Home > Kayaking > Repair > Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade

Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade

$34.99
 
 
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$34.99

In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next

ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This oversized rudder blade will make steering the larger Hobie Mirage kayaks much easier.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Desmo
Rating:
5
Date:
7/6/2009
Review:
Inexpensive upgrade to my outfitter. Turning is quicker (wasn't that bad before) but clearance of underwater obstacles is less. I do not find it necessary for normal use, but it is not a hinderance either. Bought to make sailing more stable. Have not tried it or the stock rudder under sail, but hear it is a MUST have. Should be in Sail Kit.
Reviewer:
Maine guide
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2009
Review:
A great price and easy to install. I use an Adventure and this rudder should come standard. i find it kind of strange that my kayak being literally twice as long as the Sport comes stock with the same size rudder. Be careful the first time you use it. The fist sharp turn i made with it dumped me out of the boat. You will find yourself naturally leaning into the sharp turns
Reviewer:
Fishbear
Rating:
5
Date:
1/30/2009
Review:
The sail rudder is great. Makes turning and controlling drift angle easier.
Reviewer:
Loyal Schreiber
Rating:
5
Date:
10/31/2008
Review:
Installed on an Outfitter. Works great. Should really be part of the sail kit, because the kayak under sail is basically uncontrollable with the regular rudder in any kind of decent wind.
Reviewer:
Rex Krivanek
Rating:
5
Date:
10/26/2008
Review:
Great option for my Mirage Sport. Better turning radius with the larger rudder and excellent for when I sail the kayak which is almost always. Easy installation.
Reviewer:
Ray Necio
Rating:
5
Date:
10/4/2008
Review:
The larger rudder is a great addition to my HOBIE kayak. I highly recommend it.
Reviewer:
Bob Rapp
Rating:
5
Date:
8/19/2008
Review:
By far the best upgrade I've made to both my Outback and Revo, turns them on a dime. The installation was quick and easy, best $23 I spent. The performance is outstanding, it should be standard. I used the standard shipping and had my rudders in 3 business days, got them just in time for vacation.
Reviewer:
Ken Fowler
Rating:
5
Date:
8/10/2008
Review:
Easy to fit. I got this as I've been doing a lot of sailing in my Outfitter and at times the turn rate was not what I'd want - especially in strong currents. Since fitting the new rudder it's far better - although using the twist and stow system with the larger rudder does need more effort.
Reviewer:
Marco Vargas
Rating:
5
Date:
7/2/2008
Review:
This makes fishing my Revolution around kelp possible. I can turn on a dime and not get my mirage drive fouled in the kelp. A+
Reviewer:
Scott Crouse
Rating:
5
Date:
6/27/2008
Review:
Worth every penny (and it's really not a lot of pennies!). I bought this for my Outback to improve turning and tracking – it absolutely improves both. Highly recommended! I was afraid it would be too difficult to lift with the twist and stow rudder system because the standard rudder was a little difficult but I really don't notice much of a difference. Even if there is a difference, the performance improvement is more than worth the trade off.
Reviewer:
Mike Fitz
Rating:
5
Date:
4/3/2008
Review:
It was very easy to install. I never used the old one so I have no good comparison.
Reviewer:
Mike Parks
Rating:
5
Date:
3/17/2008
Review:
Turns the boat! Period, and mine is the i14t, not an easy boat to turn. This add-on should be standard with boats my size: No one who tried it would hesitate to pay the few dollars extra. Incidentally, the kick-up function works just fine with this larger blade. I'm completely satisfied.
Live Chat