Wilderness Systems Tarpon 160 Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 160 Kayak Product Details.
$1,129.00
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
JMW
Rating:
5
Date:
12/10/2012
Review:
Bought a leftover 2012. She rocks. Fast as a sit-in and enough storage for the long days. I also purchased Scotty 438 Gear Heads for my forward Slide Tracks. Well worth it. And as always ACK is the BEST
Reviewer:
dgbingham
Rating:
3
Date:
9/30/2012
Review:
I bought this based on the overall glowing reviews. Compared to the Prism that I have used for the last 20 years, this kayak is marginally faster and is better laid out to be rigged for fishing but it is exceptionally hard to turn and the rudder has virtually no effect. It also leaks like a sieve. In 20 years my Prism has not had a drop of water inside it but in the first rain this thing has a lot of water in it plus the seat is terrible. By that I mean I got a backache in the first 10 minutes of sitting in it. Overall I rate it so-so.
Reviewer:
BigFish
Rating:
5
Date:
8/22/2012
Review:
Okay I think it is only fair that I put a review on here for both the WS Tarpon 160 and ACK. First the WS Tarpon 160: Great Boat. Took this boat out in the Calibogue Sound in Hilton Head Island as a first launch of the boat. The PROS are that this boat is stable. You can sit on the side and fish, you can turn around in to recover gear from the milk crate that will fit in the back. The 160 is my first SOT so I have nothing to compare in speed, but it was very easy to paddle. The rudder takes it from great to a Dream. The 160 is not effected by winds and waves and it travels over wake from large boats without fearing of falling in. Caught some pretty large spanish and a couple sharks and the only advice I can give, is never NEVER throw your catch in the front hatch. Still trying to remove the smell. Now the CONS: Only a couple of issues, when caught in a bad current rip you are going to work to get through it. Last... this thing is heavy. Sure I can manage it on my own, but its a struggle. With a 200 beach walk to get the boat to the water and to throw the boat up on an SUV, is tough. OVERALL: Buy it! I would buy it all over again ACK. Now an ACK Review: These people will take care of you. The kayak arrived in so much cardboard and bubble wrap that I still havent found my kids I lost in the packaging. I was really worried about how it would be delivered - perfect, is the only word I can use. ACK will treat you right and if not they will make it right. The only suggestion I have to ACK and maybe to aquire additional business after the sale is to make the discount for accessories for purchasing a kayak available for a 12 month period. Spending $1300 on a kayak and then possible buying a bunch of other items only makes the wife even more upset. Also, I figured out some additional items I need after Ive been in the boat for a week or two. Just saying! Take it for what another review is worth, but my two cents would be: #1 - The WS Tarpon 160 is a great kayak and/or platform to fish for big fish from anytime,anywhere. #2 - I was seriously impressed with ACK and will return for a WS RIDE 135 next year just dont tell the wife Thank you, Paul Norton, OH
Reviewer:
bigkevkayaker
Rating:
5
Date:
8/17/2012
Review:
Awesome boat. Purchased after some low life stole my older Tarpon 160 off my car at HOME!!! Very comfortable boat System 3 seat is great, not as sleak as older Tarpon but still is able to move along well. Handles wave with ease. Best of all was service and fast shipping by Austin Kayak. In a time of despair I had a new boat delivered free in less than a week. ACK will be seeing my business for years to come
Reviewer:
goranz
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2012
Review:
I am very happy with my new Tarpon 160. I have been waiting for seven years to buy the right boat at the right price. After paddling an Ocean Kayak Trident 15 I decided to go with the Tarpon and am very pleased with my decision. The rod pod didnt do much for me but made the cockpit feel smaller and I only fly fish so 90% of my kayak fishing is the trip from point A to B. Tidal rivers, Tidal flats of New England, river mouths of the Great Lakes, Adirondack lakes and rivers... for now. I felt comfortable in the kayak right away even in 2-3 foot swells on Lake Erie. I am going to add side stabilizers for safety if I decide to fish in open water. Plenty of storage, dry ride I am 61 and 180 pounds. Side track mounting is a great addition and makes adding accessories easy. I think I will have a lot of fun in the future. On delivery note from ACK - the kayak came packaged very well, shipped fast without a scratch. Thank you.
Reviewer:
James
Rating:
4
Date:
7/21/2011
Review:
Love the kayak...the only negative would be the camo color is not really camo...mostly green and has odd splotches of color mixed in...I am not dissatisfied though....
Reviewer:
Shawn
Rating:
5
Date:
9/21/2010
Review:
Great kayak, I have a 12' Manta Ray as well but this one works great around the Chesapeake Bay where I live. i would recommend this kayak to everyone who lives near open water, had it 2 weeks ago in 2' swells and it handle great.
Reviewer:
ChefJeff
Rating:
5
Date:
7/15/2010
Review:
Awesome Yak. Even faster than my outback is with paddles.
Reviewer:
Magilla Gorilla
Rating:
4
Date:
6/28/2010
Review:
Love the speed of this kayak. Stable and dry and comfortable. Delivery from ACK was quick and kayak was package and protected well.
Reviewer:
freedive
Rating:
5
Date:
6/13/2010
Review:
I bought this kayak to freedive and spearfish off of at least 3 miles off the beach in the Gulf. It delivers in every way. Stable, easy to paddle and control, well layed out, water tight. Not the lightest when it comes to loading, but with a little preplanning and patience, it can be racked and launched by one person. The rudder is a must for windy days and a swell. Both are usually going perpendicular to you. The seat has enough adjustments that make it a custom fit. Not a swift turner which you will find out when on a narrow winding river. Lash down gear with supplied tiedowns when storing ANYTHING below deck, or they will all end up in the stern. A kayak well worth the investment, from a dealer well worth the visit.
Reviewer:
Laura
Rating:
5
Date:
4/9/2009
Review:
I bought my new 2009 Tarpon in March. We took it on a trip to Lake Powell with an older Tarpon 160. I was very impressed with the new hull shape, and the amount of cargo room inside the hull. This boat just looks gorgeous on the water. The size of the tankwell has about doubled from the older version, and I love it. I am also impressed with the slide trax system. I bought the clips and extra bungee and rigged up a really versatile system over the tankwell. The phase 3 seat was really comfortable. I paddled for 5 hours without any complaint. In order to have the larger tankwell, WS moved the rear hatch in front of the seat. This makes it difficult to store things under the tankwell (although next time I will be tying rope on all my drybags for easier recovery). Overall I am extremely happy with my new yak. I got the mango coloring, and it is beautiful. I am also very happy with Austin, very fast and easy delivery.
Reviewer:
JH
Rating:
5
Date:
2/13/2009
Review:
Awesome boat!
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.196.215.114 svr:149
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat