Home > Kayaking > Carts & Carriers > C-Tug Kayak Cart
C-Tug Kayak Cart
MSRP:  $169.99
$139.99
 
C-Tug Kayak Cart
MSRP:  $169.99
$139.99 You Save: $30.00(18%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.4 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Justin L.
Rating:
5
Date:
2/8/2016
Review:
I have had a few different carts including one that rusted pretty fast. This one from what I have seen so far is made way better then the others I have owned and it won't rust which is a big plus. I actually use it for a hobie pro angler by adding PVC to it and it works perfect. This cart is heavy duty and made to last.
Reviewer:
Mountain kind rods
Rating:
4
Date:
11/5/2015
Review:
This cart is great. Super fast setup, but the straps can be a bit confusing to setup so watch a YouTube video. It also comes apart very fast and can be stored inside most kayaks. Great product I expect to get years of use out of. Best part...it is really no more expensive than standard cart but is a much better design!
Reviewer:
Tim Fowler
Rating:
5
Date:
10/24/2015
Review:
I don't use my tug very often, but when I do, it does the job very well. It tracks well and fits into the front compartment of my Feelfree Lure 11.5. I didn't want to lose the back storage with a scupper Mount.
Reviewer:
Joseph C.
Rating:
5
Date:
10/23/2015
Review:
Love this thing, superior to any of the other carts I've tried. The ability to shove it in a bulkhead and go was a major selling point to me. Watch those fingers those, the first time I put it together I smashed my fingers pretty good. Also, when shopping this, it looked in all the pictures like the wheels were plastic, was quite delighted when I discovered they were rubber. Maybe I just didn't read the desc well enough.
Reviewer:
David D.
Rating:
1
Date:
10/13/2015
Review:
Not likeing it! On the one hand its sturdier than it looks. On the other hand, the kickstand doesn't work (too flimsy), unable to keep it tight enough against the yak and it flops forward, if the straps get wet the buckle pops open. Honestly, I wish I had built my own cart instead of spending $139 on this.
Reviewer:
David F.
Rating:
5
Date:
10/6/2015
Review:
Great cart for my Slayer propel 13, other carts havent worked so well with the hull shape and rudder. this cart stays secure in rough terain.
Reviewer:
Mark b
Rating:
1
Date:
10/4/2015
Review:
Save yourself the hassle. The c tug has got to be the worst cart there is. The kickstand always loosens no matter how many times I tighten it. And if you are not willing to push the c tug will slide out the back while pulling..this product is JUNK DO NOT BUY A C TUG
Reviewer:
gary witchley
Rating:
5
Date:
8/26/2015
Review:
i have used this several times. have not had any problems with it.. i put it on while the slayer 10 propel is in the water and then pull it out with out any trouble.. i am really glad i got it.. would recommend this to any body looking for a cart.. it breaks down and goes together quickly.. you do need to watch the videos on how to put the straps together, after that it is really easy to use. and it is very secured, yak does not shift around..
Reviewer:
gary witchley
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2015
Review:
the slayer propel 10 was a little to wide for me to grab across the top to carry. and carrying it side ways was awkward.. I watch a lot of the vids on the ACK web site, you tube links and choose this as my carrier. it works great. over tree ruts , bumpy ground.. the kayak did not come loose at all.. I did have to watch the instruction vid on how to put the strap system together,, not hard , but it would have taken a lot longer to figure it out, and then it may not have preformed as well.. the last segment of the video made all the difference.. easy to put together and it stores in the hull.. nice , very nice.. thank you ACK for your links and videos that you have on the products that you carry.. now off to the fish finder section .. I have spent many ,many hours on your site putting my shopping list together , along with the ideas that I have gotten from your site, and the reviews..
Reviewer:
Geoffrey W.
Rating:
3
Date:
7/27/2015
Review:
The C-Tug is a good / fair cart for the Native Propel 13 kayak. What I want in a cart - easy to setup, breakdown, use and be able to handle my fully loaded Propel 13 in the MIDDLE so I have a balance point and not have to lift too much weight. Easy to set up - takes about 30 seconds (once you have the straps rigged initially), breakdown is even faster. Wheels and pads / straps will fit in the front compartment of the Propel 13. I do NOT break the two-piece frame down as it releases the kickstand and I don't want that small part to be lost. The two-piece frame goes into the rear compartment. The kickstand MUST be tightened upon arrival - if not, it WILL fall over. I tightened my about 1/4 - 1/2 turn and it works fine. Straps will NOT hold my Propel 13 in the center of the kayak. Two reasons, the first being that the pads will only contact a small area of the hull of the Propel in the middle - they will not rotate to get more contact area. You cannot 'reverse' the pads on the carrier to get more contact area because then the straps positioned incorrectly. If you move the C-Tug farther to the forward, or rear of the yak, you will have more luck using the C-Tug BUT you'll be lifting more weight. The C-Tug in the center of a loaded Propel 13 will not last long because of insufficient contact area. The second issue is that the straps are hard to get really tight because it's a simply 'pull and press down' locking assembly. I have incorporated a ratchet latch on my C-Tug straps and it did not work when the cart was in the mid-position of my Propel 13 (loaded). Unloaded, it works fine, but the extra weight of the cooler and the propulsion unit causes the C-Tug to twist out from under the yak and it will fall off to the side. It's embarassing and a bear to get back on with a loaded yak. For short trips with a loaded yak, the C-Tug is good for the Propel 13 if you want to lift the weight. For longer trips with a loaded Propel 13, you'll need to move it forward or aft to get a better seating surface and grip. If its dry, the straps MAY hold on (I installed them in accordance with the instructions using the upgraded C-Tug strap retainers), but if the tug / straps / yak are wet - you'll probably have some slipping if you are mounting a Propel 13. Recommended upgrades for the C-Tug 1. List yaks it works with (not very well with the Propel 13) 2. Put a ratcheting latch / strap tightener assembly of some sort. The Propel 13 is not a good candidate for this cart. 3. Use a softer rubber mounting surface on the C-Tug pads - the hard plastic slips too easily. I'm going to try putting soft rubber insulation on the pads in the hopes it will grip better. This would help ALL kayaks using the C-Tug 4. Consider a larger degree of rotation on the contact pads of the C- Tug to be able to incorporate 'twin-V' or 'semi-catamaran' style hulls for the C-Tug. This will necessitate a change in the strap arrangment but I have several ideas about that. In summary - it's a 5-star tug / cart for most yaks, it's a 3-star tug for the Propel 13 and that's after modifications to the straps. It will work on a large fishing kayak (300-pound capacity - I think fishing kayaks were considered), but needs improvement to be able to truly take weight off the kayak handler and put it on the cart where it belongs.
Reviewer:
Robert D.
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2015
Review:
Don't waste your time money and effort trying to reinvent a kayak cart like I did, just buy one of these and be done with it. This cart works great!
Reviewer:
fuel98rider
Rating:
5
Date:
7/17/2015
Review:
Ok, I read many of the reviews of how great this was, and how easily the C-Tug hauled kayaks. I was immediately taken in by watching the videos on how well it worked, and how easy it looked to pull kayaks on all kinds of different terrain. Without seeing it on action with my own eyes, I bit the bullet and bought it. I anxiously waited for it to arrive, and quickly snapped it together to try out. I left the straps that came with it in the garage, and used the Yakima cinch strap that I use for my car. It worked well, and I was able to haul it to the lake easily. It handled stairs, a rooted section and sand well, and never made me worry about the kayak coming off. The C-Tug never moved down or slipped off the kayak on my 3/4 mile trek. Once at the lake, it disassembled easily and stored quickly in the front section of my Tarpon kayak. I went for a two hour cruise, and came back to shore and quickly assembled it back together and hauled it back to my car. I keep going back to "quick", because it is just that, quick and oh so easy to use. Mind you, this was all before I tried to assemble the C- Tug straps. I'll be honest, I don't think I've ever seen something so easy looking, actually be so complicated that it made me swear. After watching the videos on their website and a couple of others on YouTube, I felt prepared to tackle the straps. I tried once, and failed miserabley with the straps being backwards and the buckle being on the inside. I took it all apart, and watched the video again. Tried to assemble it again, and the same thing, all backwards. After a half dozen more tries and videos, it still didn't make any sense. After an hour, I put it down and let it sit overnight. I came back the next morning determined to figure it out, and after another 30 minutes of trying, finally figured out one side. I thought wow, this will be easy to duplicate on the other side.....wrong. It took a couple more tries to get the other side on. After that, the last buckle and latch are easy to assemble. I've used it now several times with the C-Tug straps, and am still happy with the overall product. Pros: -Stable to use -Handles a variety of terrains well -The wings are easy on the kayak bottom -Dissasembles quickly to stow in the kayak -Weighs very little Cons: -Strap assembly -Strap assembly, -Did I mention strap assembly? Overall this is a quality product, and I am looking forward to years of use. If I could make one suggestion to the makers of C-Tug, it would be to drop the strap and just use a regular lashing strap. I think most people would find that easer to use, and a lot less complicated to assemble.
<<  <  1         >>
Live Chat