Home > Kayaking > Rudders > Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit
Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit
MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00
 
Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit
MSRP:  $280.00
$225.00 You Save: $55.00(20%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 Found a better price? Use our Price Match tool!
Quantity:
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
 Product Description and Specs

The Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 rudder kits allows you to gain control and efficiency in wind or fast current. If you paddle in windy conditions or moving water, adding a rudder to your kayak will make your paddling experience so much more enjoyable. The Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit is the factory rudder kit from Ocean Kayak. Complete with instructions. This rudder kit will fit the Prowler 13 model years 2009- 2012. If you have a 2013 model or newer, you need the Universal Rudder Kit. Call our customer service team if you have questions about which rudder is right for your boat.

• Factory rudder kit from Ocean Kayak
• Gain control and efficiency in wind or fast current
• A rudder will give you an advantage when fishing
• Also fits the Ocean Kayak Big Game Angler, Trident series, and Tetra series model years 2009 - 2012
• Includes all necessary hardware for rudder installation
  • What's Inside?
  • Item #: 381
    Part Number UPC
    07.1970.0000 0785978055633
    Back to Top
      Customer Photos
    Back to Top
     Product Videos
    Back to Top
     Blog Entries
    Back to Top
     Reviews
    Rate it 1 Rate it 2 Rate it 3 Rate it 4 Rate it 5
    No reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!
    Back to Top
     Questions
    Have a question about this product?
    Get answers from ACK customers and staff.
    If your question is about inventory levels, discounts or not specifically about the Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 Rudder Kit please email us at customer@austinkayak.com so our customer service team can assist you faster.
    * Free shipping offers exclude Hobie Products
    ** 15% off accessories with kayak purchase is not valid on Hobie products.
    customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
    ACK Review: If you have the Ocean Kayak Prowler 13 and you have trouble steering it in high winds this easy to install rudder will help change that.
    Customer Rating: 4.6 of 5
    Rating Stars  

    Customer Reviews

    Reviewer:
    Jim Maynard
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    3/29/2013
    Review:
    Installing was fairly painless, I don't know why I waited so long to do this, makes a huge difference,thanks.
    Reviewer:
    Eddie
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    1/12/2013
    Review:
    Great product! Installed without any issues.
    Reviewer:
    Chris
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    11/27/2012
    Review:
    The instructions were easy to follow. I installed over 2 nights for a total time of about an hour and ahalf.
    Reviewer:
    Peter from Australia
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    10/21/2012
    Review:
    Great addition to my Prowler 13, much easier to paddle when the wind is pushing the front of the kayak to the side. Installation was quite easy with help from the YouTube video. I didn't have to make the large hole behind the seat due to the advice got from ACK A big thanks. With a bit of patience I was able to get the cable tubing through the the holes by tipping the kayak on its side. Had to drill some holes in the rudder bracket as the holes didn't line up with the screw holes on the back. My Prowler didn't have the marks where to drill either however just put them roughly where they show on the video. Best to look at the instructions on the Internet as they are much clearer than the ones supplied.
    Reviewer:
    rw1230
    Rating:
    3
    Date:
    10/3/2012
    Review:
    Havent had it out yet but it appears to be working fine mechanically and is sturdy looking. Three star review is for the installation instructions from Ocean Kayak. Be ready to improvise. For instance my Prowler 13T didnt have the pre marked drilling holes noted in the instructiions. OK customer service tried to help but in the end I just made a leap of faith based on pictures in the written instructions and a freeze frame of the OK video instructions on their website. Also, highly recommend both watching the video and reading written instructions as they arent always the same. Little items but it is very helpful to have both sets of instructions handy,
    Reviewer:
    Robert Passeretti
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    1/28/2012
    Review:
    The rudder is excellent and works perfectly. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the assembly instructions... There were three sets of photo copied instructions packed with the rudder and the pictures were in black and white (dark and difficult to see) and pretty much useless for clarifying the instructions. I would recommend anyone buying one of these kits to go online and print out the instructions in color before starting the assembly. I really believe for the price, color instructions should have been included with the kit; it would have saved me several hours of trying to figure out the rope installation before I finally had to stop and go print out the color instructions to complete the job. The mechanical part of the assemly was easy and took very little time to complete. Although I am very happy with the finished product; the instructions that wasted my valuable time kept me from rating your kit with a 5 star rating. My recommendation to you is to spend the extra few cents to include color instructions with your kits. Since I am done with the job there is little you can do to help me now and I do not expect you to do anything further for me. I will inlude my email address if you are interested in any further explanation...
    ACK's Response:
    We agree that the instructions would be better in color, but they are supplied and packaged from the manufacturer in black and white. We have instructions on the site for all rudder kits in the Articles and Research section or at this link http://www.austinkayak.com/articles/articles.php
    Reviewer:
    paul
    Rating:
    4
    Date:
    7/6/2011
    Review:
    Assembly perfect.
    Reviewer:
    c santos
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    5/5/2011
    Review:
    rudder is great! make sure you have a 2008 or later version of the boat because the boat changed shape
    Reviewer:
    KayakFishingCanarias
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    3/28/2011
    Review:
    All Ok. Thanks
    Reviewer:
    FISH HARD
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    2/6/2011
    Review:
    Outstanding addition to the kayak, makes controlling during running tides and excellent fighting against the wind. A must for tidal yakers. Remember measure twice cut once, play with the rudder to determine cable lengths.
    Reviewer:
    dms1978
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    10/21/2010
    Review:
    Item was easy to attach to our ocean kayak. We used it out in the bay fishing and even with some wind it was easy to control.
    Reviewer:
    Steve
    Rating:
    5
    Date:
    4/23/2010
    Review:
    I installed the rudder kit in my Ocean Prowler Thirteen Angler and I really enjoy the difference,especially with a quartering or side wind and waves. Now I can better enjoy the experience on the water and not feel worn out trying to fight wind and waves, and maintain an easy, relaxing trip.
    <<  <  1       >>
    Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
    All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
    ip:54.196.30.47 svr:123
    Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
    Live chat by BoldChat