Home > Kayaking > Kayak Fishing Gear > Outriggers & Live Wells > Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit

Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit

$182.00
 
 
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$182.00

Ships in 1-2 Weeks - Expedited Shipping Not Available

ADDED TO WISH LIST
Ships in 1-2 Weeks - Expedited Shipping Not Available
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Easy on and easy off the Hobie AMA outrigger it is perfect for the klutz in me. I love fly fishing but to really enjoy it I need to be able to stand up in my kayak. That didn't happen till now.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Works Well
Rating:
4
Date:
9/18/2013
Review:
I bought these to stabilize my Hobie Oasis Kayak for when I'm using the sail. They do a nice job of giving the stability and confidence to use the sail in higher 10 mph winds.
Reviewer:
Tom
Rating:
5
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
The kit installs with no trouble except that the mounting bar attached to the kayak was too close to the kayak to release the buttons to rotate the pontoons. I bought 1/2 inch thick plastic spacers to raise the bar. The pontoons add a great degree of stability to the kayak. I am very pleased with the pontoon kit as installed, but think spacers to raise the bar attached to the kayak are in order. If I didn't like the pontoons so well I would not have given them a 5 stare for this reason.
Reviewer:
K Sawyer
Rating:
4
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
Easy to install and use. A useful accessory to hobe kayak sail kit and to stabilize kayak for stand up fishing.
Reviewer:
Muchatrucha
Rating:
5
Date:
7/11/2013
Review:
I bought these to replace my heavier Castle Craft Outriggers. These set up easily and give me the non-swamping feature I need when traveling with my Labrador. So far, so good.
Reviewer:
Problematic
Rating:
2
Date:
6/18/2013
Review:
Had problems on first real OTW use. Locking ? ferrule that fits into center bar came unglued. Was free turning OTW resulting in unbalanced kayak. Managed to get it temporarily set without splashing. Happened during tournament = not happy. Distance from kayak also interferes with paddle use. A safety hazard on surf launches and landings. Hobie needs to develop mini fishing version of AI outrigger for Revolution
Reviewer:
Pat Tuman
Rating:
5
Date:
5/2/2013
Review:
I found the Hobie AMA Outrigger kit to be easy to install and very helpful while sailing in windy conditions. It's stable and gives a secure feeling in the water. I especially want to thank the people at Austin Kayak for there quick response. I ordered the outrigger one day, and it was at my front door the next. Excellent job.
Reviewer:
StaPuft
Rating:
4
Date:
12/31/2012
Review:
Hobie Revo. Very easy to install. Installation was directly behind the seat with the included hardware (wellnuts). The amas do interfere with my natural paddle stroke, but the nice thing is that they are easily removed. I have only had the opportunity to test them out once and that was a very brief trial on calm waters. I stood up to see if I would be able to cast a lure in that position. So far "no" is my answer to that question. Maybe with some work on my balance and confidence it would be possible. I will update this review when I get some hours on the water. I do like the idea of backing plates and nuts rather than wellnuts. Am also looking forward to other reviewers' luck with the longer wellnuts. ACK is tops.
Reviewer:
bob
Rating:
1
Date:
9/30/2012
Review:
This product is made in china and guess what? it failed the first day on the water as the plastic connector became unglued.
Reviewer:
BluGillMan
Rating:
5
Date:
9/21/2012
Review:
Purchased two sets already heading for my 3rd set as soon as you get the new 2013 ocean Moken 14 kayaks on your site. Enough said about how good they are!!!
Reviewer:
Mary, Lake Geneva, WI
Rating:
5
Date:
8/20/2012
Review:
This product was easy to install and makes a tremendous difference in the stability of my Hobie Mirage Revolution when under sail.
Reviewer:
Hobie Dan
Rating:
5
Date:
8/8/2012
Review:
They work even better than expected. As with everything that I have bought made by Hobie the quality is good. The Sidekicks will make your sailing or fishing kayak a more pleasant experience.
Reviewer:
Asif
Rating:
4
Date:
8/1/2012
Review:
Hard to paddle in a dual person boat However great product. Great service from ACK would definitely buy from them again
Live Chat