Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak Product Details.
Looking for a package deal? Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - Deluxe Package available at great savings !
$919.00
Size/Color:
Rudder:
Ship Location *:
Choose Qty:
Login or Register to add to Wishlist
  In Stock - Ships tomorrow if ordered by 6pm tomorrow
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Bill
Rating:
5
Date:
3/28/2011
Review:
I really like the Tarpon 120, it's very stable and turns very well. The ride is dry and I only leave the footwell plugs out to drain water from your feet. The customer service from ACK is great and the shipping is super fast. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!
Reviewer:
yakker
Rating:
5
Date:
10/10/2010
Review:
this is my first kayak, so I was a bit nervous about expending this amount on something that I had no experience with. It has turned out to be an excellent purchase. I had several criteria in mind when deciding which kayak to purchase. I read every review I could find online and did as much research as I could. My criteria narrowed down to a comfortable and adjustable seat, easy to open hatches, adjustable foot pegs and lots of storage. The Tarpon 120 meet those needs and more. I really like the track system so I can mount fishing pole holders and other accessories with out having to drill holes in the kayak. And I can take them off when I want to use the kayak for recreation and not for fishing. The orbix hatches are great. Easy to open and no bungees or straps to mess with. I have used this kayak on small lakes and on rivers and have enjoyed every minute. The seat is very comfortable and is adjustable and have no problems sitting for long periods of time. The Tarpon 120 tracks very well, is stable and paddles well with minimal effort. I would definitely recommend this yak. I am planning on getting the Tarpon 100 next spring so my girlfriend can go on trips with me. The only negatives on this product are: 1. The owners manual is worthless, it has very little detail for instructions and for the most part is a safety manual. 2. The scupper plugs that come with the Tarpon are not the best design and can be kicked out accidentally with your feet or they can get caught on your fishing line. These two negatives are pretty minimal. Overall this is a great Kayak! I'm having a blast!
Reviewer:
Desiree
Rating:
5
Date:
9/12/2010
Review:
After wanting a kayak for years hubby and I decided to go for it and did much research and comparing as well as asking friends that owned kayaks. Our friends urged us to go with the sit-on style and we're so glad they did. They are remarkable in all aspects for us. They track well, are very stable, hold lots of gear and are great for recreation or fishing. Our Tarpon 120's are at the top of our list! We're hoping to get one for our son as soon as possible!
Reviewer:
Shirley
Rating:
5
Date:
8/13/2010
Review:
Great kayak. I have somewhat impaired balance and the Tarpon 120 is very stable, even in choppy water with rude water skiers all around.
Reviewer:
Ozarkwoods
Rating:
5
Date:
8/8/2010
Review:
I have had a chance to take the 120 out two times now. The first was a lake with some chop. I found without the scupper plugs in a 1/2inch of water at my heals and a about an inch of water in the rear storage area. I weight 270lbs and I did have a cooler with water and our lunch in rear storage area. The Tarpon is very stable easy to get in and out of, and the seat was very comfortable (I have had two back surgeries) the second trip we traveled from Rockaway Beach to Branson and back on Lake Taneycomo water was smooth with some boat traffic. With plugs in no water in rear storage and only a small amount from footwear. The Tarpon tracked well. Love it
Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2010
Review:
Great ride with the ability to fish out of. Very sleek cutting through the water.
Reviewer:
TJ
Rating:
5
Date:
7/26/2010
Review:
The kayak was everything they said it was and a little more compared to other kayaks. well done
Reviewer:
re2camp
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2010
Review:
I absolutely love this kayak. Best price and great service.
Reviewer:
Magilla Gorilla
Rating:
3
Date:
6/28/2010
Review:
I like the looks of this kayak although it is slower than my WS160. Bought it for my 13 yr. old son in hopes that he could keep up with me on my 160 but it did not work out. I switched kayaks with him I was on the 120 and he was on the 160 and I could not keep up. Great kayak for short distance paddling.(under 3 miles)
Reviewer:
Sean Taber - N.Y
Rating:
5
Date:
1/19/2010
Review:
In spring 2009 I purchased 2 tarpon 120 packages that had all I needed to get out on the water. The kayaks are pretty stable, enough to stand up in although you might want to consider something more stable if you plan on sight casting. I do plan on fishing with the tarpon but really bought them for recreation on the local pond and great swamp in Patterson N.Y…By recreation; I mean standing up in it and jumping into the water. Tipping it over and sitting on the bottom side with my feet in the water. Flipping it right side up, climbing back in and paddling away (Just make sure the hatch covers are locked and “all” but seat scupper plugs are out). I’m sure it’s not recommended and may sound reckless but the kayaks are very durable. After my reckless venture all I had stowed away inside the tarpon stayed fully dry. I found a 2009 Tarpon 100 for a really great price and could not pass it up. Now I’m the proud owner of 2 tarpon 120’s and 1 tarpon 100. The tarpon 100 is surprisingly fast although slower than the 120 by a fraction. It does however, turn a bit easier. I will purchase another tarpon 100 for my daughter this spring. We were a family of four kayaking with 3 tarpons. I would sit in the back storage area while one of my kids did the work. I can’t wait until spring to use these awesome yacks.I'm 5'11" about 170 lbs. and remember I said I sat in the back. The tarpon 100 and 120's are more than enough kayak for my weight and size. The smallest is my son weighing at 75 lbs. and under 5' did as well as me in all the tarpons.
Reviewer:
L D Van Meter
Rating:
5
Date:
11/3/2009
Review:
This is the 2nd kayak that I have purchased, the first one is a whitewater kayak, I discovered this kayak last January, and fell in love with it. Looks to be the best fishing kayak on the market today, after 10 months of research, I finally decided on the Tarpon 120. I want to tell anyone that is in the market for this kind or any kind, the guys at Austin Canoe and Kayak are the very best, they customized it for me just the way I wanted and it got here in record time, I ordered late Friday afternoon, they had to fix it up I guess on Saturday, and shipped it on Monday and I got it on Tuesday, unbelievable, great job guys. Very happy with my comlete experience with ACK.
Reviewer:
Doc in Missouri
Rating:
5
Date:
10/12/2009
Review:
The Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 is everything all of the other reviews have said and more. This is my first SOT and it is outstanding for stability. The storage hatches are great and this yak will hold a three day tour worth of gear easily both dry inside and in the well. The seat is very comfortable and the ride is as dry as claimed even without the plugs although I recommend them on the moderate rivers of MO. First rate design is both stable and a straight tracker. This will not be my last Wilderness Systems yak.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:23.21.23.126 svr:40
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat