Home > Kayaking > Kayak Fishing Gear > Outriggers & Live Wells > Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit

Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit

$182.00
 
 
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$182.00

In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next

ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Easy on and easy off the Hobie AMA outrigger it is perfect for the klutz in me. I love fly fishing but to really enjoy it I need to be able to stand up in my kayak. That didn't happen till now.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Benjamin F.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/19/2017
Review:
The only difficult part installing is positioning the holes. Then I used a rubber mallet to drive the rubber inserts with the screw extended. After that the rest is easy. And they actually work just like they should. Easy to inflate and install after the cross bar is in place. They give me confidence that the boat won't capsize in any reasonable wind condition. They are well worth the money.
Reviewer:
James Coyle
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2017
Review:
I bought this product for my Hobie oasis (tandem) Kayak. I wanted to launch from the beach with the reassurance of stability. First, this product was extremely easy to set up. My 15 year old was able to do it. Key was to buy the correct drill bit and hand tighten the lug nuts. Easy! We launched out at 3mph winds. Automatically felt the difference getting into the yak. We went out a few miles. Suddenly the weatger changed. The waves picked up and the water was rough. If it wasn't for this product, we wouldn't have stayed upright. Waves were crashing over our yak. We made it to shore and I counted my lucky stars. Despite feeling g like I was sure to flip. I never did. I owe that to this product. I couldn't rate this product high enough. What price can you put on safety? Recommend this to everyone.
Reviewer:
Wayne F.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/5/2017
Review:
I installed these on a Feel Free Lure 13.5 and they work great. I am 6' 2" and weigh 265 and can sit on the highest position of the seat and these things are rock solid. I did have to add some length to the mounting tube that I did by inserting an aluminum "coupling" in the middle of the tube to get the length I needed.
Reviewer:
Flint
Rating:
3
Date:
3/9/2017
Review:
These work very well but for a couple bladders and an aluminum tube they are way too expensive.
Reviewer:
6809 B.
Rating:
5
Date:
2/2/2017
Review:
Installed on my Hobie Mirage Oasis and it works great. Easy to install and very easy to store and deploy when needed. Would be nice if the came in Hobie colors......
Reviewer:
Joseph D.
Rating:
3
Date:
11/21/2016
Review:
Ama Outrigger kit, does not fit the Pro angler 12 where it instructs you to mount it. Right behind the seat. The surface is not flush with the gunwale. I had to mount mine further aft behind the rudder cover plate. I am not sure about the stability of mounting it further aft. However, to me ACK should have different thickness of mounting blocks to accommodate for the uneven surface behind the seats and gunwale.
Reviewer:
Jack B.
Rating:
5
Date:
10/17/2016
Review:
Excelent- does what we need it to do by making the sailing experience easier for the passengers.
Reviewer:
Hung L.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/30/2016
Review:
This AMA kit was meant for Hobie kayak but I was able to adapt for use on an Elie 12. Great stuff!
Reviewer:
Bob M
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2015
Review:
My wife and I have been sailing 2 Hobie REV 13 for 5 years. My wife decided to get the sidekicks this year, and loved them so much we bought a second set for my boat. We went out in long island sound this weekend in Stonington CT. The wind was steady and strong. We are delighted using the side kicks. Never felt like you would tip over, which I have done a few times without them. You could go much faster with them because you don't have to let up on the sail if the wind is too strong. I wish I bought these years ago, it adds so much to the experience. I also fish with my yak and it makes it much easier to sand up is you want to, you change the potion of the floats all the way down. The only issue I had is with one of the outrigger bars that slip into the pieces attached to the yak is very hard to get in and out. I think all I have to do is sand the hard plastic grip a little and it should be alright, but you would think hobbie equipment at $176.00 you would have a little better quality control. But overall we love them.
Reviewer:
Steve Menefee
Rating:
5
Date:
5/20/2015
Review:
The sidekicks work great. I can sail my Revo 13 in >10mph wind without concerns about tipping.
Reviewer:
Ronald M.
Rating:
2
Date:
1/30/2015
Review:
For the price of these you would think they would have been better built. First trip out the center brace turned letting the outrigger turn up. To fit this I had to install 1/2 well-nuts so the mounts could be tighten enough to hold the cross section. On this same trip one arm going to the outrigger broke loose from the piece going into the cross section letting that side out the outrigger to come off! Yes, came off while I was fishing in 40' of water in water or 45 degree. Not good. The piece that goes from the arm into cross section is glued, this glue didn't hold so to fix this I used a 3/16 bolt through the arm/plastic piece. Since I fixed these problems it works very well. The factory really need to address these problem before someone drowns from falling in while standing on the kayak while using these.
Reviewer:
James H.
Rating:
5
Date:
1/24/2015
Review:
Customer service was outstanding and it was shipped fast. Haven't had a chance to try it out yet.
<<  <  1         >>
Live Chat