Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - 2014 Closeout - Product Reviews
Return to Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - 2014 Closeout Product Details.
Looking for a package deal? Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - Deluxe Package available at great savings !

Out of Stock

This product has been replaced by Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 Kayak - 2015 .
  Found a better price somewhere else? Use our Price Match tool!
† Colors/Sizes marked with '†' may not be available, please call prior to ordering.
customer@austinkayak.com - www.austinkayak.com - 888-828-3828 - 512-687-3016
Customer Rating: 4.9 of 5
Rating Stars  

Customer Reviews

Reviewer:
Andy
Rating:
5
Date:
8/7/2010
Review:
Great ride with the ability to fish out of. Very sleek cutting through the water.
Reviewer:
TJ
Rating:
5
Date:
7/26/2010
Review:
The kayak was everything they said it was and a little more compared to other kayaks. well done
Reviewer:
re2camp
Rating:
5
Date:
7/20/2010
Review:
I absolutely love this kayak. Best price and great service.
Reviewer:
Magilla Gorilla
Rating:
3
Date:
6/28/2010
Review:
I like the looks of this kayak although it is slower than my WS160. Bought it for my 13 yr. old son in hopes that he could keep up with me on my 160 but it did not work out. I switched kayaks with him I was on the 120 and he was on the 160 and I could not keep up. Great kayak for short distance paddling.(under 3 miles)
Reviewer:
Sean Taber - N.Y
Rating:
5
Date:
1/19/2010
Review:
In spring 2009 I purchased 2 tarpon 120 packages that had all I needed to get out on the water. The kayaks are pretty stable, enough to stand up in although you might want to consider something more stable if you plan on sight casting. I do plan on fishing with the tarpon but really bought them for recreation on the local pond and great swamp in Patterson N.Y…By recreation; I mean standing up in it and jumping into the water. Tipping it over and sitting on the bottom side with my feet in the water. Flipping it right side up, climbing back in and paddling away (Just make sure the hatch covers are locked and “all” but seat scupper plugs are out). I’m sure it’s not recommended and may sound reckless but the kayaks are very durable. After my reckless venture all I had stowed away inside the tarpon stayed fully dry. I found a 2009 Tarpon 100 for a really great price and could not pass it up. Now I’m the proud owner of 2 tarpon 120’s and 1 tarpon 100. The tarpon 100 is surprisingly fast although slower than the 120 by a fraction. It does however, turn a bit easier. I will purchase another tarpon 100 for my daughter this spring. We were a family of four kayaking with 3 tarpons. I would sit in the back storage area while one of my kids did the work. I can’t wait until spring to use these awesome yacks.I'm 5'11" about 170 lbs. and remember I said I sat in the back. The tarpon 100 and 120's are more than enough kayak for my weight and size. The smallest is my son weighing at 75 lbs. and under 5' did as well as me in all the tarpons.
Reviewer:
L D Van Meter
Rating:
5
Date:
11/3/2009
Review:
This is the 2nd kayak that I have purchased, the first one is a whitewater kayak, I discovered this kayak last January, and fell in love with it. Looks to be the best fishing kayak on the market today, after 10 months of research, I finally decided on the Tarpon 120. I want to tell anyone that is in the market for this kind or any kind, the guys at Austin Canoe and Kayak are the very best, they customized it for me just the way I wanted and it got here in record time, I ordered late Friday afternoon, they had to fix it up I guess on Saturday, and shipped it on Monday and I got it on Tuesday, unbelievable, great job guys. Very happy with my comlete experience with ACK.
Reviewer:
Doc in Missouri
Rating:
5
Date:
10/12/2009
Review:
The Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 is everything all of the other reviews have said and more. This is my first SOT and it is outstanding for stability. The storage hatches are great and this yak will hold a three day tour worth of gear easily both dry inside and in the well. The seat is very comfortable and the ride is as dry as claimed even without the plugs although I recommend them on the moderate rivers of MO. First rate design is both stable and a straight tracker. This will not be my last Wilderness Systems yak.
Reviewer:
AC in Santa Barbara
Rating:
5
Date:
11/24/2008
Review:
I agonized over (and tested) many makes and models before settling on the Tarpon 120 as a 70/30 fishing/recreational platform. I think it is easy to get sold on more kayak than you need on the theory that you really need half your garage out on the water with you when you're fishing. But I remembered how much fun I have with minimalist float tubing inland, and got the Tarpon. The Tarpon is fast and incredibly stable. Blind folded I'd guess it's a 13 footer easy. I like the minimal width because it lets me dig deep on my paddle stroke without banging the gunwales all the time like I did on the big Prowler models. And no flippers to retract in the kelp beds. Besides Hobie, I want an upper body workout! I am a big enough guy, well over 200#, and I still manage to keep my butt dry, even without scupper plugs. My FAVORITE part is that at 12 feet even, the Tarpon fits INSIDE my VW van! That puts me out on the Pacific in less than 20 minutes door to surf, including loading. My only complaint is that the space between my legs doesn't have room for much more than one small tackle tray. I may opt for a vest PFD like I use on my float tube.
Reviewer:
Marvin Blystone
Rating:
5
Date:
7/29/2008
Review:
Well, we started with two Tarpon 100's, but the wife's long legs cried for the adjustable footrests of the 120. All of a sudden, four (that's right, FOUR) 120's had been purchased for members of the family and the 100's sold to a friend who is planning on buying a 120 for his wife. The boats are very stable and seem to be a bit faster than the 100's. The only complaint would be the pinetree plugs that hold the seats to the hull. We've lost two already, but since the hulls are threaded, they might just get replaced with some stainless steel screws! All in all, great boats with lots of value for the money. Buy yourself a couple and go get on the water!
Reviewer:
Josh - San Antonio
Rating:
5
Date:
2/26/2008
Review:
This kayak is extremely stable and easy to fish out of. It is the best kayak I have ever been in. I can't see myself in any other kayak. The first time I had it out I went on a 4 day, 26 mile adventure and couldn't have been happier.
Reviewer:
Paul Schmidt
Rating:
5
Date:
4/17/2007
Review:
After agonizing over reviews and brochures, I finally got to try the T120 at ACK's demo day, and drove straight over to the shop to make one mine. We've been out on Lake Travis on a big boating day, and Lake Austin with wakeboard boats blasting by, and this boat is totally stable. Took wakes on the side just to see what would happen, no problem. It's my first kayak, so it seems plenty fast for me, tracks very well, and handles a big cooler with lots of stuff. Did I mention I LOVE this boat?
Reviewer:
Craig Lollar
Rating:
5
Date:
9/27/2006
Review:
I've had several boats from 14' to 17'. This is the sweetest fishing vessel you'll ever own. I heard about the Tarpon 120 from a friend of mine and then I just had to try one out. I think this will revolutionize the river fishing in Florida. If you like to fish, this is your ticket to freedom.
Full Site | 888-828-3828 | Contact
All site contents © 2014 MSP Holdings, LLC  Privacy Policy | Brands | Site Map
ip:50.19.199.154 svr:123
Find us on Google+   Austin Kayak is Upfront
Live chat by BoldChat