Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Camping & Hiking > Kitchen & Base Camp > Containers & Storage > Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95
 
Bear Vault BV500 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $79.95
$69.95 You Save: $10.00(13%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.8 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
QUADMOMMA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2014
Review:
Nice big bear canister. Best one for the price. Great Service, got it in just a few days. Would recommend it to all backpackers going into bear country.
Reviewer:
kcorathers
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2014
Review:
Best bear can on the market for the price. Period.
Reviewer:
Great Canister
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Best canister on the market for the price. Only Bearicade is better and it's over $200. Can't find a better option when hiking in bear country.
Reviewer:
Csinclair
Rating:
4
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
Took this canister on a three day hike in Colorado. This site had the best price I could find and I scoured the internet. It is heavy so be prepared but it works!! We met another couple who had had their food stolen after they had tied it up in a tree. The bear climbed the tree and ruined their trip. This thing is so much easier than tying up. But it is super heavy so be prepared and pack light otherwise.
Reviewer:
Patty
Rating:
5
Date:
3/31/2014
Review:
Excellent service! The bear canister arrived only two days after I ordered it. It was exactly as described.
Reviewer:
Clark Phillips
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
The top is not THAT difficult to unscrew... although when your hands are cold and you're ready to eat, you definitely wish it was easier. However, a bear canister that is NOT super easy to open sounds like a great bear canister! It does double nicely as a stool to sit on while eating. Its light weight. I was EASILY able to fit 5 days worth of food in it. I believe you could fit up to 8 assuming you don't eat like a king.
Reviewer:
Laura
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
Great product! Lightweight; large opening makes it easy to use and to clean; convenient as a camp stool/table; can be a bit of a pain to open, but the peace-of-mind is well worth it. (If you're having trouble turning the lid, applying some pressure to the canister with your knees while you turn usually does the trick.)
Reviewer:
JW, Denver
Rating:
5
Date:
9/23/2013
Review:
We purchased one of these for a backcountry hiking/camping trip in Rocky Mountain. The bears up there are getting more aggressive these days and bear canisters are now required. ACK was initially out of stock, but their great customer service got the canister to us in plenty of time for our trip. The canister itself is great. Difficult to give it an awesome because these things are just so darn heavy and a real pain to hump with. We've tried all the others (except the super light/super expensive one) and this is the lightest in its price class. It's clear and that makes it easier to root around for that one thing that you need that always seems to fall to the bottom. Looking for a bear canister and tired of renting? This is the one.
Reviewer:
KHA
Rating:
5
Date:
8/12/2013
Review:
Bought for a trip to the BWCAW; very happy with it. Holds quite a bit; we had four in our party, and so we put a couple of days of food in it and hung the rest in a bag, and then restocked the Bear Vault as needed.
Reviewer:
pekosek
Rating:
5
Date:
7/23/2013
Review:
It's my favourite bear canister - it has wide opening, lid screws on and off easily, it's big enough for me for even 200miles worth of food, and clear walls help a lot with food organizing. and it's a great thing to sit on in a camp:-)
Reviewer:
Martin
Rating:
5
Date:
5/18/2013
Review:
Works good so far, but I haven't had a bear try to open it yet.
Reviewer:
rp
Rating:
5
Date:
9/28/2012
Review:
Product was delivered promptly and in perfect shape. This was a flawless transaction.
<<  <  1       >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.81.163.254 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat