Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Carts & Carriers > Feel Free Camel Kayak Trolley - Closeout
Feel Free Camel Kayak Trolley - Closeout
 
Feel Free Camel Kayak Trolley - Closeout

Out of Stock

This product has been discontinued. Don't worry, we have more Carts & Carriers.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 2.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Troy
Rating:
2
Date:
1/5/2013
Review:
I've had the same problem with the wheels falling off when I used it over uneven surfaces, which is characteristic of ~99% of my launch sites. All that it's good for now is to roll my kayak in and out of my storage shed.
Reviewer:
Grampa Spey
Rating:
1
Date:
9/10/2012
Review:
Complete failure with our Hobie Oasis from trying to get the Oasis on the Camel to trying to secure it. This morning I had a failure with my Bass Yak Pathfinder. It wouldnt work with the pontoons connected, and it couldnt handle a 35# battery added to the mix. That cost me a Salmon fishing trip on our river. I needed to transport the rig 300 yards on paved sidewalks to the river from the parking lot. It never got past the loading point.
Reviewer:
Rick Reed
Rating:
2
Date:
8/25/2012
Review:
I had to return the first Camel Kayak Trolley because one of the removable wheels kept coming off. The latch would not hold the wheel on under load. I have checked out the replacement but have not had an opportunity to use it under load. We have had a lot of rainy says and I have not been able to take my kayaks out since receiving the replacement trolley.
Reviewer:
Pablo
Rating:
3
Date:
8/7/2012
Review:
The CameI Trolley is ok. Is very sturdy and do the job when the road is flat. But I have had same problem of falling wheel as John. Could you please send me some images of the modification you did on it. My e-mail is riverpablo@gmail.com Thanks a lot.
Reviewer:
Denis
Rating:
1
Date:
7/17/2012
Review:
Feel Free Failure... My Camels wheels have never fallen off from the failure of the cam, however after using it for about six months the C clips have rusted and began falling off in pieces causing the wheels to fall off, I have lost both axle and two of the smaller pivoting rod retaining clips I now carry a bag of each size and check them regularly. I kayak on the ocean, lakes, & rivers of S E Alaska and would NOT recommend this cart to anyone-ever! At least not anyone who plans on getting their kayak wet...
Reviewer:
John
Rating:
4
Date:
6/23/2012
Review:
This is a follow up to the review I left after my first purchase of a camel. I fixed the wheel falling off issue by drilling a 1/4 hole through the body and cam while it is in the locked position. Install the wheels and lock the cams tightly and drill the hole. If the bit is too short, you many have to drill as far as you can, remove the wheels, reposition the cam, and finish the drilliing. Ream it out a little bit so the pin is not too tight. I purchased a 1/4x3 Hitch Pin from Lowes in the hardware section in the draws with all the weird stuff, installed the wheels, locked the cam, and inserted the pin. Now the wheels are locked in place and CANT fall off now matter what you do. Make sure the drill is lined up and goes through the center of the cam and is about 3/16 to 1/2 from the face of the cam, opposite of the cam handle. To remove the wheels for storage, pull the pin, turn the cam, and remove the wheels. Works like a charm and the pins are only $3! I dont know if there is a way for ACK to let me put pictures in my review, but I have them if they want them. I have 2 camels now and am going to get one for my brother-in-law for his birthday. After the modification it is a perfect gift. Dont give it to anyone you love if you dont modify it first!!
Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
2
Date:
5/30/2012
Review:
I purchased mine from ARC and had the same results as John. A little wiggle and the wheel would simply fall off. Additionally, when I was able to get the wheel to stay in place long enough for me to sit my Ride 135, the cam would come loose. So, I tried sitting my Ascend A10 on the trolley as it is much lighter than the Ride 135. As soon as I began to pull the kayak, I received the same results on a smooth surface. Maybe I received a bad trolley or the parts are just cheap, either way, I had I hopes for this product and now I sit here wondering if maybe I made the wrong decision and should have just gone with the C-Tug.
Reviewer:
Glenn
Rating:
5
Date:
4/30/2012
Review:
I love this thing! Sure makes it easy to get my loaded Jackson Coosa from my truck to the water and back!
Reviewer:
John
Rating:
3
Date:
4/28/2012
Review:
A good concept, but poorly executed. Bottom line, the wheels fall off. It does what it says, kneeling for loading, then rising when the strap is cinched tight. Pulls like a dream on smooth surfaces, but when the going gets a little rough, the cam locks holding the wheels in place work loose and the wheels simply fall off. I bought one online from AK and called when I discovered the problem. They sent me a new one, but it does the exact same thing. I have tried using tools to really tighten the cam, but you can just wiggle the wheel for a bit by hand and it comes loose, then the wheel come right out. I am working on a fix using a balllock pin through a hole drilled through the cam. AK was awesome and extremely willing to help, but it is simply a bad design. If you do not anticipate a rough road, it works great. Just dont plan any cross country excursions.
Reviewer:
Warren
Rating:
4
Date:
4/10/2012
Review:
The Camel Trolley that I received is not the model in the animated video. The strap threads though the trolley differently. I use the top set of holes for my 15.5 Cape Horn. The wheels do not stay attached to the cart when folded as in the video. Consequently, I feel very mislead by the video. Having said that... the trolley is well constructed. It also carries my kayak with ease and it does fit reasonably well in my rear hatch. I didnt want to give the Camel Trolley only three stars, but four is generous.
Reviewer:
Grampa Spey
Rating:
4
Date:
2/15/2012
Review:
Feel Free Camel trolley works well with the Freedom Hawk 12, and yesterday I tried it it with my new Freedom Hawk Pathfinder with a BassYak motor. I was able to haul the Pathfinder with around our driveway and up and down the street. Once I got it on and strapped in, it stayed secure as I pulled around it and the yak in several tests. I had the pontoon stabilizers in the Yak and not on it due to the hill andle, we live on. Looking forward to trying it to get the yaks ready to launch. It should work fine as our hill is steeper than most launch sites. Also, I'm looking forward to trying it with our 2009 Hobie Oasis. We use the Hobie Big Tire Trax hauler which fits into the scuppers. The problem with the Trax is when the Oasis in the water, you have to lift it up to get the Trax out since it floats. With the Feel Free Camel trolley, I should be able to roll the Oasis right into the water or to the side, unstrap it, and we can get in. No hassle when we get ready to leave the launch area. I gave it a 4 star rating due to the cheap bean counter marking of the lock and unlock position of the lever. The micro marking is a image of a padlock less than a 1/4 inch in the same color showing if you have a magnifing glass, a locked or unlocked padlock. This is a terrible cheap way to finish a good product.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.91.9.248 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat