FREE Shipping on ALL Orders + 15% Accessories w/Kayak* (details)
Home > Kayaking > Repair > Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$33.99
 
Hobie Large Twist and Stow Sailing Rudder Blade
$33.99
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: This oversized rudder blade will make steering the larger Hobie Mirage kayaks much easier.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
jim
Rating:
4
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
Vey easy to mount, just a phillips screwdriver. They call this the sailing rudder, and I am sure it is a must have for the sail kit. But the other benifit is slow speed response and turning radius. If this is important, then get this rudder! I mounted this to my Hobie Revolution 13 and what a difference! It is about double the size of the stock rudder in terms of surface area. It is a little longer, so will increase draft a little. The only other downside is a slight increase in drag.
Reviewer:
Sue Nielsen
Rating:
5
Date:
8/16/2012
Review:
Must have! Kayak easier to steer when fishing. Catching more fish :)
Reviewer:
Bob
Rating:
5
Date:
6/21/2012
Review:
Virtually a must-have upgrade. We own two Revo 13s and after I upgraded one to the sailing rudder, we immediately realized we would need to upgrade both. Reduces turning radius by about half and the only drawback is that it increases draw a few inches - still much less than fins.
Reviewer:
Chosen
Rating:
5
Date:
6/2/2012
Review:
Much better, a must have when sailing. A must-must have when sailing with two people in a tandem. I have an Outfitter. Wouldnt turn into the wind at all with the standard rudder.
Reviewer:
Marty
Rating:
5
Date:
11/30/2011
Review:
A nice addon Makes my Outback, more responsive.
Reviewer:
Terry McClain
Rating:
5
Date:
9/17/2011
Review:
This rudder in combination with a set of Turbo fins made a huge difference in the performance of my Adventure model. A must have set up for the larger kayak models for added stability and performance.
Reviewer:
SF
Rating:
5
Date:
9/16/2011
Review:
Recommend for the larger Hobie boats, really helps manuverability
Reviewer:
Tonyb
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2011
Review:
A great addition to the kayak.
Reviewer:
Jake Ethier
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2011
Review:
Must have for Hobie! Makes a huge difference in maneuvering around the water. A+
Reviewer:
etazeta
Rating:
4
Date:
7/18/2011
Review:
This is without a doubt the best possible upgrade in terms of ROI. I'm unaware of any other accessory that's $25 and rivals the positive change. Makes handling a breeze. Only reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is the size/weight. It's to be expected, but be prepared for a more difficult raising and lowering experience. Other than that, buy it.
Reviewer:
Al
Rating:
5
Date:
7/2/2011
Review:
This "balanced" rudder makes a big difference in handling when sailing. The original rudder was very difficult to hold on a port tack. This one is much easier to hold.
Reviewer:
Neal Crothers
Rating:
5
Date:
6/13/2011
Review:
It worked very will in turning the kayak but did not use it under sail.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:107.20.34.144 svr:55
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat