Limited Time! 20% Off Accessories w/Kayak* (details)‚Äč
Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit

Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit

MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00
 
 
Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit
MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00 You Save: $55.00(20%)

In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next

ADDED TO WISH LIST
In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: If you have the Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 and you have trouble steering it in high winds this easy to install rudder will help change that.
Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Joseph H.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/5/2016
Review:
good value and works great. install not that hard. fast shipping
Reviewer:
Jon
Rating:
5
Date:
3/20/2016
Review:
At first I was a little taken aback by the cost of this rudder but after a lot of research on doing a DIY project, I realised that making one on my own would be way to difficult especially figuring out how to make decent foot controls. I bit the bullet got one. I was not disappointed. The quality of the components is far better than anything I could have come up with on my own and that I found online. One drawback is that the instructions can be a bit spotty especially the part on how to install the control cables and the housing. I bypassed the cutting of the rear hatch hole and used bailing wire to help feed the cable housing through the holes I drilled. It took me awhile and some trial and error on the left side but once I got the technique down, the right side was easy. I didn't used the rudder catcher since my Prowler is vintage 2007 and has some raised channels on the stern's rudder groove. Once installed, it works great. Definitely makes paddling much easier; especially in a stiff crosswind.
Reviewer:
Steven O.
Rating:
4
Date:
1/19/2016
Review:
First off ACK is an awesome site. I think there is a lot of confusion about the Ocean Kayak rudder kit. Your site should make it very clear as too which rudder kit goes to which kayak?? I have a ocean kayak Prowler 13, that is newer model , it is Not the Trident version, so I should have purchased the Universal Rudder kit for my kayak, the issue is that I received parts I can't use and was missing parts?? The video you offer is awesome if you own the prowler 13 trident version. So I have my rudder installed it works great, took a lot of searching to ensure I had it right. Please help your future buyers, get the right info out there. This Seams to be a big problem. Thanks
Reviewer:
Jim Maynard
Rating:
5
Date:
3/29/2013
Review:
Installing was fairly painless, I don't know why I waited so long to do this, makes a huge difference,thanks.
Reviewer:
Eddie
Rating:
5
Date:
1/12/2013
Review:
Great product! Installed without any issues.
Reviewer:
Chris
Rating:
5
Date:
11/27/2012
Review:
The instructions were easy to follow. I installed over 2 nights for a total time of about an hour and ahalf.
Reviewer:
Peter from Australia
Rating:
5
Date:
10/21/2012
Review:
Great addition to my Prowler 13, much easier to paddle when the wind is pushing the front of the kayak to the side. Installation was quite easy with help from the YouTube video. I didn't have to make the large hole behind the seat due to the advice got from ACK A big thanks. With a bit of patience I was able to get the cable tubing through the the holes by tipping the kayak on its side. Had to drill some holes in the rudder bracket as the holes didn't line up with the screw holes on the back. My Prowler didn't have the marks where to drill either however just put them roughly where they show on the video. Best to look at the instructions on the Internet as they are much clearer than the ones supplied.
Reviewer:
rw1230
Rating:
3
Date:
10/3/2012
Review:
Havent had it out yet but it appears to be working fine mechanically and is sturdy looking. Three star review is for the installation instructions from Ocean Kayak. Be ready to improvise. For instance my Prowler 13T didnt have the pre marked drilling holes noted in the instructiions. OK customer service tried to help but in the end I just made a leap of faith based on pictures in the written instructions and a freeze frame of the OK video instructions on their website. Also, highly recommend both watching the video and reading written instructions as they arent always the same. Little items but it is very helpful to have both sets of instructions handy,
Reviewer:
Robert Passeretti
Rating:
4
Date:
1/28/2012
Review:
The rudder is excellent and works perfectly. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the assembly instructions... There were three sets of photo copied instructions packed with the rudder and the pictures were in black and white (dark and difficult to see) and pretty much useless for clarifying the instructions. I would recommend anyone buying one of these kits to go online and print out the instructions in color before starting the assembly. I really believe for the price, color instructions should have been included with the kit; it would have saved me several hours of trying to figure out the rope installation before I finally had to stop and go print out the color instructions to complete the job. The mechanical part of the assemly was easy and took very little time to complete. Although I am very happy with the finished product; the instructions that wasted my valuable time kept me from rating your kit with a 5 star rating. My recommendation to you is to spend the extra few cents to include color instructions with your kits. Since I am done with the job there is little you can do to help me now and I do not expect you to do anything further for me. I will inlude my email address if you are interested in any further explanation...
ACK's Response:
We agree that the instructions would be better in color, but they are supplied and packaged from the manufacturer in black and white. We have instructions on the site for all rudder kits in the Articles and Research section or at this link http://www.austinkayak.com/articles/articles.php
Reviewer:
paul
Rating:
4
Date:
7/6/2011
Review:
Assembly perfect.
Reviewer:
c santos
Rating:
5
Date:
5/5/2011
Review:
rudder is great! make sure you have a 2008 or later version of the boat because the boat changed shape
Reviewer:
KayakFishingCanarias
Rating:
5
Date:
3/28/2011
Review:
All Ok. Thanks
<<  <  1       >>
Live Chat