Thule 897XT Hullavator Lift Assist Kayak Carrier - Product Reviews
Return to Thule 897XT Hullavator Lift Assist Kayak Carrier Product Details.
Regular Price: $599.95
Special Price:
$478.95 You Save: $121.00(20%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
John Kurz
Rating:
5
Date:
11/3/2013
Review:
While I found the installation instructions could be better, the design and the workmanship of the product are first class. I have mounted it on a Jeep Wrangler Unlimited onto Yakima crossbars. I did have to modify the Yakima bracket holding the crossbars to the roof rack. They were too bulky for the Hullavator to rest on the crossbars. My problem with the instructions was that the parts are not referenced by a number correlating to the parts list. Therefore, it was purely guess as to what screw to use where. I have the crossbars 7' apart so as to better balance my 15' two person kayak. At this width, it takes two people to operate the lift up/down because each side of the Hullavator requires a handle to be pulled to release the latch. It would be nice, if there were a way to lock it open so that one person could lift it up/down. All-in-all, a fantastic product and there is none better available.
Reviewer:
Ktoler
Rating:
2
Date:
9/14/2013
Review:
The only reason this got 2 stars is the clear assembly instructions. It went together and installed quite easily in about 1 hour by myself. The lift itself however is extremely difficult to use. It is much too low to the ground so that I have to sit on the ground under the kayak to reach the handles when it is time to raise the kayak. In addition, it takes a GREAT DEAL of hand strength to squeeze the handles sufficiently to release the catch to raise the kayak. Myself (6' 250lb male) and several other grown men have tried and it's almost to the point where you need a crowbar or pry to apply enough pressure to release the catch. I have read several blogs about this and some have said it loosens considerably with use. I hope that is the case. I am currently shopping for a more simple rack with less parts to break/malfunction.
Reviewer:
candace
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2013
Review:
This is THE BEST ever! It is now extremely easy for me to transport my kayak entirely on my own. I refuse to use a trailer, and I would never be able to lift onto my car, which is a Mazda 6 by the way. It works PERFECT. I would not change a thing. Worth every penny...
Reviewer:
Tarpon 100
Rating:
5
Date:
5/9/2013
Review:
I give the Hullavator Lift a 5 star hands down with me having a 53 pound kayak. The lift makes it almost too easy to lift the kayak on the top of my yukon. It will pay for itself time and time again. I wish I found it years ago. P.S. the shipping was extremely fast as I got it in only 4 days
Reviewer:
Tarpon 100
Rating:
4
Date:
5/16/2012
Review:
Works great and makes loading and tie downs soooo much easier and fast. I bought the Telos first and used it twice and it did not work to well for me and my set up, took more time, and was not to safe. Save yourself and get the hullavator.
Reviewer:
Tarpon 100
Rating:
4
Date:
5/16/2012
Review:
Works great and makes loading and tie downs soooo much easier and fast. I bought the Telos first and used it twice and it did not work to well for me and my set up, took more time, and was not to safe. Save yourself and get the hullavator.
Reviewer:
Tarpon 100
Rating:
4
Date:
5/16/2012
Review:
Works great and makes loading and tie downs soooo much easier and fast. I bought the Telos first and used it twice and it did not work to well for me and my set up, took more time, and was not to safe. Save yourself and get the hullavator.
Reviewer:
Chuck
Rating:
5
Date:
3/18/2012
Review:
I was hesitant to spend $500 on a kayak carrier, but after putting it on my fj cruiser and using it I would have paid more for it. Makes it very easy to load my 12 foot fishing yak on my lifted suv. I leave the crossbars on all the time and put the hullavator on just when i need it. Takes about 2 min to put on or take off. Anybody that struggles to get their kayak on a suv would get good use out of this.
Reviewer:
glnpat
Rating:
4
Date:
12/4/2011
Review:
They are a substantial help to loading and unloading two kayaks. When loading make sure the chrome installation pins are rotated down. They want to flip up and push out a bit keeping you from rotating the kayaks onto the roof. I wish the pins were easier to take out and install making it easier to take the Hullivators off when not in use and putting them back on.
Reviewer:
CaptLagger
Rating:
5
Date:
10/25/2011
Review:
Awesome !!! I sold my truck and had to use my Honda Element for yak transport. I go by myself a lot and there was no way for me to lift my ride 135 on to the roof. It was just to high and the ride is around 70lbs. This made it easy. I only have to lift the yak just above my waist and the just use the hullivator to ease it on to the roff. Did I say , AWESOME !!!! It was also easy to install.
Reviewer:
Tom L
Rating:
5
Date:
5/30/2011
Review:
It looks like it costs a lot. I could have saved money just by getting it first. Don't settle, you only have one back.
Reviewer:
Bayou Shuttle Service
Rating:
5
Date:
11/9/2010
Review:
From a small white water kayak to a large tandem kayak, the Hullavator can handle it. We purchased the Hullavator for one of our smaller shuttle vehicles. We have already loaded and unloaded in just a short time many different models of kayaks with the Hullavator. It is a huge time saver and we Highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.89.67.228 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat