Save Big & Build Your Own Kayak Package + FREE Shipping*
Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Hobie Mirage Adventure Kayak
Hobie Mirage Adventure Kayak
 
Hobie Mirage Adventure Kayak

Out of Stock

This product has been replaced by Hobie Mirage Revolution 16 Kayak - Pre-order .
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Our favorite in the Mirage series for speed and efficiency. The narrow hull and long length mean that this kayak paddles as well as it 'pedals'! Add the sail option and you have a great kayak for all conditions.
Customer Rating: 4.5 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Great product
Rating:
5
Date:
6/4/2014
Review:
I fish both fresh and salt water. This is the kayak for it. Buy the cart. Its a must to get you to the water. Its a heavy boat. I bought a Thule Hullavator to get it on top of the truck. I was leary of the shipping but it was delivered on time and well wrapped. The next purchase will be the turbo fins.
Reviewer:
Jeremy
Rating:
3
Date:
6/20/2013
Review:
The good, the bad, and the ugly... The good: It's great fun to pedal a kayak, rather than paddle. If you haven't tried a Hobie and think you might like it, you will. So far, I've only used this for fishing in the ocean, where I typically go out about a mile offshore. That's an easy and relaxing pedal in the Adventure. Having my hands free is great for fishing, and I find it especially easy to maintain my position, even in fairly difficult (read windy) conditions. The bad: This thing weighs a ton. I've also got a lightweight paddling kayak (Eddyline). So far, I've only launched my Adventure from a harbor, since that's the easiest launch site. For more difficult launches, I go with the lighter kayak. The ugly: The first Adventure they sent me was too much of an adventure---it was defective. On my initial test run, it was clearly taking on water. A closer inspection showed a serious defect at the rudder attachment point. Hobie (with the help of ACK) was very good about replacing it, but that thing should never have left the factory. I shudder to think what might have happened if I'd been miles offshore and the rear had cracked wide open (as it easily could have, given the nature of the defect). In summary, I'd give the non-defective boat itself 5 stars. I'd also give Hobie 5 stars for customer service after the sale. But, I give Hobie 0 stars for quality control. That averages out to 3.3 stars overall.
Reviewer:
Cash
Rating:
5
Date:
10/31/2011
Review:
Kayak is great and fast but the large rudder is a must! As far as fishing its a bit long but if you fish big water it makes up for it, and you can make it an island! I really love mine and I fish 95% out of it. If I didnt have long range trips in mind id get a angler. The rev is a nice all around kayak as well.
Reviewer:
Apexia
Rating:
5
Date:
7/7/2011
Review:
I bought this from Austin Kayak and they delivered it to my door. That was a great plus. I love this kayak, all the storage space and cup holders. It is a little heavy for me to lift as I'm a girl. This is not a good kayak for fishing, though. Very awkward and the line keeps getting tangled around the back. But for touring and exercise (that's what it's for.....perfect!!)
Reviewer:
Bob
Rating:
4
Date:
7/6/2010
Review:
I've owned four paddle kayaks before I bought my Adventure. I am sold on the Mirage drive. It is amazing how little effort it takes to cruise at a decent rate of speed. Highly recommended for anyone having rotator cuff or other arm problems. My only complaint is the uncomfortable seat.
Reviewer:
Joe
Rating:
5
Date:
4/27/2010
Review:
I purchased this one lately and really like the kayak. The pedal system is very easy to get used to and the length of this kayak works well. Have the larger rudder for sailing at it really turns nicely.
Reviewer:
Maine guide
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2009
Review:
I love this thing. its a great touring boat and does very well in moderate chop. the wave piercing design of the bow tends to get me pretty wet. It has more internal and external storage space than i could ever need. If you are thinking about buying this kayak, you need to get the larger sailing rudder. It will still work without it, but the improvement in the turning radius is like night and day. i bought this kayak for touring and as an exercising platform. My only real problem with it, is that it's almost too fast. Your friends in the conventional kayaks aren't going to be able to keep up with you, even when you are using the standard fins. I can't say for sure, but i wouldn't be surprised if this is one of the fastest and most efficient human powered watercrafts on the market today.
Reviewer:
LouFez
Rating:
4
Date:
8/10/2008
Review:
I like this boat. I am not a paddle kayaker though I have done it. I was drawn to this model because I want to use my legs for propulsion and can travel the waters of Puget Sound. I am impressed with the overall design of the boat. It seems faster than a paddle kayak and I love having a hand free while pedaling. It seems stable though I haven't had it in rough weather yet. The hatches and pockets work well from the sitting position and you can sit sideways on the center hatch and just float. I was a bit disappointed in the setup of the rudder and drive. The drive needed adjustment to center the fins and the rudder needed to be taken apart and greased, and readjusted to go up or down at all. Overall, I think it's a good boat at a reasonable price.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.89.1.216 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat