Home > Racks & Trailers > Kayak Carriers > Rollers, Saddles & Cradles > Malone Downloader Folding Kayak Carrier MPG114MD

Malone Downloader Folding Kayak Carrier MPG114MD

MSRP:  $159.95
$143.95
 
 
Malone Downloader Folding Kayak Carrier MPG114MD
MSRP:  $159.95
$143.95 You Save: $16.00(10%)

In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!

ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Roger Kruk
Rating:
3
Date:
4/22/2017
Review:
Directions provided seemed difficult to understand. Advertising said this carrier is universal fit but hardware provided did not work on my crossbars. I needed to get longer bolts, washers and nuts to hold it on. Once on it seems very secure. This carrier was made to be attached to a narrower crossbar than I have.
Reviewer:
Kenneth P.
Rating:
2
Date:
3/27/2017
Review:
Malone MPG114MD is NOT a universal fit. The base is cut out for square and round bars and not for Aerobars or other factory oval bars. 2 stars is the benefit of guessing it would work given old fashioned Thule or Yakima bars. Malone really needs t wake up and reengineer the base as well as to admit to this product's shortcomings. I talked to Malone rep Rachel before and after product delivery. Only after she conceded that the flat base of the product was not a fit for the convex surface of the Aerobar did she say that Malone has a kluge t-track adapter at extra cost (like the yak attack track adapter). I opted not to try this with a 70# load going down the highway.
Reviewer:
Kurt K.
Rating:
5
Date:
9/25/2016
Review:
Love these carriers. Fit in the garage without taking them off. Ez to load
Reviewer:
Rapid Robert
Rating:
4
Date:
9/14/2016
Review:
I have previously purchased two sets of these carriers a few years ago and keep them on my truck rack. They had a wire loop to retain the strap at the top of the loop, now the new set has a plastic keeper that the strap can come out of under certain circumstances as someone else has mentioned. I feel the old keeper is a better option. Also the canvas cushion covers are I hope upgraded on the new ones as the older version faded and became rotten in one year from sun exposure otherwise they are a very durable and strong carrier that work very well.
Reviewer:
Matthew T.
Rating:
5
Date:
3/25/2016
Review:
I was extremely hesitant to spend this much on a kayak carrier, but I'm really glad I decided to spend the extra money and get these. They are high quality, very sturdy, and the ability to fold them down when not in use is great. I have them mounted on very large oval crossbars. They fit great, and they don't budge. I ended up looping a bicycle lock around them to prevent theft, since they could easily be removed otherwise. If you're considering these, I highly recommend them!
Reviewer:
Paul L.
Rating:
5
Date:
3/7/2016
Review:
Used on a 2013 Nissan Murano and it sure makes loading/unloading much easier.
Reviewer:
Mark B.
Rating:
4
Date:
9/22/2015
Review:
I'm really happy with it. I like the loading ramps a lot easier on my old shoulders. Took a 6 hour trip each way and only had to adjust the kayaks once. I had bought a cheaper version without J-style racks and it didn't last one trip. I will probably purchase cockpit covers for more aero dynamics.
Reviewer:
Roger
Rating:
5
Date:
9/21/2015
Review:
I have 3 sets of these mounted on a Yakima Rack & Roll trailer. They are very substantial and support the kayaks extremely well. I am very happy with the Malone Downloader Folding kayak carriers.
Reviewer:
Paul P.
Rating:
5
Date:
6/15/2015
Review:
Got 2 for 2014 jeep Cherokee on thule base rack. Works great and easy install
Reviewer:
Jeremy T.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/29/2015
Review:
These racks fit perfectly on my car and have been safe thus far through short and long excursions to use my kayak.
Reviewer:
Max B.
Rating:
5
Date:
4/23/2015
Review:
Bought two pair for two kayaks...they're great! Very sturdy yet light. Easy to set the straps in place while the mount is down and easy to reach, then raise the mount upright and lock into place. Quick and easy to lash the kayaks in place. Can't beat the price, and, so far, I'm very impressed with the Malone features and performance. Absolutely no reservations recommending these.
Reviewer:
Don
Rating:
3
Date:
11/24/2014
Review:
Quality is not close to Thule but appears to be adequate. That's a big dissapointment.
<<  <  1         >>
Live Chat