Home > Camping & Hiking > Kitchen & Base Camp > Containers & Storage > Bear Vault BV450 Bear Resistant Food Canister
Bear Vault BV450 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $66.95
$58.95
 
Bear Vault BV450 Bear Resistant Food Canister
MSRP:  $66.95
$58.95 You Save: $8.00(12%)
  In Stock Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Bear Vault BV450 Bear Resistant Food Canister is a super rugged transparent polycarbonate storage container that resists impacts without shattering. The lid has an innovative patented design that you can open and close without tools. The mouth is extra wide so it provides full access for loading and unloading and the transparent design allows easy identification of contents. The recessed guides in the side of the bottle keep tie down straps in place for easy attachment to your pack. Black Bear approved by SIBBG, Grizzy Bear approved by IGBC.

• Black Bear approved by SIBBG, Grizzy Bear approved by IGBC
• 4 Days capacity
• Built in tie down strap guides
• Lid opens and closes without tools
• Transparent polycarbonate housing resists impacts without shattering
Item #: 4367
Weight: 33 oz / 935.53 g
Material: Polycarbonate
Part Number UPC
BV450 0893554000080
Back to Top
 Product Videos
Back to Top
 Reviews
Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
Back to Top
 Questions
Have a question about this product?
Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Bear Vault BV450 Bear Resistant Food Canister please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
* Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.1 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Dexter
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2014
Review:
We just got back from three nights in Olympic NP. The Bear Vault worked great. It is smaller than some of the other brands and this was helpful because space is always at a premium. Could go up to 5 days if you eat light. The lid does take some getting used to but did not cause any real problem just need to be deliberate about opening it. Loved the fact that it is transparent. This was nice to see what is at the bottom but also in identifying my canister from others in the group.
Reviewer:
gearchick
Rating:
5
Date:
7/4/2014
Review:
Love being able to see where all my food is rather than having to empty or dig. The lid is hard to open for me, a petite female, especially in cooler temps. I usually had to use a nearby stick on the tab to get enough pressure. Overall, tho, I prefer it to all the other ones I saw, primarily for its transparency and holding capacity. There is nothing to interfere with loading ( like the one that uses its pot as a lid ) so I can really pack it full.
Reviewer:
bob near berkeley
Rating:
4
Date:
2/8/2014
Review:
There's a utube vid of a child showing how to open this using a flexible credit card against the lid/lock. EASY ! http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=QyEbLfL_lSU I'm hopeful BEARS aren't watching this vid or carrying credit cards ;)
Reviewer:
K Tweed
Rating:
4
Date:
7/31/2013
Review:
This product worked as advertised. It is easy to open and holds a lot. I didn't test it in the wilderness to see how it held up against animals, but it worked well to keep food outside of a tent.
Reviewer:
Dan
Rating:
5
Date:
5/6/2013
Review:
Currently, this bear can is allowed for hiking in Yosemite NP, where a bear can is mandatory to get the permission. This bear can has a very good weight to space ratio and is affordable. It's easy to open with the right technique. It's low weight is only beaten by carbon fiber reinforced bear cans that cost $200 and more. Great product.
Reviewer:
Paul
Rating:
4
Date:
4/17/2013
Review:
A sturdy container, and easily holds several days of food plus other odorous items. Fits nicely in my 3800cu pack. I like that I can see through it. Definitely hard to open, but I don't view this a negative; I simply use the back of my knife to press on the latch. I had a chance to try one that had been used for awhile and it was much easier to open. I think the locking mechanism may loosen up over time. Makes an OK seat. ACK had the best price I found. Overall, I'm pretty happy with the BV450, although I wish I didn't need a canister at all.
Reviewer:
Mike
Rating:
4
Date:
10/21/2012
Review:
I took the Bear Vault BV450 to some freezing weather in the John Muir Wilderness of California. I found it a little harder to open than back home, most likely because my hands were cold and sensitive. I solved this problem by using the handle of my pocket knife to push in on the lid. Has not yet been tested with a bear, thank goodness, but it served quite good as a chair. Im happy with it.
Reviewer:
cook
Rating:
5
Date:
8/21/2012
Review:
Prompt service. Product exactly as described.
Reviewer:
Sue
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2012
Review:
easy to use
Reviewer:
gonekayaking247
Rating:
3
Date:
9/2/2011
Review:
It is true, it is difficult to open the Bear Vault 450 I found that after a couple of days the plastic tabs eased and opening the canister did get easier r maybe my technique got better. I used this for a Kayak trip on the Washington coast and it fit perfectly through my 8" hatches. My only gripe is that they are not waterproof. Had one guy get a leak in his compartment and the canister was turned on its side in the compartment and everything inside was soaked! Make sure to store in the upright position.
Reviewer:
rjbarajas74@gmail.com
Rating:
3
Date:
4/7/2011
Review:
still not sure about this bear container!
Reviewer:
Jan
Rating:
2
Date:
3/30/2011
Review:
Read that this item is difficult to open but decided to try it anyway. I absolutely cannot open it without a pry (like a screwdriver). My husband is able to open it, but this means he is a mandatory accessory when it's dinner time. If you don't have the hand strength of a large man, don't get a Bear Vault.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.167.11.16 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat