Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Camping & Hiking > Kitchen & Base Camp > Containers & Storage > Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95
 
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95 You Save: $10.00(13%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
tnaluai
Rating:
4
Date:
9/13/2012
Review:
Tricky to get open practice before you head out to use it and the food has to be freeze dried to fit enough for 7 days plus all the other stuff. My family would rather go hungry than eat those Mountain House meals but between the vault and the bear wire it worked well. I like that you can see in the can without having to pull everything out.
Reviewer:
Avid Hiker
Rating:
5
Date:
9/8/2012
Review:
I bought the Bear Vault BV500 upon the recommendation of a friend who already owned one. I took my cannister into the Bob Marshall Wilderness for a five day, 50 mile backpack. The Bob is known for the Grizzly Bears that inhabit it, and I wanted an easier way to store my food. Fortunately, we didnt have any bear encounters, but it was nice to know we didnt have to hang our food all the time, and it made a great seat when needed. I like that it is clear and you can see the food in case you are looking for something in particular. The can is pretty easy to open, but a couple of cold mornings made it a little more challenging to make my fingers do what they were supposed to. All in all, a good product.
Reviewer:
CaT
Rating:
4
Date:
8/13/2012
Review:
This version of the Bear Vault is a big improvement over the wood coin-opened original version. However, I still maintain that getting a full weeks worth of food into one of these BV500 is wishful thinking, unless you plan on not eating much for a week, or only plan on eating powdered foods. And thats not including your other non-food smellies that bears seem to like to investigate. I personally would like to see something even roomier than the BV500. Just my opinion. But if you can fit a week of food, etc. into one of these, it is a wonderful product.
Reviewer:
Emily
Rating:
4
Date:
7/8/2012
Review:
I must eat alot and I am a woman but I dont think I could get 10 days worth in the vault. But it is easy to use and see what one has. I would, of course, love to have a lighter vault but that may not be possible.
Reviewer:
ATBound2012
Rating:
5
Date:
2/22/2012
Review:
Item arrived promptly, haven't used it on the trail yet but have packed it to get used to it, I think I can get 10 days worth of food in it and it was easy to open as stated, like the fact you can see what's in it as well.
Reviewer:
Quackenbush
Rating:
5
Date:
8/31/2011
Review:
I received my order quickly and it performed as advertised. It holds copious amounts of food. I bring protein bars, Clif bars and ready to eat trail food and it holds them beautifully. with this I can easily go out for 10 days by myself and have leftovers. It opens easily and seals completely and fits into my pack.
Reviewer:
David
Rating:
5
Date:
8/28/2011
Review:
Great Product. It is the only one National Parks will recognize for backcountry camping. This container held over 7 days of supplies.
<<    2    >  >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.204.94.228 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat