Home > Camping & Hiking > Kitchen & Base Camp > Containers & Storage > Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Regular Price: $69.95
Special Price:
$79.95
 
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Regular Price: $69.95
Special Price:
$79.95
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister is a super rugged transparent polycarbonate storage container that resists impacts without shattering. The lid of the Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister has an innovative patented design that you can open and close without tools. The mouth is extra wide so it provides full access for loading and unloading and the transparent design allows easy identification of contents. The recessed guides in the side of the bottle keep tie down straps in place for easy attachment to your pack. Black Bear approved by SIBBG, Grizzy Bear approved by IGBC.

• Black Bear approved by SIBBG, Grizzy Bear approved by IGBC
• 7 Days capacity
• Built in tie down strap guides
• Lid opens and closes without tools
• Transparent polycarbonate housing resists impacts without shattering
Item #: 4369
Weight: 41 oz / 1162.33 g
Material: Polycarbonate
Part Number UPC
BV500 0893554000097
Back to Top
 Product Videos
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
QUADMOMMA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2014
Review:
Nice big bear canister. Best one for the price. Great Service, got it in just a few days. Would recommend it to all backpackers going into bear country.
Reviewer:
kcorathers
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2014
Review:
Best bear can on the market for the price. Period.
Reviewer:
Great Canister
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Best canister on the market for the price. Only Bearicade is better and it's over $200. Can't find a better option when hiking in bear country.
Reviewer:
Csinclair
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Took this canister on a three day hike in Colorado. This site had the best price I could find and I scoured the internet. It is heavy so be prepared but it works!! We met another couple who had had their food stolen after they had tied it up in a tree. The bear climbed the tree and ruined their trip. This thing is so much easier than tying up. But it is super heavy so be prepared and pack light otherwise.
Reviewer:
Patty
Rating:
5
Date:
3/31/2014
Review:
Excellent service! The bear canister arrived only two days after I ordered it. It was exactly as described.
Reviewer:
Clark Phillips
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
The top is not THAT difficult to unscrew... although when your hands are cold and you're ready to eat, you definitely wish it was easier. However, a bear canister that is NOT super easy to open sounds like a great bear canister! It does double nicely as a stool to sit on while eating. Its light weight. I was EASILY able to fit 5 days worth of food in it. I believe you could fit up to 8 assuming you don't eat like a king.
Reviewer:
Laura
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
Great product! Lightweight; large opening makes it easy to use and to clean; convenient as a camp stool/table; can be a bit of a pain to open, but the peace-of-mind is well worth it. (If you're having trouble turning the lid, applying some pressure to the canister with your knees while you turn usually does the trick.)
Reviewer:
JW, Denver
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
We purchased one of these for a backcountry hiking/camping trip in Rocky Mountain. The bears up there are getting more aggressive these days and bear canisters are now required. ACK was initially out of stock, but their great customer service got the canister to us in plenty of time for our trip. The canister itself is great. Difficult to give it an awesome because these things are just so darn heavy and a real pain to hump with. We've tried all the others (except the super light/super expensive one) and this is the lightest in its price class. It's clear and that makes it easier to root around for that one thing that you need that always seems to fall to the bottom. Looking for a bear canister and tired of renting? This is the one.
Reviewer:
KHA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2013
Review:
Bought for a trip to the BWCAW; very happy with it. Holds quite a bit; we had four in our party, and so we put a couple of days of food in it and hung the rest in a bag, and then restocked the Bear Vault as needed.
Reviewer:
pekosek
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2013
Review:
It's my favourite bear canister - it has wide opening, lid screws on and off easily, it's big enough for me for even 200miles worth of food, and clear walls help a lot with food organizing. and it's a great thing to sit on in a camp:-)
Reviewer:
Martin
Rating:
5
Date:
5/18/2013
Review:
Works good so far, but I haven't had a bear try to open it yet.
Reviewer:
rp
Rating:
5
Date:
9/28/2012
Review:
Product was delivered promptly and in perfect shape. This was a flawless transaction.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.92.231.100 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat