Home > Kayaking > Kayak Fishing Gear > Outriggers & Live Wells > Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$176.00
 
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$176.00
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Easy on and easy off the Hobie AMA outrigger it is perfect for the klutz in me. I love fly fishing but to really enjoy it I need to be able to stand up in my kayak. That didn't happen till now.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
william hutto
Rating:
5
Date:
1/13/2011
Review:
What a genius invention. I don't sail anymore without them. They are so easy to set up and remove. If toledo bend lake gets to ruff I will put them on even when I am not sailing. Gusty wind while sailing is a problem no more. Its great the way the design lets you set them just above the water to reduce drag when they are not needed.
Reviewer:
John
Rating:
5
Date:
9/7/2010
Review:
Timing was perfect, no delays or problems! Everything came in as described online...
Reviewer:
DG
Rating:
1
Date:
7/28/2010
Review:
Too expensive!!!!
Reviewer:
Sean Moran
Rating:
5
Date:
7/7/2010
Review:
These things just work. Installation was simple, even for a klutz like me. I've not come close to tipping my Revolution since installation. I also use the sail and the outriggers work great to steady the boat. Only downside is that you cannot get into narrow channels with them. Small price to pay for stability. And Austin Kayak shipped fast, and had very fair price. Will do business again.
Reviewer:
Adventure Andy
Rating:
4
Date:
6/22/2010
Review:
I added this outrigger kit for additional stability while sailing and so I could attempt "stand-up" fishing in my Hobie Adventure. The installation onto the Adventure required the plate kit which works perfectly with the existing holes for the Island conversion kit. All other models will require four 3/8" holes for installation (not hard to do, but make sure you pick the right location, usually behind the seat). The inserts attatch via a spring loaded button that keeps the unit in place. The insert ends are plastic which may require some manual sanding to get a "perfect fit." Overall a much needed product if you want to sail aggressively in 15+ MPH conditions or fish standing up in the more narrow model kayaks.
Reviewer:
keith
Rating:
5
Date:
10/21/2009
Review:
The Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit add great stability to the Adventure. It's skinny but fast. Need to get the adapter plate for easiest installment (just for the adventure). 3 adjustments. A good buy for safety and security.
Reviewer:
Pablo
Rating:
5
Date:
9/24/2009
Review:
Easy purchase online
Reviewer:
Arrowbear Bill
Rating:
5
Date:
8/31/2009
Review:
I recently purchased a Hobie Mirage Adventure kayak. With the large rear cargo area I thought I could carry my wife in back so we could ride tandem. Although this is not recommended we tried it anyway. I already had an extra seat that I installed for her but our first effort was a real challenge. The first problem was water coming in the scupper holes and filling up the cargo area making a wet ride for her and very unsteady ride for both of us. I went to Austin Kayak to see what they had to fix the problem. I purchased scupper stoppers to plug the holes and this Ama Outrigger kit to steady the ride. I ordered on a Friday and received this outrigger kit on Tuesday and hit the water with them Wednesday. They were very easy to install and look pretty cool on the kayak. With this outrigger kit plus the addition of the scupper stoppers and a nylon bag filled with about 30# of sand as ballast shoved in the nose of the kayak she was steady as a rock with my wife on board and sat very level in the water. This kayak has a load capacity of 350#. With my wife and myself and the sand bag ballast we were at the max. We cruised one of our local lakes for about 12 to 14 miles and had a great time and we are looking forward to many more trips together. This outrigger kit was the bomb and was the key to success in riding tandem. I was concerned that the pontoons may cause a drag in performance but whether riding single or double they skim over the water with ease and with no noticeable drag. Thanks again ACK for a great product at a great price and your fast free shipment. You are the best!
Reviewer:
Pete California
Rating:
5
Date:
8/24/2009
Review:
Love the Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit. Easy to install. Got them with the sail. I adjusted them up so I could get some lean while sailing. Only suggestion, put the valves back to weight the rear. When the valve was forward the pontoon rotated round and round leaving the pontoon upside down once and a while.
Reviewer:
Scared Straight
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2009
Review:
As a beginner kayak fisherman, I had the opportunity to experience a flip. It cost me tackle, glasses, fishing pole, and my fishing hat that had my license. That ended the day! Invested in the Hobie Sidekick and installed it onto my perception Kayak. Loved it so much, I bought one for my Prowler Big Game. Can you say, "Stable"? No interference and the best investment a rookie could make. Heck even an experienced person will feel more confident and comfortable. Now I'm fishing without flipping anxiety!
Reviewer:
Capt Tony
Rating:
5
Date:
7/22/2009
Review:
In past 7 years of deep sea fishing for king mackerel, Red Snapper, Sharks,etc. I have lost 2 nice rods and some tackle due to tip overs in rough sea. That's why I decided to give "Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit" a try for my Hobie Outback,now after installing it, I have been in 5 feet sea twice with these babies, and in the lake I was standing in my kayak and fishing without tipping over. Btw I like the adjustment on it, if you do not want any drag just adjust it up. A must have.
Reviewer:
Benji663
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2009
Review:
I bought the outrigger kit for my wife's W.S. Pungo 120. The kit was easy to install. After a brief paddle on a local lake in Maryland, we took the kayaks on vacation to Kelley's Island in Lake Erie. The waters of Lake Erie are notorious for their unpredictability and can get rough in minutes. The outriggers gave my wife the stability she needed to feel comfortable even in the 1 to 2 ft. waves we encountered the first day. I'm sure they'll do just as well on the Maine coast in September. The only downside I found was that the support bars made me feel as though I had to be more careful when lifting the kayak onto the roof rack. I was always afraid of scratching the vehicle. I solved the problem by cutting holes in a couple of tennis balls and placing them on the ends of the outrigger support bar. I'd certainly recommend this product to anyone who wants or needs more stability, either for peace of mind or for fishing. Very nice.
Live chat by BoldChat