Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Ocean Kayak Tetra 12 Kayak

Ocean Kayak Tetra 12 Kayak

MSRP:  $849.99
$799.00
 
 
Ocean Kayak Tetra 12 Kayak
MSRP:  $849.99
$799.00 You Save: $50.99(6%)

In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next

Available Colors:
ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
T Stone
Rating:
5
Date:
8/30/2016
Review:
Second Tetra 12. Had issue with seat clip and was hooked up with a new seat in a week. Great for cruising Catalina Island. Hang them both on the sailboat rails and light enough to pull up into the racks.
Reviewer:
Maria Pearce
Rating:
5
Date:
8/28/2016
Review:
Great Kayak! I love it. Exactly what I wanted. Stabile and easy to steer. Excellent storage features. ACK shipped fast and delivery was painless. Packaged well to avoid shipping damage. Totally satisfied!
Reviewer:
Guy G.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/14/2016
Review:
In a word: Excellent. I wanted a SOT for casual flat water paddling that wasn't too wide and can carry camping gear. This boat fits the bill in style. It is faster (more efficient) than I was expecting, and it handles nicely without a rudder. I debated the rudder option, and I'm glad I went without. I am going to install knee straps for more aggressive paddling, but even that's overkill for what I wanted this boat to be. All and all I'm thrilled with this purchase and ACK did a standup job of getting the boat to me quickly.
Reviewer:
Jay H.
Rating:
4
Date:
4/30/2016
Review:
I bought two of these kayaks from ACK, one for myself, and one for my wife. I probably should have purchased the Venus for her, but I think she'll adapt to the length after a few more outings. With the rudder attachment, it tracks extremely well, even in a 20 knot headwind, but I don't recommend this kayak for winds that high. We did experience some weather helm in those conditions. Ocean should have made an option for a hatch on the rear deck. It is too easy for equipment that may come loose from a tether to slide under the seat all the way to the rear of the yak and become unreachable until you can beach and tilt the kayak forward. I'll be cutting styrofoam to fill the areas under the seats to add prevent equipment from sliding back there and benefit from some added buoyancy. Not that buoyancy is an issue for us. The rudder fit needs a few modifications to work on this yak. As installed from ACK, it has too many pinch points and is difficult to raise and lower while seated. The solution is to add cheek blocks on the stern deck to create a straight lead into the rudder block. It's unfortunate that I have to pay extra on two yaks for the cheek blocks and the ACK crew didn't take care of this before shipping this out to me. The rep on the phone said the rudders are not designed for these yaks. Minus one star for advertising the rudder system that requires additional modification once received by the customer. Overall a great yak that I would purchase again, but do my own rudder install.
Reviewer:
Kathy
Rating:
5
Date:
7/6/2015
Review:
I own 2 tetra 12s. They are great! very easy to maneuver in the water and lightweight. I am a beginner kayaker and am now so comfortable in the water because of this kayak. I would highly recommend this model.
Reviewer:
KathyB
Rating:
5
Date:
6/8/2014
Review:
I love my lime green Tetra 12! I read all I could find on SOTs in the 12' range for over 8 months before buying. I sat in several, but paddled none when I made my decision to buy my first non-inflatable kayak. Tetra 12 started out at the top of my list, then I became distracted by more expensive boats (Wilderness Systems, Jackson, and even Hobie). After sitting in all that I thought would meet my needs as far as size, performance and capacity I had to eliminate several because they would be way too heavy for me to load and unload alone. Between the Tetra and the Hobie Quest 11, I decided that for a first timer the Hobie was not over 60% more comfortable price-wise. I made the perfect choice for me! This yak is stable from the get-go, and continues to be stable even in the rough water of Joe Pool Lake on a windy (18-20 mph) day. I mostly wanted a kayak for fun on the water and exercise, but with the added rod holders and Mod Pod II, I can accessorize to my heart's content. I could even fish from it if I want. The rudder was a pricey addition that I would not want to be without in the wind. I can concentrate on paddling and working my arms and core in a rhythm and let my feet make course adjustments. I got my boat on the water for the first time Mother's Day. Since then I have paddled over 50 miles according to my tracking apps. I paddled 8 miles last Friday! I am a 5'3 female. I weighed 164 that first day. To date I have lost 10 lbs and I owe that to paddling and loading my kayak. If you search the net for Tetra reviews you won't find many, good or bad. I don't understand because this is an awesome lightweight and fast boat with a lot of weight capacity and plenty of storage for someone who needs to haul a lot of comforts everywhere she goes. Dave and the guys in Houston were very helpful and patient during my Q&A visits, calls, and ordering. After all the reading, shopping online, and driving around and looking, my husband asked what would I change. If I was buying now after paddling my Tetra, what would I buy. I would buy the Tetra 12 again. It is just perfect for me and my needs. Next I want to see how it handles in the surf and BTB. 😉
Reviewer:
ems3
Rating:
5
Date:
11/7/2012
Review:
After trying all the kayaks at a demo day last year, this one stood out as the best. I too am surprised this has not caught on. A great boat indeed.
Reviewer:
JB
Rating:
4
Date:
6/4/2012
Review:
Im surprised nobody has reviewed this one yet. I tried several kayaks out over the weekend, using a gps to compare relative speeds and trying to compare relative paddling effort. I was surprised at how well this one paddled, while still remaining relatively stable. If youre in the market for a 12 footer and want a good paddling boat, put this one on your short list. I dont think youll beat it for the price.
Live Chat