keith
Rating:
5
Date:
10/21/2009
Review:
The Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit add great stability to the Adventure. It's skinny but fast. Need to get the adapter plate for easiest installment (just for the adventure). 3 adjustments. A good buy for safety and security.
Reviewer:
Pablo
Rating:
5
Date:
9/24/2009
Review:
Easy purchase online
Reviewer:
Arrowbear Bill
Rating:
5
Date:
8/31/2009
Review:
I recently purchased a Hobie Mirage Adventure kayak. With the large rear cargo area I thought I could carry my wife in back so we could ride tandem. Although this is not recommended we tried it anyway. I already had an extra seat that I installed for her but our first effort was a real challenge. The first problem was water coming in the scupper holes and filling up the cargo area making a wet ride for her and very unsteady ride for both of us. I went to Austin Kayak to see what they had to fix the problem. I purchased scupper stoppers to plug the holes and this Ama Outrigger kit to steady the ride. I ordered on a Friday and received this outrigger kit on Tuesday and hit the water with them Wednesday. They were very easy to install and look pretty cool on the kayak. With this outrigger kit plus the addition of the scupper stoppers and a nylon bag filled with about 30# of sand as ballast shoved in the nose of the kayak she was steady as a rock with my wife on board and sat very level in the water. This kayak has a load capacity of 350#. With my wife and myself and the sand bag ballast we were at the max. We cruised one of our local lakes for about 12 to 14 miles and had a great time and we are looking forward to many more trips together. This outrigger kit was the bomb and was the key to success in riding tandem. I was concerned that the pontoons may cause a drag in performance but whether riding single or double they skim over the water with ease and with no noticeable drag. Thanks again ACK for a great product at a great price and your fast free shipment. You are the best!
Reviewer:
Pete California
Rating:
5
Date:
8/24/2009
Review:
Love the Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit. Easy to install. Got them with the sail. I adjusted them up so I could get some lean while sailing. Only suggestion, put the valves back to weight the rear. When the valve was forward the pontoon rotated round and round leaving the pontoon upside down once and a while.
Reviewer:
Scared Straight
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2009
Review:
As a beginner kayak fisherman, I had the opportunity to experience a flip. It cost me tackle, glasses, fishing pole, and my fishing hat that had my license. That ended the day! Invested in the Hobie Sidekick and installed it onto my perception Kayak. Loved it so much, I bought one for my Prowler Big Game. Can you say, "Stable"? No interference and the best investment a rookie could make. Heck even an experienced person will feel more confident and comfortable. Now I'm fishing without flipping anxiety!
Reviewer:
Capt Tony
Rating:
5
Date:
7/22/2009
Review:
In past 7 years of deep sea fishing for king mackerel, Red Snapper, Sharks,etc. I have lost 2 nice rods and some tackle due to tip overs in rough sea. That's why I decided to give "Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit" a try for my Hobie Outback,now after installing it, I have been in 5 feet sea twice with these babies, and in the lake I was standing in my kayak and fishing without tipping over. Btw I like the adjustment on it, if you do not want any drag just adjust it up. A must have.
Reviewer:
Benji663
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2009
Review:
I bought the outrigger kit for my wife's W.S. Pungo 120. The kit was easy to install. After a brief paddle on a local lake in Maryland, we took the kayaks on vacation to Kelley's Island in Lake Erie. The waters of Lake Erie are notorious for their unpredictability and can get rough in minutes. The outriggers gave my wife the stability she needed to feel comfortable even in the 1 to 2 ft. waves we encountered the first day. I'm sure they'll do just as well on the Maine coast in September. The only downside I found was that the support bars made me feel as though I had to be more careful when lifting the kayak onto the roof rack. I was always afraid of scratching the vehicle. I solved the problem by cutting holes in a couple of tennis balls and placing them on the ends of the outrigger support bar. I'd certainly recommend this product to anyone who wants or needs more stability, either for peace of mind or for fishing. Very nice.
Reviewer:
gary in staten island
Rating:
5
Date:
10/11/2008
Review:
I have a 15 ft. homemade tandem canoe that prior to installing the sidekick was pretty hairy on the bay,now is a completely stable. My son and I are enjoying this boat the way i imagined we would . The fishing is great! Cant wait to see how it handles when I put the sail on. Thumbs up to anyone who's thinking of purchasing this product. Thanks again, look forward to doing more business with you.
Reviewer:
cty
Rating:
5
Date:
8/25/2008
Review:
Works great when fishing at a bit rough sea. Only one suggestion: I used it on my Hobie Sport and I could not find a location behind the seat where the mount brackets would not hinder the joint holes if I installed it evenly in the center. So I had to install the center bar toward one of the sides. This problem can be resolved if Hobie can develop a length-adjustable center bar.
Reviewer:
Brad in Tampa, FL
Rating:
5
Date:
8/21/2008
Review:
These are great for fly fishing the flats. I can get a lot more distance on my cast now that I can stand up comfortably. I installed them on a non-Hobie kayak and I would imagine they would work on most others.
Reviewer:
N. Dakota Kayak
Rating:
5
Date:
7/16/2008
Review:
A must have if your sailing. It add balance, which is great when young kids want to play on your kayak.
Reviewer:
Leo in Phoenix, AZ
Rating:
5
Date:
1/6/2008
Review:
I love this store and the 2 sets of outriggers. Now I can stay on top/inside of my yaks. Hope to use often this Spring/Summer. They are lightweight, easy to inflate and assemble, meaning less bulk to transport. BUY, you will not be disappointed.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.227.156.177 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat