FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Wilderness Systems Ride 115 Kayak - 2014 - Low Seat - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Ride 115 Kayak - 2014 - Low Seat Product Details.
$899.00
Kayak Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Charles
Rating:
5
Date:
2/5/2014
Review:
I was looking for a stable kayak for photography along the spring runs and coastal marshes of central Florida. The Ride 115 has proven to be a valuable investment for that purpose. The yak maneuvers well. While floating the yak handles wakes from other vessels well. The Orbix hatch is just large enough to stow my camera gear as I launch and return to shore. If there is a negative, the yak has a high enough profile that wind can push you off course while paddling. A rudder would help with that I think. Also the vessel is heavy. If planning on racking roof-top, make sure to think out your plans on how you plan to hoist and recover the yak from your racks. Finally, I ended up purchasing a Tacoma for many reasons. The yak fits well in the back of the pickup with about a three foot overhang out the back.
Reviewer:
Daltrey
Rating:
5
Date:
6/20/2013
Review:
This has been the perfect kayak for me. I live in a small townhouse and it is the perfect size to keep inside. I also carry it on my Camry with a Rhino roof rack and its easy to load and unload being less than 12 feet long. I was standing and fishing on my first trip out with ease. ACK delivered it within a week and I couldn't be happier with their service. Extremely well wrapped up and shipped in perfect condition. Thanks
Reviewer:
Kyuzo
Rating:
4
Date:
11/27/2012
Review:
Very nice kayaks. The things are solid as could be! Very stable and easy to handle. Great to fish from! However, I'm not convinced Wilderness Systems has it together in the details though... I bought two Ride 115's and had a minor problem with each. On one, the seat retaining clip in the cockpit was never installed at the factory. (ACK had that taken care of next day air - way to go boys!) I still had to install it myself, though. The other kayak has a rip in the seam of the seat back cover (from the factory, not shipping) and ACK handed that issue of to Wilderness Systems and I've been waiting almost a month so far for them to send me a replacement seat cover! My wife and I love these kayaks and would buy them again, but you know the saying - the devil's in the details! I wish they'd upgrade their quality controll or final inspections or whatever the problem they have is! If you're shelling out about $1000.00 a pop for these kayaks, while the economy's in the crapper - Wildy could at least send you a completely finished boat!
Reviewer:
Rick
Rating:
5
Date:
9/22/2012
Review:
Moved up from a sit-in. Great fishing platform: very stable and comfortable with plenty of room for gear. Also quite maneuverable-perfect for the rivers I paddle and fish. A bit heavy but a cart resolves that issue. Had it out many times already for day and multi-day adventures and no regrets. ACK a real pleasure to do business with.
Reviewer:
Fariss
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2012
Review:
I really enjoy my Wilderness Systems Ride 115 Kayak. It lives up to all the reviews and it is really stable on the water. You can stand up and paddle with confidence. I use mine for spearfishing and abalone diving on the coast of Northern California, as well as bass fishing in Lake Oroville.
Reviewer:
Niskibum
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
Just got my Ride last month and took it on the Bowron lakes circuit this month. While it wasnt as fast as the other ocean kayaks in the group, the convienance of the sit on top and the stability made it work great. It is a bit heavy, so the portages were a pain, but it had enough room for all my gear underneath and in the well. The rod holders were great, and I caught several lake trout on the trip as well as rainbows and kokanee. The Ride even handled the big swells when a storm kicked up on Isaac lake. Looking forward to floating the rivers now in the new Ride.
Reviewer:
Manny
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2012
Review:
Have the Ride 115 since Oct 2011 and use it at least twice a month to fish Clear Lake and Galveston. Opted for this boat due to stability, but Im extra glad due to weight capacity. With 280+ lbs 6FT and an extra 50lbs on equipment this boat is dry in the cockpit. However, I had to use scooper plugs in the storage area behind the cockpit to keep things dry in the milk crate when fishing. The slidetrax is handy to attach the rodholders and fish finder without having to create additional holes to the boat. Would recommend the Ride 115, but also look the Ride 135 if you paddle longer distances. Also, get the rudder kit if you plan to paddle in heavy wind conditions. Would buy again in a heartbeat!
Reviewer:
TIM
Rating:
5
Date:
5/1/2012
Review:
I have a ride 135 but wanted something smaller for small creeks & ponds. The ride 115 is a great boat for all water. Now I only take out the 135 on extended multiday trips when I have more gear to haul. I am 63 & 265lbs & I have plenty of leg room & no standing water from scupper holes at my feet. The boat is great for rigging w/ slide trax & has multiple places to mount scotty rod holders. I have bought a lot of boats trying to find the right one. The ride series seem to be what I like the best. Oh & did I mention no more wet butt w/ the new seat. If your like me you have probably looked at over 5 or more kayak models trying to find perfect. I recommend this one to my friends.
Reviewer:
bob
Rating:
5
Date:
1/30/2012
Review:
Excellent, stable, multi-use boat. It's my second "ride" and I'd definitely recomend it.
Reviewer:
Penny
Rating:
5
Date:
9/28/2011
Review:
I LOVE my new Kayak. I was looking and wanting something that would 1). Being a larger woman, I needed a seating area big enough--I'm 5.4" and 250lbs. 2). I wanted something stable so not to feel like I was going to tip over easily. 3). Something I could also use for fishing. 4). Lots of storage and room for bringing anything I wanted. This is THE kayak! It meets all my needs. Paddling is simple although it's probably a little slower going than the much sleeker kayaks out there but not much. The only downfall is because of all the above, its a little heavier than I would like but it is very manageable to carry with two people or dragging by myself across the beach. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.82.170.223 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat