Home > Camping & Hiking > Kitchen & Base Camp > Containers & Storage > Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95
 
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95 You Save: $10.00(13%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.7 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
michael bergnes
Rating:
5
Date:
10/28/2015
Review:
Well, I can't tell you how good it is for keeping bears out of your food! Hopefully, I'll never know. It was a better price then I found at my usual shopping sights. I like the transparency factor. That saves time from pulling everything out for that one thing you want thats usually buried.
Reviewer:
Matthew
Rating:
2
Date:
9/22/2015
Review:
Bought 2 of these. First time out in the BWCA, placed the barrels as instructed. Left alone for no more than 3 hours. Black bear bit through the top of the blue barrel directly under the lid on both barrels and carried them off! It wasn't just a tooth mark either. Tore large holes in each barrel. I can't imagine what a grizzly would have done.... On an up note, we were able to salvage some of the food after we found the barrels. I will be re-evaluating food storage for my next trip.
Reviewer:
Troy A. Campbell
Rating:
5
Date:
9/13/2015
Review:
Sometimes a bear canister is required per regs in the area you find yourself in, but even when not legally required, they are a great method of safeguarding your food and anything sweet or aromatic from pests - large and small. This bear vault is excellent. It's secure and a great seat, too. It fits nicely inside most midsize hiking bags, the clear nature of it is helpful for evaluating contents, and the large lid is nice for sitting things in as you sort through the can in the field. I'm a fan, and I think it's worth carrying on longer trips through the backcountry even when the local regs do not necessarily require bear cans.
Reviewer:
Dave
Rating:
4
Date:
8/27/2015
Review:
For the money, this canister is a good buy. While it is not as light as the Bearikade it is also significantly cheaper. The fact that you can see what is inside is nice. I have both the 450 and the 500 depending on the length of trip. I also have the Ursack and the Bear Boxer Contender. When the agency says you need a hard sided bear canister, the Bear Vault is a tried and true product. ACK's price and free shipping were definitely the best buy I could find on the internet.
Reviewer:
hbmomma
Rating:
5
Date:
8/20/2015
Review:
Excellent bear canister with easy to open lid. Doubles as a seat on the trail. Best price anywhere!!! Fast delivery!
Reviewer:
The Hans
Rating:
4
Date:
4/29/2015
Review:
Heavy but sturdy and difficult to enter, even with opposable thumbs. I have used it but had no run ins with bears. So this is all I can say about it so far.
Reviewer:
carol
Rating:
5
Date:
4/12/2015
Review:
Very sturdy, hard for me to get into at times so should be bear proof!
Reviewer:
CG
Rating:
5
Date:
3/24/2015
Review:
Best volume-to-weight ratio of the bear cans. The tab on the top you have to press in to get past the stop is tough with bare hands after a day on the trail; but added pressure from a spoon handle or anything else gets you past it.
Reviewer:
QUADMOMMA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2014
Review:
Nice big bear canister. Best one for the price. Great Service, got it in just a few days. Would recommend it to all backpackers going into bear country.
Reviewer:
kcorathers
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2014
Review:
Best bear can on the market for the price. Period.
Reviewer:
Great Canister
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Best canister on the market for the price. Only Bearicade is better and it's over $200. Can't find a better option when hiking in bear country.
Reviewer:
Csinclair
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Took this canister on a three day hike in Colorado. This site had the best price I could find and I scoured the internet. It is heavy so be prepared but it works!! We met another couple who had had their food stolen after they had tied it up in a tree. The bear climbed the tree and ruined their trip. This thing is so much easier than tying up. But it is super heavy so be prepared and pack light otherwise.
<<  <  1         >>
Live Chat