FREE Shipping on ALL Kayaks & Orders over $39* (details)
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister - Product Reviews
Return to Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister Product Details.
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95 You Save: $10.00(13%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  Ships in 1-2 weeks - Expedited Shipping Not Available
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Patty
Rating:
5
Date:
3/31/2014
Review:
Excellent service! The bear canister arrived only two days after I ordered it. It was exactly as described.
Reviewer:
Clark Phillips
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
The top is not THAT difficult to unscrew... although when your hands are cold and you're ready to eat, you definitely wish it was easier. However, a bear canister that is NOT super easy to open sounds like a great bear canister! It does double nicely as a stool to sit on while eating. Its light weight. I was EASILY able to fit 5 days worth of food in it. I believe you could fit up to 8 assuming you don't eat like a king.
Reviewer:
Laura
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
Great product! Lightweight; large opening makes it easy to use and to clean; convenient as a camp stool/table; can be a bit of a pain to open, but the peace-of-mind is well worth it. (If you're having trouble turning the lid, applying some pressure to the canister with your knees while you turn usually does the trick.)
Reviewer:
JW, Denver
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
We purchased one of these for a backcountry hiking/camping trip in Rocky Mountain. The bears up there are getting more aggressive these days and bear canisters are now required. ACK was initially out of stock, but their great customer service got the canister to us in plenty of time for our trip. The canister itself is great. Difficult to give it an awesome because these things are just so darn heavy and a real pain to hump with. We've tried all the others (except the super light/super expensive one) and this is the lightest in its price class. It's clear and that makes it easier to root around for that one thing that you need that always seems to fall to the bottom. Looking for a bear canister and tired of renting? This is the one.
Reviewer:
KHA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2013
Review:
Bought for a trip to the BWCAW; very happy with it. Holds quite a bit; we had four in our party, and so we put a couple of days of food in it and hung the rest in a bag, and then restocked the Bear Vault as needed.
Reviewer:
pekosek
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2013
Review:
It's my favourite bear canister - it has wide opening, lid screws on and off easily, it's big enough for me for even 200miles worth of food, and clear walls help a lot with food organizing. and it's a great thing to sit on in a camp:-)
Reviewer:
Martin
Rating:
5
Date:
5/18/2013
Review:
Works good so far, but I haven't had a bear try to open it yet.
Reviewer:
rp
Rating:
5
Date:
9/28/2012
Review:
Product was delivered promptly and in perfect shape. This was a flawless transaction.
Reviewer:
tnaluai
Rating:
4
Date:
9/13/2012
Review:
Tricky to get open practice before you head out to use it and the food has to be freeze dried to fit enough for 7 days plus all the other stuff. My family would rather go hungry than eat those Mountain House meals but between the vault and the bear wire it worked well. I like that you can see in the can without having to pull everything out.
Reviewer:
Avid Hiker
Rating:
5
Date:
9/8/2012
Review:
I bought the Bear Vault BV500 upon the recommendation of a friend who already owned one. I took my cannister into the Bob Marshall Wilderness for a five day, 50 mile backpack. The Bob is known for the Grizzly Bears that inhabit it, and I wanted an easier way to store my food. Fortunately, we didnt have any bear encounters, but it was nice to know we didnt have to hang our food all the time, and it made a great seat when needed. I like that it is clear and you can see the food in case you are looking for something in particular. The can is pretty easy to open, but a couple of cold mornings made it a little more challenging to make my fingers do what they were supposed to. All in all, a good product.
Reviewer:
CaT
Rating:
4
Date:
8/13/2012
Review:
This version of the Bear Vault is a big improvement over the wood coin-opened original version. However, I still maintain that getting a full weeks worth of food into one of these BV500 is wishful thinking, unless you plan on not eating much for a week, or only plan on eating powdered foods. And thats not including your other non-food smellies that bears seem to like to investigate. I personally would like to see something even roomier than the BV500. Just my opinion. But if you can fit a week of food, etc. into one of these, it is a wonderful product.
Reviewer:
Emily
Rating:
4
Date:
7/8/2012
Review:
I must eat alot and I am a woman but I dont think I could get 10 days worth in the vault. But it is easy to use and see what one has. I would, of course, love to have a lighter vault but that may not be possible.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.81.75.69 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat