Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak
Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak
MSRP:  $879.99
$829.00
 
Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak
Looking for a package deal? Ocean Kayak Malibu 2XL Tandem Kayak - Sport Package available at great savings !
MSRP:  $879.99
$829.00 You Save: $50.99(6%)
  In Stock Ships Monday if ordered today!
Available Colors: (Click to view colors)
 ADD TO WISHLIST
ADDED TO WISH LIST
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: The workhorse of the tandem line-up. The Malibu 2XL can be a camping, fishing or leisure day kayak - and it does it all with ease. The optional storage hatches (3 of them) give you all kinds of access to gear stored in the hull.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Sarah
Rating:
4
Date:
9/6/2012
Review:
i was looking for a kayak which could take a fair amount of abuse and the kids could use as a float. This kayak fits the bill. It is not sleek or elegant but it remarkably easy to maneuver and held its course nicely.
Reviewer:
Sean L
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2012
Review:
Kayaks we wrapped perfectly and shipped promptly. Very happy with the purchase.
Reviewer:
Joni
Rating:
5
Date:
8/10/2012
Review:
This is an incredibly nice kayak. It is comfortable and nice with hatches, etc. Just purchased it and the delivery and customer service were excellent. I was very wary as I was ordering from NY to be shipped to summer home in South Carolina. It was the fastest and easiest shipping and ordering and such an incredible treat to deal with such an efficient staff. I will definitely recommend Austin Kayaks to anyone I know. Excellent Customer service!
Reviewer:
John
Rating:
5
Date:
8/3/2012
Review:
Great Kayak -- very stable, easy to use. Perfect for my family and me.
Reviewer:
Mark
Rating:
5
Date:
7/28/2012
Review:
Great family fun kayak. Very stable, the seat backs make paddling comfortable with no back strain. Surprizingly fast for a medium length tandem kayak.
Reviewer:
Dave N
Rating:
4
Date:
7/26/2012
Review:
I like the Malubu 2xl very much except for a couple things: first of all the seats could use more padding, secondly I am 62 and find the seat positions and foot wells about 6 inches too short to be comforable when paddleing with two people. My knees end end up in the air and it restricts my paddleing stroke a little. When I paddle the boat alone, with the seat in the solo position, the seating for me is perfect. Lastly, there should be additional sets of handles on the bow and stern to make it easier to roll and lift the boat when bing placed on the top rack of a vehicle. There is no good place to grab onto the boat when two people are lifting it.
Reviewer:
ELS
Rating:
5
Date:
7/24/2012
Review:
Very happy with this kayak. Very stable and being able to use it as a solo is a big plus. I also have a OC Prowler 13 and the XL Tandem is just as fast as the Prowler even though the Tandem is much bigger. It is a little heavy and hard to load on the roof rack by myself. It should be a two person job. Used it in the surf for two weeks and is a little too long to be good at surfing back in. Still overall it is a very good kayak and I will be leaving my Prowler at home from now on.
Reviewer:
NCKiwi
Rating:
5
Date:
7/18/2012
Review:
Very tough kayak. This thing is big and quite heavy. You need two folks to load and carry this. However it zips through the water nicely and was easy to maneuver. This is so wide that the straps on my Thule roof rack would not reach around it. Get yourself some heavy duty ratcheting tie downs from Home Depot to strap it on to a rack. It rode OK in my minivan, but it may make a small car go all over the road at highway speed. I kept below 60 mph with it on the roof, as it was getting scary any faster than that.
Reviewer:
DR
Rating:
5
Date:
7/12/2012
Review:
I have had one of these for about 5 years and could not be happier. It has the middle position for when I am solo, three positions for when the family goes out. I use it for day trips, fishing and camping. Handles well, tracks well, handles the wind pretty well. I just bought a second and did not even bother looking at other options. Now five of us three kids can go out together. I believe it is rated at 450-500 lbs so plenty of capacity for people and/or cargo. I have loaded it up for camping on an island and it handled perfectly. If you are looking for a tandem or 2.5 like this, look no further. Both of mine are fishing packages.
Reviewer:
Joe
Rating:
5
Date:
7/8/2012
Review:
The first day I used kayak was a windy day on lake and it handled the waves with ease and stability. I was amazed at the speed and distance I could travel even with one person paddling.
Reviewer:
TeamCamHD
Rating:
5
Date:
7/5/2012
Review:
My wife and I wanted to get into kayaking and the customer reviews on this Malibu Tandem XL were right on. Its GREAT. Just enough weight to give plenty of stability out on Lake Michigan and a real joy. The reviews on ACK were also correct. What an easy company to do business with. I will absolutely buy here again.
Reviewer:
RPH
Rating:
5
Date:
6/18/2012
Review:
Bought two tandems to use on a lake outside Houston. Used it for the first time the other day. Super stable and very easy to get around. I stopped turning into the wakes caused by passing motor boats- I didnt have two, the kayak could handle them sideways without rocking much.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.87.88.52 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat