Home > Kayaking > Kayaks & Canoes > Sit-on-Top & Sit Inside Kayaks > Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 Kayak - 2014 Closeout
Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 Kayak - 2014 Closeout
 
Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 Kayak - 2014 Closeout
Looking for a package deal? Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 Kayak - Deluxe Package available at great savings !

Out of Stock

This product has been replaced by Wilderness Systems Tarpon 100 Kayak - 2015 .
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
ACK Review: Don't let it's smaller stature fool you. The Tarpon 100 kayak is a great all around kayak that can easily double as a fishing kayak. With all of the amenities the price seems too low to believe.
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Tony
Rating:
5
Date:
9/24/2014
Review:
I had bought this model in August for myself and after letting my better half take it for spin, ordered another that night! Great yak, great service, great company to do business with.
Reviewer:
John
Rating:
4
Date:
9/2/2014
Review:
Excellent kayak for the sportsman. Stable, turns very well. You can ride right next to the bank. The seat is amazing, comfortable and easily adjustable for hard paddling or a leisurely float. It won't win any races, but if your looking for a kayak to do more than just paddle this one kicks butt. The seller Austin Kayak was great I would have no problem buy from them again. Excellent customer service.
Reviewer:
Tinker
Rating:
4
Date:
9/2/2014
Review:
I've been out in the Tarpon 100 a dozen times since I received it, and in some odd conditions, from very strong wind on a lake to fast water and low water in the rivers. More odd than I'd planned to paddle in with a new boat. The Tarpon is a fine boat. It's stable and it's reasonably fast for a short and wide hull. It glides well and it handled the whitecaps on the lake without making me wish I wasn't there. It's not perfect, 'though. Water can and will get into the hull in rough water. Not a lot of water, but the last time out in choppy water, I found about half a cup in the hull. I'm not sure how it got there, but suspect it got in around one of the hatches. It's not enough water to cause real concern, but it also wasn't that much water splashing onto the deck. The side handles interfere with a mid- to high-angle paddling stroke. That's a personal thing and your mileage may vary. I'm not a fan of the seat. I'm forever accidentally releasing the strap that holds the back in it's lowest position and wish the string that controls the seat back was set to pull the seat down, rather than to push it up. The T-handle for raising the bottom for thigh support gets in the way when you pull it to raise the bottom. Otherwise, it's comfortable. It weather-vanes. I've had it out in strong, coastal winds - in the 40MPH+ range, and she tries very hard to point into the wind. Which is much better than turning stern to the wind, but it takes some fancy paddling to keep on course. I've never taken a kayak out in winds like I've been in with the Tarpon, so I don't have a point of reference, but I seemed to be working more consistently to stay on course than my companions. It's easy (for me) to carry and to put in the rack. It's well-balanced at the side handles. It has a lot of storage space for a ten-foot hull. Water does not accumulate under the seat and my bottom stays dry. Overall, I like it. A lot. The Tarpon 100 does not have any significant flaws - mine are more nit-picky than significant - and it's a great buy. I'm in a rural area so take note: if you have a problem with the freight company, call ACK. Don't hope to get assistance by email. My kayak arrived at the closest freight terminal on a Friday, and the following Wednesday, it was still sitting in that terminal. After several "Help me!" emails left me banging my head against the wall, I called and ACK quickly got the kayak moving towards me again. Thanks, folks! It would still be in Portland without your help.
Reviewer:
Tony
Rating:
5
Date:
8/10/2014
Review:
I just purchased the Tarpon 100 after a year of being in a box store sit in. What a huge difference. First off , ACK was incredible to do business with. From Start to finish, everything went smoothly. My Tarpon arrived 2 days sooner then planned, and it and all the accessories I had purchased were packed very well and not a scratch on the Yak.The storage on this is great, under both hatches you'll find loops to clip off your bags or whatever, making access very easy, even on the water. The side pockets are great for the most reached for items. The seat is incredible, very adjustable, very dry. My first trip was over 5 hours and I had no issues at all. Once you get use to it, the Tarpon is very stable. I was able to sit side saddle and hang my legs in the water after only an hour out. I can reach everything I have in the rear well area without issue. Leg room was fine, Im 5'11, 220 lbs. It tracks better then a 10' yak should, and gets a fair amount of glide. You are not going to win any races with it, but youll keep up just fine. My better half took it for a lap or two, and now I in the process of ordering another for her. ACK will of course get that business.
Reviewer:
Robert L.
Rating:
5
Date:
8/9/2014
Review:
I am well pleased with the Wilderness Tarpon 100. The seat is exceptional. The ease of adjustment is superior. Glad I saw one before I purchased.
Reviewer:
tompeil
Rating:
5
Date:
8/1/2014
Review:
I've owned several boats in the last few years... The Tarpon 100 is by far the best yet. The kayak is stable, maneuverable and light enough to handle on my own. I can sit off to one side, legs in water while casting. No issues. I've gotten many compliments also on the style and looks of my 100. I really couldn't be happier...
Reviewer:
Chris
Rating:
4
Date:
7/23/2014
Review:
I got this kayak mainly for the ease of transporting. I am 6'1" and 200 lbs. This kayak is light and carries my weight with equipment very well. This kayak is fast and tracks straight to be only 10 foot. The water has not entered past the scuppers yet and even if it does, the seat is above the floor so I should not get wet. Seat is comfortable. I got the dusk color and it looks very good. I had a couple of issues and I have to give the customer service from ACK credit. They respond immediately. The front orbix hatch would not close properly. Wilderness Systems finally sent a replacement hatch. The main negative I see with this kayak is the orbix hatches. I always spray my boat out and quite a bit of water would always enter the hull through the hatches. I assume if caught out in a rain storm or if a wave comes over the boat, water will enter the hull. I have added silicone to see if that will help with the hatch leaks. Overall I am pleased with the kayak even with the hatch issues.
Reviewer:
Sue K
Rating:
5
Date:
7/1/2014
Review:
Took the Tarpon 100 out during a demo day after paddling a few larger ones, and liked this one the best. The adjustable seat was the deciding factor for me. The weight of the kayak is manageable, it tracks good, and feels just as stable as the 12' I almost came home with! The scupper holes work great, didn't have any problems with water not draining out. Love my lime yak!
Reviewer:
dude1951
Rating:
5
Date:
6/13/2014
Review:
Love this kayak! I 've owned several and this is by far the best. I've owned Ocean and Old Town brand kayaks in the past....both brand names. This one has them beat hands down. I use it for fishing mainly and it works great. My use is mainly on river and small lakes. Easy to carry, stable to fish from, tracks and paddles easy.......what more can I say.......
Reviewer:
Mike M
Rating:
5
Date:
6/13/2014
Review:
ACK has great customer service answering my emails on Sunday evening Mothers Day. Purchased two Kayaks and had them shipped to Michigan. Kayaks came quick and in great condition. Delivery man did 20 push-ups in his truck. Said he does 15 stops a day and his routine is 20 push- ups each stop. Awesome!
Reviewer:
Mike M
Rating:
5
Date:
6/13/2014
Review:
Bought two of these for my wife and I to use mainly on the river. These kayaks are amazing! Comfy, tracks well on lakes and awesome in the river. Life is good, great investment.
Reviewer:
dude1951
Rating:
5
Date:
5/11/2014
Review:
This is the third kayak that I own. I love this kayak. I fish rivers here in Illinois and this is the perfect kayak for this. This kayak tracks well is easy to handle in and out of the water. Love the trax system that allows me to add rod holders etc. This is just an excellent small kayak, well worth the money. If I HAD to find something wrong with it would be the manner that the identification number is applied. My other kayaks have them molded in......WS writes them on with a vibrating engraving pen.......very hard to read. But this is so minor its hardly worth a second thought. Buy this kayak from Austin.........great kayak and a great company.
<<  <  1         >>
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:54.82.216.134 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat