Malone Downloader Folding Kayak Carrier MPG114MD - Product Reviews
Return to Malone Downloader Folding Kayak Carrier MPG114MD Product Details.
MSRP:  $159.95
$143.95 You Save: $16.00(10%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships today if ordered within the next
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
djmontg
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2012
Review:
Excellent build quality and function. Mounts solidly on Wispbar oval crossbars, and provides a very secure carry for long sea kayak even with only a 32 inch spread c to c. Combined with the Malone Telos load assist, a terrific load and carry system. Was able to outfit with 2 racks and Telos Load assist for less than the cost of one Thule hullivator, for the same level of quality build and function.
Reviewer:
Will
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2012
Review:
Awesome...product,ordering process,and shipping :
Reviewer:
Ron
Rating:
5
Date:
7/21/2012
Review:
Easy on and easy off. Great racks, boats are very secure and ride great.
Reviewer:
wayneg
Rating:
5
Date:
7/5/2012
Review:
These are quite easy to use and install, seem pretty universal, I put them on a CRV, bought two. It would have been nice if they used all Stainless steel bolts, the ones where the arm folds is but the one going through the bracket to hold it on the roof top rack is not, may need to switch them out. Outside of that a real nice product.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
5
Date:
7/3/2012
Review:
GREAT PRODUCT !! I have two sets on top of our Jeep Patriot. They make loading our yaks a breeze!!
Reviewer:
RT
Rating:
5
Date:
6/16/2012
Review:
Great all around,features,ease of installation and less expensive than the Thules
Reviewer:
PR
Rating:
5
Date:
5/11/2012
Review:
I bought 2 and am very happy. I have a Chev. Equinox and need to lift the kayaks above my head.But being able to lean the kayaks on the carrier and push the kayak up and into place takes less force. They are very sturdy and fold flat when not in use. Very good product.
Reviewer:
MB
Rating:
5
Date:
3/26/2012
Review:
Very nice product. Works as described and the carrier was mounted to an aluminum truck cap rack without difficulty. I have been adding bits of foam to pad the boat where it meets the rack and there is no issues as I transport a P&H Capella and P&H Delphin. Very Stable and well made carrier.
Reviewer:
KA
Rating:
4
Date:
1/12/2012
Review:
Product works as expected on my Toyota Sequoia. Attached to the standard roof rack cross members and holds the Tarpon 120 without issue. I bought this so I could carry 2 kayaks. One tipped up and the other held flat with 4 tie downs. The carrier works great for this approach. I will say that the Tarpon (which is light relative to many other kayaks), is much harder to get on this rack than it is to slide from the rear of the vehicle on to the top and store flat. The reason is that you must lift the entire weight of the kayak in order to get it on to the malone rack. It must be done from the side. The issue goes away if you have two people (I will because I only use this when transporting more than one). But, be advised.
Reviewer:
Yakitup
Rating:
5
Date:
10/14/2011
Review:
Good product-well built-if it were just 3/4" wider it would even fit my Hobie Mirage. It does hold it snugly and works great, and rode nicely at 80mph. The guys following said it never looked like it moved and straps were snug back at home.Straps down my smaller yaks as well. You do not need longer bolts for an Toyo FJ on factory racks the long bolts in the box work perfectly.
Reviewer:
Kristin
Rating:
5
Date:
8/14/2011
Review:
Wonderful product!!! Works exactly as needed!
Reviewer:
Tom Hanlon
Rating:
4
Date:
7/29/2011
Review:
Cheaper than the Thule, and holds the kayak more securely. The lip (more later on this) and the sticky, hard rubber are very effective. Main drawback is that the straps do not have the protective rubber caps that the Thule straps have, so the fasteners can damage your car, when thrown over the kayak. I substituted a set of Thule straps. Also, it is necessary to hoist the boat a few inches higher than w/ the Thule rack to get the boat over the lip. Sounds like a small thing, but if you are close to your limit, it might require the use of a box or step
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.89.67.228 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat