Home > Kayaking > Repair > Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$33.99
 
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$33.99
  In-stock: Due to the holiday your order will ship on Monday 7/6/2015.
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This oversized rudder blade will make steering the larger Hobie Mirage kayaks much easier.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Sean
Rating:
5
Date:
11/14/2012
Review:
I consider this to be one of those necessary upgrades as it makes the handling of the boat(without sail) so much easier and less frustrating, especially on windy and choppy water days. I highly recommend anyone who has or intends to buy any Hobie boat to consider getting this rudder, you'll be thankful you did.
Reviewer:
ucsdsoccer
Rating:
5
Date:
10/26/2012
Review:
Man, what a difference! The stock rudder was like hydroplaning - you could turn but not very quickly. The upgraded sailing rudder makes turning responsive and accurate. Just as a side note, when you do a hard turn with this rudder, your kayak will actually dip or lean to one side because it is so responsive. For normal conditions its not a big deal. However, I did find myself in some chop and found that I had to be conscious to lean the other way to offset the tilt when turning hard.
Reviewer:
Dogger
Rating:
5
Date:
9/7/2012
Review:
I have an Outback and the turns were sluggish with the std rudder. Installed the large rudder and it turns tight circles now. Great buy teamed with turbo fins. Easy to install. Highly recommend this one.
Reviewer:
Flipper
Rating:
5
Date:
9/3/2012
Review:
good upgrade. Definate need when you have a sail.
Reviewer:
jim
Rating:
4
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
Vey easy to mount, just a phillips screwdriver. They call this the sailing rudder, and I am sure it is a must have for the sail kit. But the other benifit is slow speed response and turning radius. If this is important, then get this rudder! I mounted this to my Hobie Revolution 13 and what a difference! It is about double the size of the stock rudder in terms of surface area. It is a little longer, so will increase draft a little. The only other downside is a slight increase in drag.
Reviewer:
Sue Nielsen
Rating:
5
Date:
8/16/2012
Review:
Must have! Kayak easier to steer when fishing. Catching more fish :)
Reviewer:
Bob
Rating:
5
Date:
6/21/2012
Review:
Virtually a must-have upgrade. We own two Revo 13s and after I upgraded one to the sailing rudder, we immediately realized we would need to upgrade both. Reduces turning radius by about half and the only drawback is that it increases draw a few inches - still much less than fins.
Reviewer:
Chosen
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2012
Review:
Much better, a must have when sailing. A must-must have when sailing with two people in a tandem. I have an Outfitter. Wouldnt turn into the wind at all with the standard rudder.
Reviewer:
Marty
Rating:
5
Date:
11/30/2011
Review:
A nice addon Makes my Outback, more responsive.
Reviewer:
Terry McClain
Rating:
5
Date:
9/17/2011
Review:
This rudder in combination with a set of Turbo fins made a huge difference in the performance of my Adventure model. A must have set up for the larger kayak models for added stability and performance.
Reviewer:
SF
Rating:
5
Date:
9/16/2011
Review:
Recommend for the larger Hobie boats, really helps manuverability
Reviewer:
Tonyb
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2011
Review:
A great addition to the kayak.
Live chat by BoldChat