Home > Kayaking > Kayak Fishing Gear > Outriggers & Live Wells > Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$176.00
 
Hobie Sidekick Ama Outrigger Kit
$176.00
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Easy on and easy off the Hobie AMA outrigger it is perfect for the klutz in me. I love fly fishing but to really enjoy it I need to be able to stand up in my kayak. That didn't happen till now.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Bob M
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2015
Review:
My wife and I have been sailing 2 Hobie REV 13 for 5 years. My wife decided to get the sidekicks this year, and loved them so much we bought a second set for my boat. We went out in long island sound this weekend in Stonington CT. The wind was steady and strong. We are delighted using the side kicks. Never felt like you would tip over, which I have done a few times without them. You could go much faster with them because you don't have to let up on the sail if the wind is too strong. I wish I bought these years ago, it adds so much to the experience. I also fish with my yak and it makes it much easier to sand up is you want to, you change the potion of the floats all the way down. The only issue I had is with one of the outrigger bars that slip into the pieces attached to the yak is very hard to get in and out. I think all I have to do is sand the hard plastic grip a little and it should be alright, but you would think hobbie equipment at $176.00 you would have a little better quality control. But overall we love them.
Reviewer:
Steve Menefee
Rating:
5
Date:
5/20/2015
Review:
The sidekicks work great. I can sail my Revo 13 in >10mph wind without concerns about tipping.
Reviewer:
Ronald M.
Rating:
2
Date:
1/30/2015
Review:
For the price of these you would think they would have been better built. First trip out the center brace turned letting the outrigger turn up. To fit this I had to install 1/2 well-nuts so the mounts could be tighten enough to hold the cross section. On this same trip one arm going to the outrigger broke loose from the piece going into the cross section letting that side out the outrigger to come off! Yes, came off while I was fishing in 40' of water in water or 45 degree. Not good. The piece that goes from the arm into cross section is glued, this glue didn't hold so to fix this I used a 3/16 bolt through the arm/plastic piece. Since I fixed these problems it works very well. The factory really need to address these problem before someone drowns from falling in while standing on the kayak while using these.
Reviewer:
James H.
Rating:
5
Date:
1/24/2015
Review:
Customer service was outstanding and it was shipped fast. Haven't had a chance to try it out yet.
Reviewer:
Jim
Rating:
5
Date:
7/31/2014
Review:
Been in some strong wind that would have tipped us over but the out riggers give you time to react so you can shift your weight. Worked great. We ordered the sail furlor also so you can bring in the sail. Haven't tried that yet.
Reviewer:
Mlim
Rating:
5
Date:
6/5/2014
Review:
Adds stability to my old Mirage tandem for added confidence of not tipping. Easy to install. Takes about ten breaths to inflate each pontoon.
Reviewer:
Taylor
Rating:
2
Date:
5/4/2014
Review:
This product works well in terms of stability for the kayak, and it does not impair paddling or use of the drive system. Unfortunately, it does not adapt well to the Hobie PA12. The support shaft for the tubes comes in 3 pieces. The boat is wider than the center support, so the support shaft system application for the PA 12 requires time consuming dis-assembly after every use and re-assembly at each use. The unit should be supplied with a longer center support which would allow permanent mounting of that component on wider boats.
Reviewer:
Works Well
Rating:
4
Date:
9/18/2013
Review:
I bought these to stabilize my Hobie Oasis Kayak for when I'm using the sail. They do a nice job of giving the stability and confidence to use the sail in higher 10 mph winds.
Reviewer:
Tom
Rating:
5
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
The kit installs with no trouble except that the mounting bar attached to the kayak was too close to the kayak to release the buttons to rotate the pontoons. I bought 1/2 inch thick plastic spacers to raise the bar. The pontoons add a great degree of stability to the kayak. I am very pleased with the pontoon kit as installed, but think spacers to raise the bar attached to the kayak are in order. If I didn't like the pontoons so well I would not have given them a 5 stare for this reason.
Reviewer:
K Sawyer
Rating:
4
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
Easy to install and use. A useful accessory to hobe kayak sail kit and to stabilize kayak for stand up fishing.
Reviewer:
Muchatrucha
Rating:
5
Date:
7/11/2013
Review:
I bought these to replace my heavier Castle Craft Outriggers. These set up easily and give me the non-swamping feature I need when traveling with my Labrador. So far, so good.
Reviewer:
Problematic
Rating:
2
Date:
6/18/2013
Review:
Had problems on first real OTW use. Locking ? ferrule that fits into center bar came unglued. Was free turning OTW resulting in unbalanced kayak. Managed to get it temporarily set without splashing. Happened during tournament = not happy. Distance from kayak also interferes with paddle use. A safety hazard on surf launches and landings. Hobie needs to develop mini fishing version of AI outrigger for Revolution
<<  <  1         >>
Live chat by BoldChat