Home > Kayaking > Repair > Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$33.99
 
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$33.99
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade is an over-sized sailing rudder blade for the Mirage series kayaks for a more responsive rudder control. Add the Large Sailing Rudder Blade to your Hobie Mirage kayak if you plan on using the sail kit. The larger surface area will provide lateral resistance needed for upwind sailing. For the Adventure Kayak, consider adding the Daggerboard for more control.

• Replaces smaller rudder blade on the Mirage Twist and Stow rudder system
• Provides more responsive rudder control
• Necessary if you plan on using the sail kit
• Adds lateral resistance needed for upwind sailing
• For the Adventure Kayak, consider the Daggerboard
• Discounts and/or coupons do not apply to this item
Item #: 542
Part Number UPC
81397001 0792176558439
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This oversized rudder blade will make steering the larger Hobie Mirage kayaks much easier.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Kevin
Rating:
5
Date:
4/30/2010
Review:
Like other said it make steering a breeze. Hobie should of had this part included. I use it on a outback what a difference.Great service from ACK
Reviewer:
mmk
Rating:
4
Date:
4/8/2010
Review:
I use the Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade rudder on my Outback. It markedly improves the steering response and the tracking of the yak and it is a very nice upgrade in that regard. The only complaint I have with it's increased size is that when handling the yak on land, it has become significantly harder to get at the rear T-handle when the rudder is in the up/stowed position.
Reviewer:
DaveDUtah
Rating:
5
Date:
4/1/2010
Review:
Worked great with sail kit in the 6-10 mph winds on my first outing with it. A cordless phillips head screwdriver will make switching it with the old one relatively painless. No other tool was needed.
Reviewer:
nguyenhpa
Rating:
5
Date:
11/22/2009
Review:
Definitely helpful for steering as well as drifting. Makes the whole kayak more responsive directionally
Reviewer:
leemille
Rating:
5
Date:
10/4/2009
Review:
The Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade worked like a charm. easy to install with the correct tools. ACK are the guys to deal with. i don't sail i just wanted more control and i got it. if you own a mirage kayak i highly recommend this rudder as an add on.
Reviewer:
Itacknjibe
Rating:
5
Date:
9/26/2009
Review:
This Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade is a must if you sail, and makes the boat handle much more responsively at other times as well.
Reviewer:
Pablo
Rating:
5
Date:
9/19/2009
Review:
Very happy with products and the online experience
Reviewer:
Microboater
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2009
Review:
For the Oasis (large and heavy tandem) you must get this rudder. It has a little more drag in the water, but you need it for best control in wind and waves. Using it, we have found we can strap a 10-foot inflatable catamaran alongside our Oasis and suffer no loss of steering. Easy to change. Carry the old one as a spare in case you whack a rock.
Reviewer:
Max Idiana
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2009
Review:
Easy to install on my Revo. Combined with ST fins the Revo turns (almost) on a dime. You'll notice difference when you reinstall the standard rudder. 5 Stars, fulfills all expectations.
Reviewer:
KR
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2009
Review:
I installed this on a Hobie Sport and it is great. The boat is more responsive in turns and the larger rudder helps hold course in wind, especially when sailing.
Reviewer:
JM
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2009
Review:
Must have addition to a Hobie Revo! Easy to install and makes boat more responsive either peddling or paddling. Great service by ACK.
Reviewer:
Desmo
Rating:
5
Date:
7/6/2009
Review:
Inexpensive upgrade to my outfitter. Turning is quicker (wasn't that bad before) but clearance of underwater obstacles is less. I do not find it necessary for normal use, but it is not a hinderance either. Bought to make sailing more stable. Have not tried it or the stock rudder under sail, but hear it is a MUST have. Should be in Sail Kit.
<<      5         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.161.190.9 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat