Harken 60 lbs Kayak Lift System - 2 Point - Product Reviews
Return to Harken 60 lbs Kayak Lift System - 2 Point Product Details.
MSRP:  $96.95
$84.99 You Save: $11.96(12%)
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In-stock: Ships Monday if ordered today!
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.3 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Joe in Florida
Rating:
3
Date:
3/15/2014
Review:
The welded screw eye was missing from the package. Package looked intact, but wasn't of the type that had to be cut to open, so perhaps it was "lifted" by someone else needing one. Good thing I had one from another project. Metal components are of different materials. Hoist and pulleys are stainless. Screw eyes are cadmium plated steel and lags are galvanized steel. I'm sure rusting will happen soon on cadmium plated material.
Reviewer:
Roger P
Rating:
5
Date:
11/17/2013
Review:
Awesome products! I use them for my single and double outrigger canoe hulls. I have three of these and they are great! Easy to install and use.
Reviewer:
Steve K.
Rating:
4
Date:
8/5/2012
Review:
Works exactly as stated. Easy to install, just follow the included instructions. Raises and lowers our 52lb kayaks with ease. Do not expect the single pulley system to mount flush with the ceiling, though. However, with at least an 8 foot ceiling, the kayak will be out of the way and easy to work and walk under.
Reviewer:
Guy
Rating:
5
Date:
6/7/2012
Review:
I bought two of these to stow two 14 kayaks in my garage. Very easy to install, and works like a charm. The ratchet seems to hold fine, but I added a clete below to tie off. Great product.
Reviewer:
Ed in Tampa
Rating:
3
Date:
12/30/2011
Review:
Overall, a functional product. But it had several issues for me. First, it will deliver its promised vertical lift of 8 feet only if there is an equivalent 8 feet of horizontal space/distance on your garage ceiling between the system's "organizer" and the block & tackle assembly. If not, you may not achieve your desired lift. Nothing is said about this in the advertising descriptions. Second, the instructions for tying the "figure 8" knots (for attaching the ropes to the webbing straps) are nothing short of 'demonic' (15 steps to tie a knot??). I finally gave up and purchased cable ties to achieve this end.
Reviewer:
Craig in Ohio
Rating:
5
Date:
9/20/2011
Review:
This hoist is great. I had bought another hoist from from a different company and sent it back. The design was unreliable from a safety standpoint. The Harken hoist system is well made and I liked the serrated rope mechanism that securely grabs the rope if it slips from your hands. I thought the instructions were good and had no problem mounting the hardware. My only problem was tying the figure eight knots for attaching the rope to the straps. I was never a boyscout. Excellent product.
Reviewer:
Rebecca in NJ
Rating:
3
Date:
8/10/2010
Review:
The product works great but the directions could be much clearer and I am mechanically inclined. We installed two for our kayaks. The second one went up fast after we figured out the directions. The rope is a little hard on the hands if you lower too quickly.
Reviewer:
Tahoe Kayaker
Rating:
5
Date:
2/4/2010
Review:
The Harken 60 lbs Kayak Lift System is a great product. Very well made and has everything you need right out of the box. I built my own kit for another kayak, and spent nearly the same money, wasted hours and the thing doesn't work nearly as well as the Harken kit.
Reviewer:
Seattle Kayaker
Rating:
5
Date:
5/31/2009
Review:
Harken has a great product niche. The equipment is solid with easy to follow directions for installation. The picture shown is necessary to show that the 2 point will not take the boat as high as the 4 point. To think I had to order this from Texas...REI dropped Harken, mistake. Thanks ACK.
Reviewer:
Christopher
Rating:
4
Date:
10/4/2008
Review:
This is a well bit and functional lift. If one is not mechanically inclined they might find the instructions a bit confusing. I would have liked the lifting line to have been heavier so it would be easier on the hands. However that would have required a larger block and pullies which would add to the cost. All in all a good value that does the job nicely.
Reviewer:
Ron WV
Rating:
4
Date:
10/14/2007
Review:
Very nice unit. I agree with the previous reviewer, the directions are not very good, but, when I called the folks at Austin Kayak for assistance they were great.
Reviewer:
Kenny S.
Rating:
5
Date:
1/18/2006
Review:
This lift is awesome. The directions aren't the best, but once you figure it out, it works great. Quality components - everything is heavy duty.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:50.16.169.220 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat