Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade Product Details.
$32.99
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
mmk
Rating:
4
Date:
4/8/2010
Review:
I use the Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade rudder on my Outback. It markedly improves the steering response and the tracking of the yak and it is a very nice upgrade in that regard. The only complaint I have with it's increased size is that when handling the yak on land, it has become significantly harder to get at the rear T-handle when the rudder is in the up/stowed position.
Reviewer:
DaveDUtah
Rating:
5
Date:
4/1/2010
Review:
Worked great with sail kit in the 6-10 mph winds on my first outing with it. A cordless phillips head screwdriver will make switching it with the old one relatively painless. No other tool was needed.
Reviewer:
nguyenhpa
Rating:
5
Date:
11/22/2009
Review:
Definitely helpful for steering as well as drifting. Makes the whole kayak more responsive directionally
Reviewer:
leemille
Rating:
5
Date:
10/4/2009
Review:
The Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade worked like a charm. easy to install with the correct tools. ACK are the guys to deal with. i don't sail i just wanted more control and i got it. if you own a mirage kayak i highly recommend this rudder as an add on.
Reviewer:
Itacknjibe
Rating:
5
Date:
9/26/2009
Review:
This Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade is a must if you sail, and makes the boat handle much more responsively at other times as well.
Reviewer:
Pablo
Rating:
5
Date:
9/19/2009
Review:
Very happy with products and the online experience
Reviewer:
Microboater
Rating:
5
Date:
9/2/2009
Review:
For the Oasis (large and heavy tandem) you must get this rudder. It has a little more drag in the water, but you need it for best control in wind and waves. Using it, we have found we can strap a 10-foot inflatable catamaran alongside our Oasis and suffer no loss of steering. Easy to change. Carry the old one as a spare in case you whack a rock.
Reviewer:
Max Idiana
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2009
Review:
Easy to install on my Revo. Combined with ST fins the Revo turns (almost) on a dime. You'll notice difference when you reinstall the standard rudder. 5 Stars, fulfills all expectations.
Reviewer:
KR
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2009
Review:
I installed this on a Hobie Sport and it is great. The boat is more responsive in turns and the larger rudder helps hold course in wind, especially when sailing.
Reviewer:
JM
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2009
Review:
Must have addition to a Hobie Revo! Easy to install and makes boat more responsive either peddling or paddling. Great service by ACK.
Reviewer:
Desmo
Rating:
5
Date:
7/6/2009
Review:
Inexpensive upgrade to my outfitter. Turning is quicker (wasn't that bad before) but clearance of underwater obstacles is less. I do not find it necessary for normal use, but it is not a hinderance either. Bought to make sailing more stable. Have not tried it or the stock rudder under sail, but hear it is a MUST have. Should be in Sail Kit.
Reviewer:
Maine guide
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2009
Review:
A great price and easy to install. I use an Adventure and this rudder should come standard. i find it kind of strange that my kayak being literally twice as long as the Sport comes stock with the same size rudder. Be careful the first time you use it. The fist sharp turn i made with it dumped me out of the boat. You will find yourself naturally leaning into the sharp turns
<<      5         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.227.156.177 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat