Home > Kayaking > Carts & Carriers > Malone Xpress Scupper Kayak Cart
Malone Xpress Scupper Kayak Cart
MSRP:  $99.95
$89.95
 
Malone Xpress Scupper Kayak Cart
MSRP:  $99.95
$89.95 You Save: $10.00(10%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 3.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Richard W.
Rating:
2
Date:
12/28/2015
Review:
I have the Jackson Kayak Big Tuna model. This carrier doesn't work well at all for this kayak. The Big Tuna scuppers are regular holes at the top but underneath they are sort of oblong and tapered toward the stern. When the Malone carrier is inserted and the kayak put upright, the wheels fold under the kayak instead of being vertical. The carrier must be adjusted to the minimum width to fit any of the scupper holes at all and even so, it won't fit the ones closest to the stern. After adjusting to the smallest width the foam block no longer fits over the adjustment bar, you have to cut 3/4" off the foam if you want to use it and you really need to with the Big Tuna. With the foam in place you have a little support to prevent the wheels from jackknifing. With the wheels adjusted to the minimum width the kayak is now very easy to tip over.
Reviewer:
cheryl L.
Rating:
5
Date:
11/20/2015
Review:
We've been carrying our two person ocean kayaks down to the beach at our Mexico house. We just got the scupper kayak cart and it has made everything so much easier! The cushion in the middle keeps the kayak from rubbing on the axle, the hard tires move easily over both sand and rock. We attach the cart then strap the cooler ect and away we go. The kayak easily lifts off the cart once we get to the water. Love this product!
Reviewer:
James R.
Rating:
5
Date:
10/12/2015
Review:
This cart works. I like the tapered sleeves that enter the scuppers. It fits snug and won't damage the kayak.
Reviewer:
Hawaiiankayaker
Rating:
4
Date:
2/19/2015
Review:
The Malone Xpress is very well designed and easy to use. It slips into the scupper hole with ease and comes out without difficulty in the water. I don't disassemble it but use bungees to strap it to the front of the kayak after launching. I love it! The only problem I've had with it was with the second kart I ordered for another kayak I bought for salmon fishing in the Northwest. It came with a defective connector that prevented the crossbar from being inserted. There was excess hard rubber in the hole which I had to drill out to clear it to allow me to insert and bolt down the crossbar. (I needed the cart to move the newly shipped kayak to the back of the house.) It took ACK and Malone over ten days to send a replacement after I had sent ACK photos of the defect. Amazon would have done it in 3 days. I would give the cart a 5 for design and durability except for this defect. Better improve quality control checks.
Reviewer:
Dave A.
Rating:
3
Date:
11/23/2014
Review:
I've got a love-hate thing going on with this cart. On the plus side, it's priced right, built very sturdey, lightweight and breaks down easily to stow in the hatch of my Tarpon120 with ease. Once installed it works very well! On the down side, (and I'm guessing this is true of all scupper carts) , it's a process to install coming off the water after a day of fishing. Read: drag yak up beach, empty EVERYTHING off, then flip the yak on it's side , install the cart and then reverse procedure. I'm thinking of adding a kick stand on it so I might be able to just lift the yak on /off if I can line up the cart posts and scuppers. If that doesn't work, I may switch to an end style cart that doesn't make me flip the cart to install it.
Reviewer:
William M.
Rating:
4
Date:
10/26/2014
Review:
Well designed cart that is not prone to rust from salt water. I especially like the elastomer protection around the poles that go into the scupper holes, hopefully this will eliminate any cracks leading to water leaks. The unit received had a bolt missing but I am going to West Marine to purchase a SS bolt rather than complain.
Reviewer:
Rob A.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/1/2014
Review:
I have a fairly wide kayak (Lifetime Sportfisher - 36 inches) and had trouble finding a scupper cart wide enough. But, the Malone Xpress works fine! No complaints whatsoever so fr.
Reviewer:
big bass J
Rating:
4
Date:
3/27/2014
Review:
The t fitting busted after 4 trips to the water. Called up Austin Kayak and they sent me a new and improved cart. I give the cart a 4 star and Austin customer service a 5 star. ( I use it 4 my Tarpon 120 with no problems)
Reviewer:
Peter B.
Rating:
4
Date:
11/14/2012
Review:
I have to say the cart did break on me using it to transport my WS 160 after the second trip. Why I've given it 4 stars after that was because of the excellent customer service I recieved when calling the maufacturer. They said have since redisigned the T connectors and that they have a lifetime warrenty on all their products. A company that fully stands behind their products like this deserves to be recognized. I haven't recieved the new parts yet as I just got off the phone with customer service. I'll give a follow up after I test it out.
Reviewer:
Jim H
Rating:
1
Date:
9/19/2012
Review:
Practical design but poor quality. The crossmember Ts that connect to the wheel supports are plastic or PVC. Broke on my first trip. Im trying to find a way to salvage the wheels, but once that T breaks the unit is pretty much worthless.
Reviewer:
Cheryl
Rating:
2
Date:
9/9/2012
Review:
I purchased this cart to use with my Ocean Kayak Malibu 2. It went together well, however during long walks from parking lot to the boat ramp the set screw would works its way loose. Also the scupper bars go in unevenly, yes I tried to straighten them. Due to the uneven nature of the cart, the kayak would cant to one side and cause a bit of over steer. That would be no problem if you are on a wide paved path. Forget an easy pull if you have to tow down a narrow path. And you can seriously hurt yourself trying to pull through sand at a beach or lake shore. The wheels are simply too small. Malone needs to come up with beach size tread wheels that could fit this cart. Spend your money on an all terrain beach cart with tie downs and carting your kayak will be a breeze.
Reviewer:
Glenn
Rating:
5
Date:
7/31/2012
Review:
It went together easily and seems very sturdy. Its what I expected.
<<  <  1         >>
Live Chat