Home > Kayaking > Hobie Accessories > Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit
Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit
$129.00
 
Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit
$129.00
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit upgrades the Mirage Drive with new fins and masts to increase the surface area by over 10 percent. Hobie Mirage kayak users report as much as a 10% increase in speed and more using ST Turbo Fins. But its not all about speed, you can get top end speed and a slower cadence for cruising (Less pedals per mile). All achieved with this larger and more efficient fin design. The longer fins can also increase lateral resistance for sailing upwind. The ST (Square Tip) designs will require a bit more effort to pedal. The added effort is commonly compared to pedaling a bike up a slight incline. In addition, the included fin tension screw allows adjustment to achieve lower end torque or top end speed to meet individual preferences.

• The Hobie Mirage Turbo Fin Kit will make you the envy of your paddling community
• Kit includes two fins and two masts
• Set Screw kits are for all Mirage Drives that have an allen wrench set screw (pre July 2008)
• Threaded kits are for all Mirage Drives that the masts screw into sprocket (post July 2008)
• Fin tension screw allows adjustment to achieve lower end torque or top end speed to meet individual preferences
• Discounts and/or coupons do not apply to this item
Item #: 524
Size/Color Part Number UPC
Gray/Black - Set Screw V1 72065 0792176716273
Gray/Black - Threaded V2 72066001 0792176494461
Red/Black - Threaded V2 72066021 0792176077756
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Hobie Mirage ST Turbo Fin Kit please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: If you want to go faster in your kayak then this is the way to do it. The hobie mirage system was a great idea. This made it even better. Increase your speed with this simple turbo fin kit.
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Kayak
Rating:
5
Date:
4/15/2013
Review:
I love the added resistance and speed. Relating it to riding a bike, I felt the standard fins were in too low of a gear. I now get more out of each stoke, and a better leg workout.
Reviewer:
Kayaking is fun
Rating:
5
Date:
4/15/2013
Review:
AWESOME PRODUCT!!! super easy to glide quickly and easily through the water. Much faster than regular fin. Would recommend!!
Reviewer:
mik
Rating:
5
Date:
11/23/2012
Review:
Nice upgrade over the standard equipment. Even at maximum torque setting I find them easy to pedal. It makes kayaking against river currents and tides more controllable.
Reviewer:
Kevin C
Rating:
5
Date:
11/5/2012
Review:
They are faster. There is a difference, it was like going from 1st gear to 7th. I consider myself in shape and swim at least 2 miles a day 5-6 days a week over a decade. I was out for 4 1/2 hours I did get used to them. Ill need to adjust my speed for trolling, I was used to trolling with the small ones and my Hobie was a fishing machine, now the speeed is differnt and I only caught one today.
Reviewer:
1
Rating:
5
Date:
10/2/2012
Review:
GREAT PRODUCTS ,EASY INSTALL ,KAYAK GO ALOT FASTER WITHOUT USE ALOT OF ENERGY ,THANK
Reviewer:
DAN
Rating:
4
Date:
9/13/2012
Review:
I am with the turbo fins--- I kayak in the Niagara River where the current is constant- - They were quite inpressive and easy to peddle-- Wish Hobie would just include these in the purchase of a new kayak--
Reviewer:
Flipper
Rating:
5
Date:
9/3/2012
Review:
Got these turbo fins for my outback. My wife liked them so much we got to purchase another set for her outback. Now we paddle in harmony again.
Reviewer:
Andy B
Rating:
5
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
I held off on following the crowd and swapping out my fins for a while. I had some tendonitis from cycling and didnt want to risk aggravating the condition in the kayak. After about 15 months or so and passing through a stint with the mid-size fin upgrade I broke down and bought the turbos. I LOVE THEM. They have not bothered my knees, and were not significantly more difficult to pedal than the already upgraded fins I was using. They are very different though. With the two smaller sizes of fins, you have to pump faster to go faster, but it is like riding in 2nd gear. You simply set the pace by how much you exert yourself. With the turbos though, I felt like i had two gears now. Hi and lo. The first thing you notice is that you cant use the same cadence. The pedals feel much firmer under your feet. So you pedal slower and more methodically, while still maintaining about 2 kts. This is a very relaxed pace once you are used to the new fins. Then, if you want to go faster, you can push a little harder on the pedals and make about 3.5 kts, still without burning yourself out. I finally feel like I am covering ground in my Outback. I used to resign myself to the fact that a three mile pedal would take about 45 minutes. Now, I can maintain about a 3.5 knot pace without really exerting myself. This should be a big help in the fall when the birds and Albies are on the sand eels in NJ! I highly recommend the turbo fins once your body an conditioning are ready.
Reviewer:
gk
Rating:
3
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
The kit is by Hobie and is good quality. The removal of the old threaded masts which were only used twice was difficult. The increase in speed with the Turbo fins is not impressive. The removal of the old masts required the use of vise grip pliers.
Reviewer:
Mike Schrag
Rating:
5
Date:
8/30/2012
Review:
Turbo fins worked great... I noticed the difference in speed immediately. Of course they work you a bit harder but well worth it. Install was simple. Too bad theyre not an option when purchasing the kayaks but still worth the extra $.
Reviewer:
canvas guy
Rating:
4
Date:
8/1/2012
Review:
I was pleased with the upgrade performance. Put the shaft through the lower part of the fins on initial trip. Quick fix from the web site. Understand this will be the nature of the beast and worth the trade off.
Reviewer:
MJM
Rating:
5
Date:
5/23/2012
Review:
Both ACK and the turbo fins get five stars. Dont even think about it, they are a great upgrade. I honestly couldnt tell that they were harder to pedal, but they certainly make the kayak move!
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.234.59.94 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat