Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade - Product Reviews
Return to Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade Product Details.
$32.99
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Isaac
Rating:
5
Date:
4/1/2014
Review:
Great upgrade for my Outback, and great compliment to the turbo fins. Tracking is better with this rudder, which translates to more hands free peddling. Note that its larger size causes it to overlap the rear hatch when it is in the stowed position. Not that big of a deal, but you will have to move the rudder to open the hatch.
Reviewer:
Pat Connolly
Rating:
5
Date:
9/21/2013
Review:
I found the blade to be an excellent replacement for my damaged blade
Reviewer:
ksawyer
Rating:
5
Date:
8/27/2013
Review:
Definitely increases maneuverability of kayak and is most apparent when used with sail kit, as was intended purpose. Doesn't seem to always "twist and store" as easily as original rudder, but this a minor nuisance.
Reviewer:
SP
Rating:
5
Date:
6/24/2013
Review:
Very fast, easy installation. I noticed the improvement in tracking and handling immediately. I would recommend this to all Hobie owners, not just those interested in sailing.
Reviewer:
Jeremy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/20/2013
Review:
A must have for the Hobie Adventure
Reviewer:
Michael Greene
Rating:
5
Date:
12/26/2012
Review:
Hobie Large Sailing Rudder Blade. Greatly improves steering response. Money well spent.
Reviewer:
mik
Rating:
5
Date:
11/23/2012
Review:
A majority of my kayaking is done in a river with strong tidal action and constant current, the larger rudder is a huge improvement for these conditions
Reviewer:
Sean
Rating:
5
Date:
11/14/2012
Review:
I consider this to be one of those necessary upgrades as it makes the handling of the boat(without sail) so much easier and less frustrating, especially on windy and choppy water days. I highly recommend anyone who has or intends to buy any Hobie boat to consider getting this rudder, you'll be thankful you did.
Reviewer:
ucsdsoccer
Rating:
5
Date:
10/26/2012
Review:
Man, what a difference! The stock rudder was like hydroplaning - you could turn but not very quickly. The upgraded sailing rudder makes turning responsive and accurate. Just as a side note, when you do a hard turn with this rudder, your kayak will actually dip or lean to one side because it is so responsive. For normal conditions its not a big deal. However, I did find myself in some chop and found that I had to be conscious to lean the other way to offset the tilt when turning hard.
Reviewer:
Dogger
Rating:
5
Date:
9/7/2012
Review:
I have an Outback and the turns were sluggish with the std rudder. Installed the large rudder and it turns tight circles now. Great buy teamed with turbo fins. Easy to install. Highly recommend this one.
Reviewer:
Flipper
Rating:
5
Date:
9/3/2012
Review:
good upgrade. Definate need when you have a sail.
Reviewer:
jim
Rating:
4
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
Vey easy to mount, just a phillips screwdriver. They call this the sailing rudder, and I am sure it is a must have for the sail kit. But the other benifit is slow speed response and turning radius. If this is important, then get this rudder! I mounted this to my Hobie Revolution 13 and what a difference! It is about double the size of the stock rudder in terms of surface area. It is a little longer, so will increase draft a little. The only other downside is a slight increase in drag.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.82.229.76 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat