Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak
Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak
MSRP:  $879.99
$829.00
 
Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak
Monster Savings in the ACK-Outlet Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak - Used
Looking for a package deal? Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak - Sport Package available at great savings !
MSRP:  $879.99
$829.00 You Save: $50.99(6%)
  In Stock Ships today if ordered within the next
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The workhorse of the tandem line-up. The Malibu 2XL can be a camping, fishing or leisure day kayak - and it does it all with ease. The optional storage hatches (3 of them) give you all kinds of access to gear stored in the hull.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Dave N
Rating:
4
Date:
7/26/2012
Review:
I like the Malubu 2xl very much except for a couple things: first of all the seats could use more padding, secondly I am 62 and find the seat positions and foot wells about 6 inches too short to be comforable when paddleing with two people. My knees end end up in the air and it restricts my paddleing stroke a little. When I paddle the boat alone, with the seat in the solo position, the seating for me is perfect. Lastly, there should be additional sets of handles on the bow and stern to make it easier to roll and lift the boat when bing placed on the top rack of a vehicle. There is no good place to grab onto the boat when two people are lifting it.
Reviewer:
ELS
Rating:
5
Date:
7/24/2012
Review:
Very happy with this kayak. Very stable and being able to use it as a solo is a big plus. I also have a OC Prowler 13 and the XL Tandem is just as fast as the Prowler even though the Tandem is much bigger. It is a little heavy and hard to load on the roof rack by myself. It should be a two person job. Used it in the surf for two weeks and is a little too long to be good at surfing back in. Still overall it is a very good kayak and I will be leaving my Prowler at home from now on.
Reviewer:
NCKiwi
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
Very tough kayak. This thing is big and quite heavy. You need two folks to load and carry this. However it zips through the water nicely and was easy to maneuver. This is so wide that the straps on my Thule roof rack would not reach around it. Get yourself some heavy duty ratcheting tie downs from Home Depot to strap it on to a rack. It rode OK in my minivan, but it may make a small car go all over the road at highway speed. I kept below 60 mph with it on the roof, as it was getting scary any faster than that.
Reviewer:
DR
Rating:
5
Date:
7/12/2012
Review:
I have had one of these for about 5 years and could not be happier. It has the middle position for when I am solo, three positions for when the family goes out. I use it for day trips, fishing and camping. Handles well, tracks well, handles the wind pretty well. I just bought a second and did not even bother looking at other options. Now five of us three kids can go out together. I believe it is rated at 450-500 lbs so plenty of capacity for people and/or cargo. I have loaded it up for camping on an island and it handled perfectly. If you are looking for a tandem or 2.5 like this, look no further. Both of mine are fishing packages.
Reviewer:
Joe
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2012
Review:
The first day I used kayak was a windy day on lake and it handled the waves with ease and stability. I was amazed at the speed and distance I could travel even with one person paddling.
Reviewer:
TeamCamHD
Rating:
5
Date:
7/5/2012
Review:
My wife and I wanted to get into kayaking and the customer reviews on this Malibu Tandem XL were right on. Its GREAT. Just enough weight to give plenty of stability out on Lake Michigan and a real joy. The reviews on ACK were also correct. What an easy company to do business with. I will absolutely buy here again.
Reviewer:
RPH
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2012
Review:
Bought two tandems to use on a lake outside Houston. Used it for the first time the other day. Super stable and very easy to get around. I stopped turning into the wakes caused by passing motor boats- I didnt have two, the kayak could handle them sideways without rocking much.
Reviewer:
Harold
Rating:
5
Date:
6/10/2012
Review:
I was a little sceptical about ordering this kayak and having it shipped to Georgia from Texas but it arrived with out a scratch. ACK did a great job packing it. Love the kayak size. Good for one or two people. I added rod holders and use if for fishing in the Gulf.
Reviewer:
Michael M
Rating:
5
Date:
4/17/2012
Review:
Really like this kayak. Shipped promptly and arrived with no issues. Very comfortable with the seats, and easy to paddle - whether its two people or just one person. We live on a large lake in NC and its great to take it out in early morning or evenings. Would definitely purchase again from ACK.
Reviewer:
C Minguela
Rating:
5
Date:
1/7/2012
Review:
The best tandem kayak in the market. Super stable and a pleasure to paddle. The people at ACK are the best. The shipping to Puerto Rico was smooth. Thanks
Reviewer:
Rick B
Rating:
5
Date:
10/25/2011
Review:
I bought two single kayaks from ACK, but needed a double kayak as well. The Wilderness System version didnt have good seats, and the knowledgable people at ACK suggested the Ocean Malibu 2XL. Great suggestion! The kayak is very stable, not too heavy to move around, and not any more difficult to paddle on my own than a single seater. I really love this kayak. I was also very impressed with how ACK packed up and shipped the kayak; it arrived quickly and safe and sound.
Reviewer:
brent devol
Rating:
5
Date:
8/9/2011
Review:
My wife and I really enjoy the kayak. We have only used it a few times but found it easy to paddle and comfortable even for several hours. We also appreciate the service and customer assistance we got from ACK. THANKS!
<<      3         >>
Live chat by BoldChat