Home > Kayaking > Hobie Accessories > Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit
Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit
$129.00
 
Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit
$129.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit upgrades the Mirage Drive with new fins and masts to increase the surface area by over 10 percent. Hobie Mirage kayak users report as much as a 10% increase in speed and more using ST Turbo Fins. But its not all about speed, you can get top end speed and a slower cadence for cruising (Less pedals per mile). All achieved with this larger and more efficient fin design. The longer fins can also increase lateral resistance for sailing upwind. The ST (Square Tip) designs will require a bit more effort to pedal. The added effort is commonly compared to pedaling a bike up a slight incline. In addition, the included fin tension screw allows adjustment to achieve lower end torque or top end speed to meet individual preferences.

• The Hobie Mirage Turbo Fin Kit will make you the envy of your paddling community
• Kit includes two fins and two masts
• Set Screw kits are for all Mirage Drives that have an allen wrench set screw (pre July 2008)
• Threaded kits are for all Mirage Drives that the masts screw into sprocket (post July 2008)
• Fin tension screw allows adjustment to achieve lower end torque or top end speed to meet individual preferences
• Discounts and/or coupons do not apply to this item
Item #: 524
Size/Color Part Number UPC
Gray/Black - Set Screw V1 72065 0792176716273
Gray/Black - Threaded V2 72066001 0792176494461
Red/Black - Threaded V2 72066021 0792176077756
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Richard
Rating:
5
Date:
8/8/2008
Review:
These were great for getting more speed. They give a little more resistance on the pedals, but make up for it by not having to pedal as fast. I'm very happy with them.
Reviewer:
OW
Rating:
5
Date:
7/30/2008
Review:
I bought two sets of these fins for a Hobie outfitter tandem, and used ACKs discount code in their newsletter. I couldn't be happier with them. The turbo fins slow down the cadence required to maintain a decent clip, which I find more comfortable than the stock fins.
Reviewer:
PM
Rating:
5
Date:
7/16/2008
Review:
A little pricey but a must for the mirage drive. Hobie should use these as stock fins. Increased speed with much slower cadence. It is like being in the correct gear on your bike rather than stuck in low gear.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
5
Date:
7/1/2008
Review:
After changing one set of fins to the Turbo Fins on my tandem, I took the yak out solo with both Mirage Drives to test the fins. The turbo fins moved faster through the water with less peddling. Great improvement over the stock fins, now I just need a second set for the front!
Reviewer:
Ed Mc
Rating:
5
Date:
6/28/2008
Review:
If you are on the fence about these go for it! The way the mirage drive should come as standard. Very little extra effort compared to stock nice increase in speed.
Reviewer:
TaosWheat
Rating:
5
Date:
5/7/2008
Review:
I installed my Turbo kit before putting my Outback in the water, so I can't compare the Turbo to normal fins. What I can say, is that I have no problem pedaling the yak with the Turbo fins and I can easily maintain 2.5 to 3 mph with relatively little effort. They must work.
Reviewer:
kayakaventura
Rating:
5
Date:
4/26/2008
Review:
EXCELLENT!
Reviewer:
Marco
Rating:
5
Date:
4/17/2008
Review:
One of the best upgrades I have done for my Hobie revolution. I almost think Hobie should send the mirage drives that way from the factory.
Reviewer:
business1broker
Rating:
5
Date:
12/15/2007
Review:
Like a higher gear on a bike, makes pedaling more efficient if you prefer strength over repetition. Tad pricey.
Reviewer:
Ron of Kingsland,Ga.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/17/2007
Review:
Great extra power against the incoming and out going tides!!! Just a bit more noisy than the original size... Well recommended for tidal flows and long trips.
Reviewer:
J in Washington
Rating:
5
Date:
8/3/2007
Review:
The turbo fin is incredible! It increase my peddling speed from about 2.2mph to about 3.8mph, while keeping my cadence at a very comfortable pace. I can go much faster if I peddle faster! There is more resistance with the turbo fin. But I equate it to going slightly downhill on a bike using the med chain ring (turbo fins) vs the small chain ring (reg fins!). You go a lot farther with every stroke!

I let my 2 friends try it, and they each purchased one the next
Reviewer:
Bill H
Rating:
5
Date:
7/25/2007
Review:
Increased speed .5 to .75 mph with same cadence as std fins on Revo. A little extra effort required, but you get used to it quickly. At slow speeds (2-2.5 mph) it is effortless. Well worth the expense.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.92.241.157 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat